Pride logo

From an Ally to a Friend

I will stand up for you.

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 9 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - June 2024
From an Ally to a Friend
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

From an Ally to a Friend

~

To the beautiful human being reading this…

You are amazing.

You are a bright star…

A piece of art,

A brilliant spark of fire and energy that will last throughout the ages.

To you, the girl or boy who’s a little bit different than the others, you are a wonderful creation.

~

Life can be unfriendly

Life can be unforgiven

And more judgmental than your own opinions.

But that doesn’t mean you have to take it all in alone.

For every tear you’ve shed,

I want you to promise me that you’ll focus on a dream instead.

For every curse that someone slanders you with, I want you to hold your head up

And focus on the goals you’ve created.

For every accusation and snide comment,

I want you to smile and remember that you are human too,

Someone deserving of love, affection, relationships, and the chaos of life just like me.

~

I had a beautiful goal in mind once, to become a lawyer, to help those who were helpless.

I’m almost forty now, and that dream has long since come and gone.

So, I replaced it with another one.

One day, I hope to be a friend, an ally, to someone in need of my help like you.

I hope to be a social worker, to fight for the positive life of every person,

Because we all deserve a better life and a happy life.

I want you to know that you can come to me as an Ally

And I won’t turn my back on you because you’re different.

That’s just not me.

Or a representation of who I want to be.

~

Ally

What does that mean to me?

That means I’m not judge and jury to my transgender family member.

That means I still love my beautifully annoying bestie.

That means that I love my therapist because they’re an Ally too!

It means that I love me for me, because like you, I’m unique.

I’m an individual with a personality that everyone might not agree with…

And you know what, who cares!

I am me and you are you

And that’s perfectly okay.

~

Sometimes it’s not about just love, acceptance, and a need or drive to be part of something bigger.

Sometimes, it’s the urge to stand up for yourself.

It’s the drive to say, screw you world. I’m going to be me!

Scream it out if you have to.

Breathe in…

Come on…take in a deep breath with me…

And smile knowing that you are a beautiful creation.

Once you’ve let the positivity drive you into the grinning cheshire cat,

I want you to reach out to that someone next to you that’s also struggling.

Be the positivity in their life, the light and spark of life that I know you are.

~

If you’re reading this,

There is a good likelihood that you are one of the few, the minorities that are spoken against every day.

I remember what it was like to be young

To wonder about my sexuality

To discover my sexuality

I remember the look of lust and desire from teenage boys and girls

I remember the fire and spark of life that I was.

Don’t let your sexuality and choice define you.

You deserve to be you…

You get to decide how to define yourself.

You get to be King, Queen, or both!

(Why not? Take all the power!)

What matters is that you have decided to flip the bird to the world and proclaim…

I AM GOING TO BE ME!

That is perfectly okay with me!

~

If you’re reading this, I wish you well.

I wish you all the goals and affirmations that you’ve ever dreamed of.

I hope that you will find you star, place it rightly on top of your crown, and that you are now Ruler over the Kingdom.

If you’re in a bad state, I hope you heal and perseverance to live on.

If you’re in a good state, I hope you share your spark with as many others in this world that you can.

Shine brightly…

I’ll be looking for your star to guide the Night!

~Alisha

RelationshipsPride MonthEmpowerment

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Dr. Jason Benskina day ago

    Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Alexavier6 days ago

    very good story

  • shanmuga priya6 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉 on top story

  • Nice written

  • Carol Townend6 days ago

    This is beautiful, and you made me smile today.

  • Robyn Peterson6 days ago

    Beautifully written!!! And also Thank You! It helped me today. ❤️

  • 💕💕💕

  • Jeremy White8 days ago

    I absolutely love this. Very well written. I feel the same way. I want to be a safe place for people.

Alisha WilkinsWritten by Alisha Wilkins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.