Longevity logo

Struggle

The inner struggle

By Danyelle LewinsonPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

We all hear the saying don't judge until you walked in my shoes. My struggle has been a long one. I don't think anyone has seen my real struggle. Because the struggle is within me not just on the outside of me. It's the hardest thing; I must explain. Let's go back to 2006. This is where the struggle got super bad. I was in the position of trying to find my place and pushed into a place. I started drinking and cutting myself. I felt super crazy, depressed, and didn't know what to do. This was my first run in with a therapist. I started going when there was on at my high school. I felt like I was not making any progress, so I stopped going. I pulled away from everything I loved doing. Kept looking at my scars and thought I was ugly. I got teased because of my limp. I got teased because my hand doesn't work like everyone else's. I already had a hard time with my mom being sick. I just lost an uncle that year. My world was crashing in on me.

2007 my mom's health still wavered. She helped me discover a lot about myself in that year. I knew I was bisexual that year. 2008 came and went. I found out my mom was worse. My grandfather died that year. I also graduated. I started smoking that year. I bought my first pack of cigarettes three days after my 18th birthday. I hid it from everyone. The worse year of my life came. Freshman year of college the year was 2009. My mom got weaker and was in the hospital more. I was going home every other weekend. My freshman year ended early in May. I had to watch my mom take her last breath. That was the hardest thing I ever had to do. But, my finals were not done. So, I had to step back on campus to take 2 finals. With everything going on I really thought that I would do bad. I came out of both finals with passing grades. I packed my room up and headed back home. I cried for two weeks straight up until the funeral. I just didn't cry at the funeral. I was all cried out.

Over the years I kept trying to go to therapy. Each time I stopped going. I don't think it's for me. I bug my best friends when I need to talk. I still struggle with the feeling of feeling ugly. I struggle with job opportunities because of the hindrance of my hand. I overcome all those things and make the best of anything I do. I'm still working on the struggle of seeing myself as beautiful. I don't know anyone who doesn't think I am. Maybe I do but I don't care much. I am just that perfect imperfection that flies under the radar. Am I still the same person I was a year ago, no. Do my relationships reflect that? Now they do and I am happy with who I am. I am trying so hard to not let anything get me down. But guess what, I am human. I still let some things get to me. It hurts me, but I would rather let someone go then have them in my life always rooting for me to fail. Just a piece of advice for anyone who wants to bring me down, leave. I'm not here for anyone's amusement. I'm just here trying to live my life. I want people that are positive in my life. No more of feeling hurt.

advicebodymental health
Like

About the Creator

Danyelle Lewinson

A little about me..I am a writer, a poet and a person that loves good music. I am still working on my first book as well

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.