Motivation logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Non-Medically Diagnosed Anxiety...

Is A Pain in the Ass

By #KristinaWritesPublished about a year ago 3 min read
#KristinaWrites

Having non-medically diagnosed anxiety is a pain in the derrière, to say the least! What this means in my particular case is that I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I have anxiety because I know how I feel inside and out. However, I have not gone to a doctor and had them give me a diagnosis and write me a prescription for a medication that ultimately I probably won't take anyway. To be honest, I really don't believe that a doctor can help me (only in my specific case) with the anxiety issues I am having. Probably because I am more stubborn than anything else, but nonetheless.

This has taught me to think outside of the box on what I can do within my own livelihood to help ease my anxious feelings. There are a million options listed on the Internet and probably a million more that someone would get from family and friends (if they asked). In my case; I don't want to refer to any of those options because each person is special in their own way. And there is not going to be one blanket treatment for everyone.

With that being said I have gone through a million different options. Some have worked and some I have thrown by the wayside almost immediately. One thing I am trying not to do is experience burnout. I still want to be a fully functioning adult in this crazy world that we all live in. I just want to do it with a little bit less anxiety underneath my hat. Here are a few things that work for me. If you are experiencing some of the same issues with anxiety; they might work for you too.

Go Outside

One reason why I love my dog is because she loves taking walks. She is a small Jack Russell Terrier and as soon as I get her leash she is jumping up and ready to go. We can go outside for a few minutes or upwards of an hour, and both of us feel better. It is the fact of enjoying the fresh air. Having the elements in my face; looking up at the sky and seeing the clouds, sun, and occasionally a rainbow; really brings enjoyment to me. This by far, overshadows any type of anxiety I have at that moment.

#KristinaWrites

Crack a Book

If the weather is not permitting and the walk is just not happening; then I do like to curl up in my recliner with a book. Most recently I have really been diving into religious books that dig deeper into religious clarifications. This is only my personal preference, you open up whatever you want to read. Hell, you don't even have to read a book; open up a magazine and look at pictures. Anything to get you off of the electronics such as a cell phone, television, or laptop. This is a prime mental escape that can be quite enjoyable.

Breathing Exercises

When I first researched meditation and breathing to help with anxiety I have to admit I thought it was a joke. However, once I started to implement it I found my "Zen". It is possible to physically lower your heart rate and increase your focus on more positive activity through controlled breathing. It is not going to happen the first time; however, after some practice, you will get to know your body even better. One of the good things I have found about implementing breathing exercises is that they can be done anywhere. If I start feeling anxious in a store or in my car, I can just slow down and focus on my breathing right there.

I don't expect this to heal everyone. But if this can help just one person get through a day where they are fighting with anxiety; then my job here is done. Have a great day!

Until Next Time! Kristina :)

#KristinaWrites

successself helphow tohealinghappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

#KristinaWrites

I love life & everyone in it! I have realized what I really want to do with my life; Write!

So, I'm an Ghost Blogger, Content Writer & Generalized Creator based in Texas and I write about...Life!

Follow Me: Facebook

Website: KristinaWrites

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    I love Jack Russells! We have Jess, she's a JR cross and Mick, a poodle. They currently have seven beautiful puppies. I'm glad you can get out with your dog. I enjoyed your poem. 👍☺️💙

  • great information! Thanks!

#KristinaWritesWritten by #KristinaWrites

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.