Longevity logo

Minoxidil vs. Red Light Therapy: Which One is Better for Hair Growth?

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have always had thick and shiny hair, ever since I was a little girl. I used to love styling my hair in different ways, from braids to buns to curls. I never had any problems with my hair, until one day, everything changed.

It was about a year ago, when I noticed that my hair was falling out more than usual. I thought it was just normal shedding, but it kept getting worse. I would find clumps of hair on my pillow, in the shower, and on my brush. I started to panic and wonder what was wrong with me. Was I sick? Was I stressed? Was I going bald?

I went to see my doctor, who ran some tests and told me that I had androgenetic alopecia, also known as female pattern baldness. He said that it was a genetic condition that affects millions of women, especially after menopause. He prescribed me a medication called minoxidil, which he said was the only FDA-approved treatment for hair loss in women.

I was desperate to stop my hair loss, so I started using minoxidil as instructed. I applied it twice a day to my scalp, hoping for a miracle. But instead of seeing any improvement, I noticed that my hair loss got even worse. I was shedding more hair than ever before, and my scalp became red and irritated. I felt like crying every time I looked in the mirror.

I did some research online and found out that minoxidil can cause temporary hair shedding in some people. This is because minoxidil changes the hair cycle and pushes more hairs into the growth phase, which also means that more hairs will fall out faster. The shedding is supposed to stop after a few months and be replaced by new hair growth. However, this did not happen for me. I used minoxidil for six months, and saw no positive results at all. My hair was thinner and weaker than ever before.

I decided to stop using minoxidil and look for other alternatives. I tried various natural remedies, such as coconut oil, onion juice, rosemary oil, and biotin supplements, but none of them worked for me. I felt hopeless and depressed. I lost my confidence and self-esteem. I hated going out in public and meeting new people. I felt like everyone was staring at my bald spots and judging me.

Then one day, I stumbled upon an article about red light therapy for hair growth. It sounded too good to be true, but I was curious enough to give it a try. Red light therapy is a form of low-level laser therapy that uses red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and promote healing. It has been proven to improve blood circulation, reduce inflammation, increase collagen production, and enhance mitochondrial function in the scalp and hair follicles.

Red light therapy has been clinically proven to be effective for treating various types of hair loss, such as androgenetic alopecia (male or female pattern baldness), alopecia areata (patchy hair loss), telogen effluvium (stress-induced hair loss), and chemotherapy-induced alopecia. Several studies have reported that red light therapy can increase hair density, thickness, and strength after 12 to 26 weeks of treatment. Unlike minoxidil or other drugs, red light therapy does not cause any adverse effects or require any maintenance after achieving the desired results.

I decided to buy a red light therapy device that was designed specifically for treating hair loss. It was a cap that fit over my head and delivered optimal wavelengths and intensities of light to my scalp. It was easy and convenient to use at home. I just had to wear it for 20 minutes every other day and relax while receiving the treatment.

I did not expect much at first, but after a few weeks of using the cap, I noticed that my hair shedding decreased significantly. After a few months of using the cap, I noticed that my hair started to grow back in areas where it had been thinning or balding. My hair became thicker, fuller, and stronger than before. My scalp felt healthier and less irritated.

I was amazed by the results. I could not believe that something so simple and natural could make such a difference in my hair health. I felt like a new person. I regained my confidence and self-esteem. I started to enjoy styling my hair again and experimenting with different looks. I received compliments from my friends and family on how great my hair looked.

Red light therapy changed my life for the better. It helped me overcome my hair loss nightmare and find a natural solution that worked for me. If you are suffering from hair loss and looking for an alternative to minoxidil or other drugs, you may want to give red light therapy a try. It is safe, effective, and easy to use at home.

You can check out some of the best red light therapy devices for hair growth here. You can also read more about the benefits and science of red light therapy here. Red light therapy is a wonderful way to restore your hair health and happiness. Why not give it a try today?

I hope you enjoyed this article and learned something new about minoxidil and red light therapy for hair growth. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to share them below. I would love to hear from you and help you with your hair care journey. Thank you for reading!

wellnessself carehealthfitnessagingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.