Poets logo

acknowledgement

#poem-it's-been-awhile

By Heather HublerPublished 3 days ago Updated 3 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Created with NightCafeStudio

In the hush of dusky hues,

my eyes catch her tawny silhouette

against the edge of the field,

waves of amber gently swaying to

a mid-summer's refrain.

It only takes a moment before she's noticed me in return,

eyes alert and wary.

Her tail flicks.

I give her no signs to fear me,

yet aren't I,

a danger?

If only she could see past

this softened facade,

skim past the fine lines,

the stray grays,

the unwanted middle

to see the fighter's heart

that still beats within.

The soul that screams

I can still be a threat to tedium,

to stagnation,

to the great yawn of nothingness

yet she disregards me,

looking to the high grasses

and swinging her head.

I watch wholly transfixed

as small spotted forms

leap to her side on unsteady legs.

Doe and fawn.

I realize then it was not

stinging dismissal,

but acknowledgement,

an understanding

of our dual nature.

We mommas with our tenderness

and ferocity in equal measure,

yin and yang.

She spares me one last glance

before guiding her young ones

over horizon and out of sight.

Two warriors parting ways.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for stopping by :)

It's been a very emotional and busy past few weeks between my father-in-law passing away, my milestone birthday and sickness running rampant. Finally feeling a bit better. Hope you are all well :)

~

Here is the poem I wrote on the day of his passing:

nature poetryinspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (33)

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout 4 hours ago

    Congrats on your top story.

  • Sherif Saadabout 16 hours ago

    Wonderful

  • Oh, Heather... This resonates in my heart. Absolutely perfect. What a beautiful tribute to motherhood. I'm blown away. ❤️

  • Kenny Penna day ago

    Glad you’re feeling better. This was a fantastic poem, Heather. You write so beautifully ❤️

  • Congrats on the Top Story! Well-deserved. You have such a softness to your writing that paints sorrow in such a delicate way. So sorry for all that you are going through right now!

  • JBaza day ago

    Back to say congratulations on a well deserved and touching poem

  • I really love the flow of this part: Her tail flicks. I give her no signs to fear me, yet aren't I, a danger? So elegant 🥰😍😍😍

  • I'm so sorry it's been so emotionally heavy for you 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️ Loved your beautiful poem, my sweet looney partner! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Another beautifully crafted Hubler poem 😇🥰❤️ I’m sorry for your pain and I send love your way Heather xx

  • This is absolutely beautiful - congrats on the Top Story! A really moving moment, and a lovely reflection with that momma deer. So sorry to hear of your great loss and difficulties- blessings on processing, recovery, and all else that you need in this season. <3

  • Ameer Bibi2 days ago

    Well deserved top story Many congratulations

  • Lamar Wiggins2 days ago

    Happy belated birthday, my friend. Hopefully things will calm down for you soon. I agree with Dana, your poetry hasn't suffered. It gets better and better. Beautiful work! 💖🤝🏼🙏🏽

  • Caroline Craven2 days ago

    Hey Heather. I’m really sorry to hear about your father in law. That’s not cool. This was a phenomenal poem and it’s great to have you back. Just take care.

  • Joe Patterson2 days ago

    Beautifully written my friend, congratulations on top story.

  • John Cox2 days ago

    I love how you establish connection between yourself and the alert doe, both fierce and gentle. Absolutely beautiful, Heather.

  • Rachel S2 days ago

    Beatiful adn heartwarming!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 days ago

    Sorry life has been a bit of a hurricane for you, happy the dust is settling!! I loved the peacefulness of this and just the calm nobility you pained both the deer and yourself in! Very beautiful and congrats on Top Story!!

  • Sarah Daniel3 days ago

    What a beautifully evocative piece, Heather! Your words capture the delicate balance of strength and tenderness with such grace. The imagery of the doe and fawn mirrors the dual nature of motherhood perfectly. Thank you for sharing this poignant moment. 💖

  • JBaz3 days ago

    It has been a tough time for you and your family, yet you still manage to inspire all of us with your beautiful words.

  • Caroline Jane3 days ago

    Gorgeous. So tender and strong. Beautiful ❤️

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    Love love love this! Deer are my favorite! Beautiful poem with a brilliant extension to motherhood!

  • never disappointed when your name hits my feed. Hugs to you and yours at this time of life. <3

  • Cathy holmes3 days ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done, my friend. Glad to hear you're feeling better.

  • Dana Crandell3 days ago

    Glad to have you back among us, Sis. Hope you're back to feeling yourself. Your poetry hasn't suffered - this is gorgeous. Congratulations!

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.