Longevity logo

My Life-Changing 3-Day Water Challenge

How I Overcame Food Addiction and Boosted My Health with Water Fasting

By Paul-AnthonyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Hey there! So, during my teenage years, young adulthood, and now in my 30s, I struggled with food addiction. Even though I've always been into fitness, health, and building muscle, I still faced a major crash in my weight as I hit my 30s, gaining over four stone from what I used to be. The biggest culprits for me have always been sweet foods and late-night snacking. Sometimes, I'd even have three takeaways in a week and sneak down at 10 pm for a snack.

Over the past year, I've been working on cutting down on overeating and have been able to limit myself to just one takeaway per week. However, I still found myself snacking before bed. That's when I turned to the internet to find ways of fasting. And that's when I discovered water fasting. I set myself a challenge to do it for three days, and I've been watching videos and reading articles to better understand the benefits of it.

As a beginner in fasting, it's recommended that you start with 72 hours of fasting before increasing the number of days. So, even though you could try a five-day fast, it's not recommended to start with that. Also, it is recommended to seek medical advice before starting.

My experience with a three-day water fast and its benefits

I recently completed a three-day water fast and was amazed by the multiple health benefits it provided. I felt more energized, my gut felt better, and I even lost a few pounds. However, it is important to note that water fast should be done with caution and under the guidance of a healthcare professional.

What is water fasting?

Water fasting is a type of fasting that involves abstaining from food and consuming only water for a set period of time. During this time, the body switches from using glucose for energy to using stored fat, which can lead to a variety of health benefits.

Why start with a 3-day water fast?

A three-day water fast can improve immune function, repair damage to cells, reduce inflammation, benefit gut flora, and increase DNA repair. During the fast, the body enters a state of ketosis, where it starts using stored fat as fuel, leading to an increase in autophagy, which can clear out damaged cells and improve overall cellular health.

However, before attempting a water fast, it is important to consult a physician, especially if you have insulin-dependent diabetes, is menstruating, are on medications, or aren't in a keto-adaptive state. It is also essential to be aware of the changes that occur during the fast, such as hunger and potential changes in bowel movements.

What to eat after water fasting?

When breaking a water fast, it is important to start with small portions of easily digestible foods, such as bone broth, vegetable soup, and a small amount of protein. After 24-48 hours, consider using distilled or purified water with minerals or sea salt added to help replenish electrolytes.

Avoid flavored sparkling water as it may contain sugar or artificial sweeteners that can disrupt the fast. It is also important to listen to your body and not overeat or consume foods that may cause digestive discomfort.

A three-day water fast can provide multiple health benefits, but it should be done with caution and under the guidance of a healthcare professional. Breaking the fast with small portions of easily digestible foods and staying hydrated with purified water can help maintain the benefits of the fast. As with any diet or fasting regimen, it is essential to listen to your body and make adjustments accordingly.

What Water bottle and filter do I use...

Hydracy Water Bottle - 1L BPA Free with Time Marker, No Sweat Sleeve, Fruit Infuser, and Drink Times.

Hydracy Water Bottle - 1L BPA Free with Time Marker

BRITA Marella fridge water filter jug for reduction of chlorine, limescale, and impurities

BRITA Marella fridge water filter jug

If you liked and enjoy this article, please make an eye for more articles and a tip would be much appreciated.

Until next time...

lifestylewellnessself carehealthdietaging
Like

About the Creator

Paul-Anthony

Passion for Wellness, Longevity, Keeping fit, Spa's, Yachts and Naturism

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.