Longevity logo

Savory Breakfast Glucose Friendly?

Exploring food magic on glucose spikes.

By Kindred SoulPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
1
Savory Breakfast Glucose Friendly?
Photo by Chris Ralston on Unsplash

Food is one of God’s glorious creations, be it dry or wet; whatever its kind makes my saliva watery popping. The savory breakfast I just had for breakfast is making me majestically productive today; all the tasks are remarkably being accomplished as the minutes go by, and hey! I am still going! I like that this kind of mood makes me feel grateful and productive.

For the past few days, I made some changes to my breakfast. For years, I have been having yummilacious, sweet, and starchy typical kind of breakfast, like rolled oats with nuts and milk, rice and sausages, rice with eggs, and mixed cereals (whatever is available in the kitchen), of course with black coffee to go with all these meals. In this journey, I never thought of the effects of what I had for breakfast on my blood glucose and my daily mood and performance. Accidentally, I found an article about Restricting carbohydrates at breakfast is sufficient to reduce 24-hour exposure to postprandial hyperglycemia and improve glycemic variability at the PMC website ( I usually read articles from this site; I am not promoting it or anything). The article concludes, "A very low-carbohydrate, high-fat breakfast lowers post-breakfast glucose excursions. The effects of this simple strategy appear to be sufficient to lower overall exposure to postprandial hyperglycemia and improve glycemic variability.” So, I decided to try to experiment to see if this is effective on my part. In a day, I tried to see if a low carbohydrate diet affected my blood glucose, followed by a balanced lunch and satisfying dinner.

For breakfast, I had black coffee, ½ cup of red rice, and made an omelet with the following ingredients;

- 2 whole eggs

- Leftover steamed broccoli from my dinner last night

- 2 medium size tomatoes

- ½ cup cheese (I am a lover of cheese)

All I did was mix all the ingredients and make a lovely and colorful omelet (actually, this recipe can serve 2 people, but I ate it all). It tasted savory and good, making me happy and satisfied afterward. Here is my data using a simple blood glucose monitor (I am using a glucose monitor with a lancet and glucose strip).

Breakfast Glucose Level by KS

I am glad that what I ate during that meal had no significant impact on my post-meal glucose. For Lunch, I had it 5 hours after my breakfast as I did not feel any hunger pangs at all, but need to eat to see how the flow of my blood glucose would go. My lunch was a cup of red rice, grilled chicken thigh, and one medium cucumber, and for dessert, I had a bowl of cookies and cream ice cream (hey! We need that kind of pleasure with our meals, too- no restrictions) for pleasure. My blood glucose for this meal was as expected.

Lunch Glucose Level by KS

Despite the results, it made me smile because 2 hours after my meal, it was still in the normal range. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), a normal range for blood glucose 2 hours after a meal should be <140 mg/dl. It’s interesting how my body reacted to what I consumed. I could not have any physical activities, like walking after that meal, as I needed to use some brain cell powers for some tasks that needed to be done (so I dived into my computer after that meal).

For dinner (4 hours after lunch), I had steamed broccoli (oh yes, I am a big fan of broccoli, and I love it so much), pork chop, and a ½ cup of red rice. Immediately after my meal, I went for a 30-minute walk with my dog to have some air after a very good meal. My results were quite good.

Dinner Glucose Level by KS

Trying to move around does surprising magic to our body's response to glucose levels. Committing to moving around even for 15 minutes after a meal can do wonders for our body. It was fun exploring my body’s response to glucose after these meals.

Putting this data into a line graph (figure below) only shows that whatever food we eat impacts our blood glucose level. How the different meals and times affect blood glucose levels has very significant importance in managing our blood sugar levels.

Overall Glucose Levels by KS

As for my mood that day, I felt happy and contented. Could my food for that day have an impact on my mood? Do you think our food truly does magic and that it affects our mental status? What do you think?

Please note that my results may vary with you; these are my actual results, and what applies to me might differ in how your body responds to your food.

Let me know what you think, and we could experiment with our food options together as we explore what is best for our body and mind towards a healthy and happy living.

healthwellnessself carelifestylefitnessdietCONTENT WARNINGbody
1

About the Creator

Kindred Soul

I am learning from my experiences and I would love to share the journey that I travel... To inspire, motivate, and to educate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 13 days ago

    Wow 🤩 I loved how you collected the data on yourself. So you tested a theory on yourself and are happy with the results. Great job on that and this story. ❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.