Longevity logo

How Taking Notes Like Toddler is Helping My ADHD & Mental Health

Doodling my way to a better me.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published 10 days ago 3 min read
Notes by Author

I have been a terrible student for as long as I can remember. I struggled with just about every aspect of school lessons. My teachers thought I was lazy, and I thought I was stupid. I have a vivid memory of the third grade, as the girl next to me was breezing through the assignment while I struggled with completing the first line. She looked right at me and asked, “Are you stupid?” She was dead serious, and I was crushed.

There was a boy in my 4th-grade class who was a prodigy. He was a chess champion throughout Europe at a very young age. Schoolwork was simple; making friends for himself was difficult. One day, riding the bus home, I asked him the question, “How are you so smart?” and his answer was simple; “It’s in my genes.” he said. I looked right at his pants with a very puzzled look and said; “Really? What kind of jeans are you wearing?”. I think at this point he too realized that there was no hope for me.

Notes by Author

As I got older, I learned to adapt to my methods of how I applied myself to school work. As an adult now, I realize without a doubt I have a learning disorder, ranging from dyslexia to ADHD. Thankfully, I have been very blessed to learn a wide range of skills in IT, photography, and other areas that benefit from thinking outside the box.

In alcohol and mental health recovery, I get to attend a lot of sessions of healing and growth. Some of it is like going back to school again, and I need to learn how to do things again. I am also exposed to a wealth of information from fellow strugglers as they walk their walk too. So much wisdom comes from the fallen. I get to soak it up like a sponge. How do I absorb all of this amazing advice and lessons when taking notes is incredibly difficult? Most of the time, I am unable to read my writing as well as keep my attention and focus on all that is being said. A simple (SQUIRREL!) distraction can derail my focus quickly and easily.

Notes by Author

The answer for me was drawing or doodling as I took notes. This has been a huge breakthrough for me. As a child in school, this would never have been tolerated. Thankfully, as an adult, I am in more control of how I learn. I am finding that if I only write a few words down, enough to remember the point, but I draw something around those words, between those words and a part of those words, my notes evolve into something that sticks with me; it becomes art, and it becomes visual. I speak that language.

I am sharing some of my notes from the last few weeks in this article to show what they look like. I read and hear a lot of scripture in my recovery sessions. I love the comfort I find in God’s Word. I am learning to be more gentle with myself. I am taking my time to absorb what is being offered as sound and healthy advice. I no longer worry or rush to write down everything that is being said. I can go back and dig deeper with just a few words and a handful of doodles in between.

I would love to know what works for you. Do you have a unique way of taking notes? Please share! My way is not perfect, but the toddler in me loves it.

Author Note: Thanks for reading. My writing is a part of my healing process. I am a broken spirit, a fallen sinner, but I am a forgiven child of God. I share my vulnerable heart openly so I can grow and teach others from my lessons. Thank you for your support.

wellnessspiritualitymental healthhumorhow tohealthadvice

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake10 days ago

    Liked your work.

Nagoh Creative (Greg)Written by Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.