Fiction logo

I AM

I was trained to succeed.

By Mark GagnonPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
27

This is not who I thought I would be. Before my family was captured and forced into slavery, I had aspirations of becoming a wealthy business owner or possibly a scholar and philosopher. Becoming a warrior was the furthest thing from my mind. Unfortunately, our Roman conquerors had other plans.

The plebeians of Rome needed entertainment to distract them from their miserable lives, and to maintain their place in society, patricians had to satisfy this need. That’s where I and others like me came in. My physique and natural agility made selecting me for training at the Ludus School for Gladiators a simple choice. These pathetic fools had no idea who they were training.

The instructor’s treatment was harsh, but fair considering we were slaves. My weapon of choice was the gladius, or short sword, but I became adept with the trident and net, the dual sword fighting style, and the bow and arrow while on horseback. My combat skills quickly earned me the title Prime Palus or Top Warrior. The more I competed, the more the crowd roared my name. Winning became second nature to me, and collecting the money from my labors made my owner richer than he already was. Some of my colleagues were as unhappy with this arrangement as I was. It was time for a change.

Competitions in the Great Coliseum were through for the day. Fortunately, no one from my cadre had died. I lay on my bunk, the roar of the crowd chanting my name, still ringing in my ears when Flavius stopped next to me.

“Has the Master told you yet?”

“Told me what? I haven’t been told anything.”

“As Prime Palus, I would have thought you would be the first to be told. We are being sent into the arena again tomorrow without the customary day of rest. Our master has made a wager with another senator. Seven of us, with you as our leader, are to fight the senator’s pride of lions.”

“We fight men, not animals. I must speak to the master. We will not be treated in such a degrading manner. We are Gladiators, not peasants.”

“You are slaves and subject to my bidding.” The voice boomed out, filling the dorm room as their wealthy master stepped from the shadows flanked by his personal guard. “Today you are my gladiators, but should I require more slaves to work the fields in the days to come, then you will fill those jobs as well. You do not have the right to question my decisions. Understood!”

All the gladiators stood at attention and pounded their fists to their chests in a salute and replied, “Understood, Senator!”

The seven men sentenced to fight in the next day’s spectacle gathered around their leader to discuss their fate.

“Prime Palus, this is an insult. We are the best gladiators in Rome. Everyone knows us by name. Maybe we’re too good and he is afraid of us.”

“That is my thinking exactly, Flavius. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I will no longer do his bidding. If we band together with the rest of our brethren, we can free ourselves from this unfair bondage. Are you with me, men?”

The gladiator dormitory erupted as, with one voice, they yelled, “FREEDOM!”

These were battle-hardened men comfortable confronting the enemy and winning battles. A plan was quickly created to overrun the Senator’s sprawling villa and demand their freedom. Guards, realizing they were no match for the invaders, offered minimal resistance and surrendered within minutes. The Senator, being used to a life of privilege, was not willing to give up without a fight. The battle was brief and the outcome predictable.

Prime Palus stood over the fallen Senator with the point of his sword resting on his foe’s chest. Still defiant even in defeat, the Senator screamed, “Who do you think you are breaking into my home like this?”

“I don’t think, Senator, I know who I am. I am SPARTACUS and we are free men!”

Historical
27

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! Well done👏

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Tina D'Angelo13 days ago

    Braveheart or Gladiators, freedom is a universal desire for those being oppressed. Really good, Mark.

  • Shirley Belk13 days ago

    So powerful and so grand! Loved it

  • Gabriel Huizenga14 days ago

    What an awesome piece! You quickly construct a believably formidable character- it was a genuine pleasure reading this engaging story. Congrats on Top Story! :)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)14 days ago

    Mark this was so great!! It had me craving a rewatch of Gladiator but then that FREEDOM line hit me and I suddenly was feeling Braveheart! Loved this, congrats on Top Story Mark!!

  • Abdul Qayyum14 days ago

    congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Lamar Wiggins14 days ago

    I remember enjoying Gladiator when I watched it years ago. 300 is another good one. Great job creating a similar world to tell the tale of Spartacus. And congrats on your TS!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • angela hepworth14 days ago

    Amazing, congrats on top story!

  • Carol Townend14 days ago

    Fantastic and engaging writing Mark. There is a fantastic humorous storyline here. You could get another story from this. Well done!

  • L.C. Schäfer14 days ago

    Excellent, I got Russel Crowe vibes 😁

  • JBaz15 days ago

    One of my favorite people in history and you did it right. A well written story with a back ground attached makes this a great read. Congratulations

  • v15 days ago

    Cash creates a simple and quick strategy to work part time and procure extra $15,000 or considerably more than this on the web. By working in my extra time I made $17990 in my earlier month and I'm exceptionally blissful now in view of this work. you can attempt this currently by follow subtleties here........𝐖𝐰𝐰.𝐒𝐦𝐚𝐫𝐭𝐀𝐩𝐩𝟏.𝐜𝐨𝐦

  • D. J. Reddall15 days ago

    An adroit improvisation upon a perennially powerful figure; most impressive!

  • Cathy holmes15 days ago

    This is excellent, Mark. Congrats on the TS.

  • Dana Crandell15 days ago

    Historical accuracy aside, it's a well-told tale. Congratulations, Mark!

  • Christy Munson15 days ago

    I have to second John's comment about knowing how it ends, unfortunately. But this revolt's lack of success certainly did not diminish its impact. Powerful take on the historic tale. Congratulations on Top Story! 🥳

  • Rachel Deeming15 days ago

    Aha! I see what you mean about being inspired! Excellent! Thoroughly enjoyed it. Good old Spartacus. I can remember crying at the film with Kirk Douglas and Jean Simmons. Bloody marvellous.

  • I didn't realise this was historical fiction until I read John's comment. If only there were more successes like this, it would have been so nice. Loved your story!

  • John Cox15 days ago

    Excellent tale, Mark. It’s a pity that I already know it’s end. Only one slave revolt in history was successful, and this wasn’t it.

  • Jay Kantor15 days ago

    Hi Mark - From Swords to Guns ~ War what is it good for other than the male ego. Incredibly well told as per your usual. I've been off the Vocal Campus for a while due to an accident. But, due to our Vocal Village, although perhaps virtual it's terrific to have U'z around. Please see my appreciation mentioned at the bottom of my 'Marital~Bliss' Virtual Bud, j.in.l.a.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.