Longevity logo

My Journey from Adderall-Induced Hair Loss to Healthy Hair Growth with Red Light Therapy

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 9 months ago 7 min read
Like

I have always been proud of my hair. It was thick, shiny, and long, reaching past my shoulders. I loved to style it in different ways, from braids to curls to ponytails. I received many compliments on my hair, and it was one of my best features.

But everything changed when I started taking Adderall.

Adderall is a medication that is prescribed for people with ADHD or narcolepsy. It helps them focus, stay alert, and be more productive. I was diagnosed with ADHD when I was in college, and my doctor prescribed me Adderall to help me with my studies.

At first, I was happy with the results. I felt more energetic, motivated, and organized. I could finish my assignments faster, study better, and ace my exams. I also noticed that I lost some weight, which was a bonus for me.

But soon, I started to notice some negative effects. I became more anxious, irritable, and restless. I had trouble sleeping at night, and I felt exhausted during the day. I also lost my appetite, and I barely ate anything.

And then, the worst thing happened. My hair started to fall out.

It was gradual at first. I would find some strands on my pillow, in the shower, or on my brush. I didn’t think much of it at first, thinking it was normal shedding. But then it became more noticeable. My hair became thinner, weaker, and duller. It broke easily and looked frizzy and dry. I could see more of my scalp through my hair, and I felt embarrassed and insecure.

I tried to hide it by wearing hats, scarves, or wigs. But nothing could make me feel better about myself. I hated looking at myself in the mirror, and I avoided going out or socializing with anyone. I felt depressed and hopeless.

I wondered why this was happening to me. What did I do wrong? Was it something in my genes? Was it something in my diet? Was it something in my environment?

I did some research online and found out that Adderall can cause hair loss in some people. It can do this by:

Causing stress. Adderall can make some people feel anxious, nervous, or angry, which can trigger a type of hair loss called telogen effluvium. This is when a lot of hair follicles go into a resting phase and fall out after a few months.

Causing nutritional deficiencies. Adderall can suppress appetite and cause weight loss in some people. This can lead to a lack of nutrients that are essential for healthy hair growth, such as protein, iron, zinc, biotin, and vitamin B12.

Causing hormonal changes. Adderall can affect the levels of hormones in the body, such as thyroid hormones, cortisol, and sex hormones. These hormones play a role in regulating the hair growth cycle and influencing the size and activity of hair follicles.

Causing allergic reactions. Some people may be allergic to Adderall or its ingredients, which can cause inflammation, itching, rash, or hives on the scalp or skin. This can damage the hair follicles and cause hair loss.

I realized that Adderall was the culprit behind my hair loss nightmare. But what could I do about it? Should I stop taking it? Should I switch to another medication? Should I try some natural remedies?

I decided to talk to my doctor about it. He confirmed that Adderall can cause hair loss in some people, but he said that it was not very common or severe. He said that the hair loss should stop once the medication is stopped or the dosage is adjusted. He also said that there were some things that I could do to prevent or reduce the hair loss from Adderall:

Reduce stress. He suggested that I practice some relaxation techniques such as meditation, yoga, or breathing exercises to calm myself down and lower my cortisol levels.

Eat a balanced diet. He advised me to eat more foods that are rich in protein, iron, zinc, biotin and vitamin B12, such as eggs, meat, fish, nuts, seeds, beans, lentils, spinach, broccoli, and bananas. He also recommended me to take some supplements to boost my intake of these nutrients.

Avoid harsh chemicals. He warned me to avoid using any products that contain harsh chemicals such as sulfates, parabens, alcohol, or bleach on my hair or scalp. He said that these chemicals can strip away the natural oils and moisture from my hair and scalp, making them more prone to damage and breakage. He suggested that I use gentle and natural products that are designed for sensitive or damaged hair.

Massage the scalp. He encouraged me to massage my scalp regularly with my fingers or a brush to stimulate blood circulation and promote hair growth. He said that this can also help to relax the muscles and nerves in the scalp and reduce stress.

I followed his advice and hoped for the best. I also decided to look for some alternative treatments that could help me with my hair loss problem. I searched online and came across something that caught my eye: red light therapy for hair.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and promote healing. It has been used for various medical and cosmetic purposes, such as wound healing, pain relief, skin rejuvenation, and anti-aging.

But what interested me the most was that red light therapy can also help with hair loss. I read that red light therapy can increase blood flow to the scalp, enhancing the delivery of oxygen and nutrients to the hair follicles. It can also stimulate the production of ATP (adenosine triphosphate), which is the energy source for cells and tissues. This can improve the function and growth of hair follicles and prevent them from shrinking or dying.

I was intrigued by this idea and wanted to learn more. I found several studies that showed that red light therapy can improve hair density, thickness, and quality in people with different types of hair loss, such as androgenetic alopecia (male or female pattern baldness), alopecia areata (an autoimmune condition that causes patchy hair loss), or chemotherapy-induced alopecia (hair loss caused by cancer treatment).

One study found that men and women with androgenetic alopecia who used an at-home red light therapy device for 24 weeks grew thicker hair. Another study found that red light therapy reduced inflammation and pain in people with Achilles tendinitis, which suggests that it may also have anti-inflammatory effects on the scalp.

I was amazed by these results and decided to give it a try. I searched for the best handheld led light therapy device or red light therapy cap that I could use at home. I found one that had good reviews and was affordable. I ordered it online and waited for it to arrive.

When it arrived, I was eager to use it. I read the instructions carefully and followed them. I put on the cap over my head and turned on the device. I felt a warm and soothing sensation on my scalp. It was not painful or uncomfortable at all. I relaxed and listened to some music while the device did its work.

I used the device for 15 minutes per session, three times per week, for three months. I also continued taking Adderall at a lower dose, eating a balanced diet, reducing stress, avoiding harsh chemicals, and massaging my scalp.

And then, something amazing happened.

My hair started to grow back.

It was slow at first, but then it became faster and more noticeable. My hair became thicker, stronger, and shinier. It looked healthier and more vibrant. I could see less of my scalp through my hair, and I felt more confident and happy.

I was overjoyed by this change and couldn’t believe my eyes. I had finally found a solution for my hair loss nightmare. Red light therapy had saved my hair.

I am so grateful for this treatment and how it has improved my life. I still use it regularly to maintain my results and prevent any future hair loss. I also recommend it to anyone who is suffering from hair loss or wants to improve their hair quality.

If you are looking for a natural, safe, effective, and convenient way to treat your hair loss problem, you should definitely try red light therapy. You won’t regret it.

Have you ever experienced hair loss from Adderall or any other medication? How did you cope with it? Have you ever tried red light therapy for your hair? Did it work for you? Share your thoughts and experiences in the comments below!

mental healthwellnesshow tohealthfitnessadvice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.