Longevity logo

Why We Need To Stop Looking At Medication Negatively

Society needs to stop stigmatizing medication, especially when it can be so effective.

By Beth GibbonsPublished 7 years ago 5 min read
Don't hate on your medication.

I have suffered from mental health issues my entire life. In fact, I am certain I suffered from Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD) and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) even in public school. Unfortunately, in Canada, one cannot receive a mental health diagnosis until after the age of 18 so I was not diagnosed until after reaching adulthood.

Several of my friends, however, were diagnosed with Attention-Deficit Disorder (ADD) and were given Ritalin as medication. Although we can all agree that the school system has used it a tad too much perhaps, there are children who do suffer from the disorder. They do need medication and many parents are quick to say they will not medicate their children. However, what if medication is the only way your child could actually focus and do better in school? Is it worth giving him/her a pill or two to take daily?

After being diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder, I sought out treatment. I completed an outpatient treatment program in Kingston, Ontario through the Providence Continuing Care Centre called the Chrysalis Day Program. I saw several psychologists and counselors and I actually began incorporating what I learned into my daily life. I was on medication and I was doing well. It was hard for me to write, however, since my medication blocked my creativity and I decided that I did not want to be on medication anymore.

I do not make any big decision in my life without researching the heck out of it first, so I did, and went online. However, I came across several pages dedicated to other forms of therapy that did not involve medication. I knew that even forms of therapy taught in social work do not involve medication, however, if a client is in dire need of it, they are directed to go get a prescription.

Upon diving into the World Wide Web, I discovered there were several people in the world, just like myself, who did not enjoy taking medication and so they didn't. Instead, they adopted many holistic approaches and completely neglected the idea that medication could ever help them. I decided to dive into this world.

I spent several years practicing solely what I had learned in the out-patient treatment program; this included practicing mindfulness, meditation, doing Sage cleansing and every other type of cleansing one could imagine. I even dove into the Pagan religion, verging on practicing witchcraft, in order to feel better.

I hit an awful time in my life. Everything fell apart. My life was the worst it had ever been and I had fallen into a downward spiral I could not climb out of. My depression was out of control. When I discussed how I felt in group sessions dedicated to this type of "healing," I was met with suggestions like "Why don't you try meditating more?" and was told that I would "feel better once I had a few more Sage cleansings." However, I had cleansed myself to the point where my skin was becoming raw; I did not want to soak in the tub anymore and simply hope that my problems would somehow be solved.

I decided it was time to go back on medication. I went to my doctor and got re-evaluated for the first time in 6 years. It turned out, I did not have BPD. I actually had PTSD. It was chronic and severe and I would need to be on medication in order to handle my flashbacks, nightmares, severe mood swings, depression, and anxiety.

Looking back now, I realize that I should have been on medication the entire time. However, I was sucked into the mentality that I didn't need medication and I would be able to solve all my problems with some proper self-care, meditation, and Sage.

Imagine if I had reached out to someone who told me that I needed to be reevaluated to get on proper medication sooner? My life would have been a lot different. However, there seems to be an entire group of people out there in society who do not believe medication can help them.

Why Is This Harmful?

Think of it like this; if you had a severe mental health issue and you reached out for support on the internet and were told you didn't have to take medication but you could have all your problems taken away by meditation, would you not do it? Many people do not like having to take pills every day. They can be hard to swallow, easily forgotten by some, taste awful, or come with some bad side effects. However, suffering severely from a mental health disorder and not treating it properly can have severe side effects as well.

I am not, in any way, saying that everyone should be on medication. Nor am I saying that if you have discovered how to stay in good mental health without medication that you should call up your doctor right now and ask that they put you on it. I am just saying, some of us do actually need it.

Someone, such as myself, who suffers from PTSD, may experience severe panic or daily anxiety attacks, become triggered often, experience flashbacks, nightmares, depression, as well as several other symptoms. It can be completely debilitating. Sometimes, the only way one can rid of these symptoms is by taking medication.

I think, as a society, we need to be aware of this. We need to look out for these holistic-only groups that are taking over Facebook and the internet in general, and ensure that they do not neglect to educate their members on the possible benefits of medication. There are many of these groups out there. I am not about to name any, as I am not asking anyone to go on a witch hunt. However, if you are in a support group that never mentions to people that they should consider medication, take it upon yourself to bring up to those suffering from severe mental health issues in particular that medication might be a good option for them. If you hear that a friend of yours needs to take medication because he or she suffers from a severe mental health issue, do not judge them poorly or react in a way that they will feel it is wrong to take it.

Society needs to stop putting a negative stigma on medication and a complete spotlight on nonmedical approaches and start being more open to discussing the benefits that the medications can bring. We only ever hear of the bad things and the side effects.

So, if you are suffering from a severe mental health issue, please be sure to speak with a doctor and try taking medication. Some medications can take up to several months to work. Some people have to go through several kinds of medication before they find one that works for them. However, it is much better to be on medication and to have improved mental health than to constantly meditate and burn Sage while suffering inside, hoping you'll suddenly feel better one day. You should still meditate and do Sage cleansing rituals if they help to make you feel better. But be sure they are aids in your mental health recovery and they do not replace your regular medical treatment.

If you do need to take medication, for whatever reason, be it for mental or physical health issues, just remember that every time you take your daily dose you are doing something to take better care of yourself. Self-care is always a good thing. Feel good about ensuring you have better health and if anyone judges you, remember that most of us will be on medication in our old age anyway. Then what?

advicemeditationmental healthpsychologyself carewellness

About the Creator

Beth Gibbons

Journalist, poet, mom, wife!

Follow me on IG: @queenbgibbons

Follow me on Twitter: @queenbgibbons01

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Beth GibbonsWritten by Beth Gibbons

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.