Longevity logo

She Did Not Deserve a Second Chance

Please don’t care about those who don't acknowledge their mistakes

By Ainy AbrahamPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
She Did Not Deserve a Second Chance
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

About 8 months back my housekeeper got sick during her pregnancy. The doctor advised her to have bed rest for the safety of the child. She arranged another helper for me.

The new helper put my mental health in danger. I know you would be wondering how. It was the worst experience.

I hired her to do dishes, iron clothes, and wash clothes. I tried my best to tell her how to do the chores to meet the basic standard.

I know a smart way can save plenty of time plus improve the quality.

On her first day, I realized that she was suffering from some health issues. She told me she was feeding her breast milk to two young ones. As a mother, I know such nursing mothers need extra calcium and iron to cope with health issues. So I offered her the additional nutrients to make her health better.

To my surprise, She was not as good as I thought she must be. I was telling her to do the same things again and again, explaining to her daily. This was accumulating anger inside me. I also had the sympathy for her. This was frustrating me and I was unable to decide.

You know I started throwing my anger on everyone inside my house, on my husband, my children, everyone was the target of my anger.

She was in my house for just three to four hours and her continuous mistakes and sometimes blunders were mentally torturing me.

I mentioned her mistakes, talked about remedies, and offered her my help to solve the issues. I offered her to call me in any difficult situation.

In this way one more month passed but the situation was the same. She was better for one or two days and then it looked as if it was her first day at work.

My blood pressure started rising because of that and then my Husband intervened. He explained to me that she was not going to change. Her inbuilt system was not ready to accept her mistakes. She was not accepting and admitting her mistakes, and that’s why she was not improving.

My husband advised me to either ignore her mistakes or stop her from working and go for another option.

This was the time when I thought over the whole scenario and decided to act as per my husband’s advice.

I ignored my sympathy and started thinking differently. I issued her notice to stop her work from next month. She got upset but now I think that was just verbally. Her sentences made me think she might change after that notice as still 3 weeks was there but unfortunately, nothing was changed. She was upset but was not ready to improve her ways of work.

On the last day of her job to show her some sympathy I comforted her by saying that in some situations I would call her for help.

After some days, as I was feeling bad for her, I called her to help me with some tasks. This time I was sure that there would be a change in her but to my surprise, she was in the same spirit.

My husband said, “ She would not change until or unless she accepts the mistakes”.

I wanted to give her a second chance but she was not ready to take it.

Take away

Stop wasting your time on people who don’t care about their mistakes. living with them starts degrading your standards, health, and environment.

If you want to improve and succeed in life, the base is to grasp your mistakes, help yourself rectify them, and stop them from reoccurring.

In our lives, we come across many people who can be our relatives, friends, helpers, colleagues, etc., from different directions, that directly or indirectly influence our life decisions or aspects. What we need to focus on is to know their abilities and intentions. Their efforts for a better relationship should be known to us. We should give them chances only if they prove themselves worthy of that.

All copyrights are reserved to the author and no one can publish it without author's written approval. Originally it was published on Medium.com.

adviceself caremental healthhumanityhealthgrief

About the Creator

Ainy Abraham

Listening to stories has always captivated me. Now, I want to share my thoughts through my stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Murali2 days ago

    Superb!!

  • Omgggg, I've met many people like this! No matter how many times we point out their mistakes, they'd still keep doing it. It's sooooo annoying!

  • Year I agree with what you told us in the story. Great one!

  • Ameer Bibi13 days ago

    Strongly agree with your POV Don't waste your time on such people who don't deserve your kindness

Ainy AbrahamWritten by Ainy Abraham

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.