Motivation logo

I got a new writing job and published my first traditional novel I am Bexley

Patheos writing column and I am Bexley with Resurgence Novels

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - May 2023
60
I got a new writing job and published my first traditional novel I am Bexley
Photo by adrianna geo on Unsplash

Hello, my fellow Vocal writers. I love Vocal and I’ll always remain loyal and happy with my Vocal platform, the supportive and thoughtful communities surrounding it and the way Vocal has shaped, honed and helped my writing career in so many ways. In this article I wrote many a moon ago, I expressed how the diverse challenges Vocal presented to us as writers and authors opened up my perspectives and truly made me hone my voice.

In so many ways, Vocal helped me get my confidence back to start writing and getting my career on the right track. This article in particular explains my writing journey within Vocal’s platform, or lack of one until I discovered Vocal and the incredible writers and friends I made on this platform.

All of my started novels and novellas were started here on Vocal as well.

One in particular, I am Bexley, the post-apocalyptic zombie story, filled with drama, romance and horror… was started with the launch of the fiction community curated by Vocal.

This story was just a weird little idea at first… and from when it was first curated as just a sort of teaser beginning first chapter, as a baby concept…a tiny kernel of an idea… to the point of it becoming a full length novel…I was beyond relieved as this was a highly personal story to me. It represented grief, loss and anger, and mainly, how to cope with these feelings when it is most difficult to do so.

I had, once the novel was completed and revised into a full manuscript, submitted it to many publications and companies to no avail. All rejections, totally. It was a bummer. But, I didn’t give up.

Until, just within these last few months, my most recent submission to the online publisher Resurgence Novels came back with an approval… and a contract as well!

If you’re interested in their awesome and original novels (which they have a ton to offer on their app and online!) please follow the links below. You can also apply to become an author for Resurgence Novels as well on their website (below). They love fantasy, romance, dramas, horror and so much more!

I am Bexley is available for the Resurgence Novels App and online. Here is the description of my novel that is on the Resurgence Novel’s app:

In a world ravaged by a zombie apocalypse, humanity is under the tyrannical rule of the undead. In the year 2071, humans are forced to live in bunkers and caves while zombies, divided by class, reign supreme in human settlements. The elite "gems" dictate the rules, and everyone follows suit. But amidst this chaos, hope emerges in the form of Bexley, a nineteen-year-old zombie girl with a heart of gold and a sharp katana. Can she bridge the gap between the two societies and protect them from the deadly Bloodletters? Though her heart may not be beating, she has plenty of love to share!

I want you all to know, all of you, that you can do this. I know it is hard, I know it’s incredibly stressful and seems like a impossible road—-trust me, I’ve been there more times than I’ll admit, but you can do it. You will succeed if you don’t give up.

It is also very important to have extra side gigs(other than Medium or Vocal). Writing side gigs for your professional author’s resume. I recently found a columnist writing contractor job with Patheos, which is, according to Wikipedia, a non-denominational, non-partisan online media company providing information and commentary from various religious and nonreligious perspectives. I enjoy it for their diverse perspectives on religious history, music, pop culture, art and movies. My Patheos column is art history and is titled An Exhibition of Art History. I implore you to apply for their columnist writer positions!

Here is my Patheos author link.

Here is my first four articles: (with more on the way!)

Top Christian Movies 2023

4 New Representations of Renaissance Inspired Religious Paintings

3 Different Types of Spiritualism in Art

The Modern Art World is in Decline, What You Should Know

https://resurgencenovels.com

Resurgence Novels app

I’ll always keep Vocal as my first and true writer’s love, and my gratitude and affection stays with you all—I couldn’t leave Vocal even if I tried, you all helped me so much!

Love,

Melissa❤️

self helpsuccesssocial mediahow tohealinghappinessgoalsadvice
60

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (35)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Vocal Media is a great confidence booster, and well done on the offer.

  • It's satisfying to hear other people's successes in what jobs they are able to obtain and flourish in to sustain a pleasant life.

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    AWESOME 💜💜💜💜 KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!!!💜💜💜💜

  • Malik Aqibislam11 months ago

    This is the absolute BEST! What an incredible idea! I love how creative you got within each of the communities. There are sooo many fantastic stories in here. I admire your dedication, Loryne! Seriously, this was superb. Thank you so much for writing and sharing these. Amazing work. 💓

  • The Dani Writer11 months ago

    Congratulations on all of your success Melissa! I know I'm playing catch-up here but just want you to know I am WAY proud of you!

  • Awesome so proud of you friend ❤️😉❗Congratulations on Everything here and still to come 🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉✨💖

  • Syed Usman Ahmed12 months ago

    https://vocal.media/motivation/the-power-of-disconnecting-urs90hqn read this also

  • Congratulations!

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Melissa! I read this the other day but didn’t have a chance to comment. Huge congratulations to you for your first publishing and all your amazing, hard work!! 😍😍 You are so talented and I’m so happy for you! I really enjoyed the tips about Patheos and Resurgence!! 🤗 I can’t wait to check out I Am Bexley!! ❤️

  • Test12 months ago

    How did I miss this? A huge congratulations, Melissa, on signing your first publishing agreement...and a KILLER blurb. I Am Bexley sounds very unique and interesting. I'll be sure to check it out.

  • Anthony Stauffer12 months ago

    Congrats on "I am Bexley"! I'm so happy that it's been published. You deserve it! Your writing is superb, and I have no doubts that you'll have a long and successful career.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your journey!! So happy for you that you've been achieving your goals and seeing success. Congratulations on persevering and getting your book published as well as the new column!!

  • J. Jay12 months ago

    Congratulations! Wishing you all the luck on this writing journey!

  • Oh Merly, I'm sooooo happy that all your hard work, effort, dedication, time and everything else has paid off! You're super inspirational, to all of us! And you're so sweet to write this to encourage us, that we too can do it. Thank you so much for this! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Samya Mohammed12 months ago

    https://vocal.media/motivation/the-king-and-the-beggar Would love to hear some reviews please 🥺❤️🙏

  • Denise E Lindquist12 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎉🎉

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    What a wonderful success story, and a tribute to the Vocal community. Congratulations! Thank you for the inspiration and motivation! I have 2 books (still) gradually coming together. One is more or less historical, about a particular place, and the other is probably best described as philosophical. Some of my Vocal stories will find a place in that book. Excerpts from the other may end up here before the book is complete. Vocal certainly keeps me motivated and it's also given me a chance to stretch my wings in writing fiction. That may add some more titles for publication. In the meantime, side gigs are my life. lol

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Melissa, marvelous motivational piece!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • JBaz12 months ago

    I wish you all the best and always selfishly want you to remain on Vocal so I can keep reading your work. You are a star, thank you for encouraging all of us to seek more.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Thank you for the motivation! I am not surprised with your success, you weave a great story! I am proud for you and I plan to check out these other sources.

  • PP12 months ago

    Thanks for motivation

  • Carol Townend12 months ago

    Well done! I'm in the process of turning two of my vocal stories into Novels at the moment. I have a few not here at vocal to work on too. It takes a lot of patience but it will be worth it in the long run.

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    Congratulations Melissa! Your success gives me hope that I, too, will succeed. Thank you so much for sharing your talent on this platform and for being an inspiration to all of us here on Vocal!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.