Longevity logo

How I Saved My Hair with Protective Hairstyles and Red Light Therapy

Jason Jones

By Wellness WonderPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like

I have always loved my hair. It was my pride and joy, my crowning glory, my signature feature. I used to spend hours styling it, coloring it, curling it, straightening it, braiding it, you name it. I loved experimenting with different looks and expressing myself through my hair.

But then, something terrible happened. I started losing my hair.

It began when I was in my late twenties. I noticed more and more strands falling out in the shower, on my pillow, on my clothes. I panicked and tried everything to stop it. I changed my shampoo, my diet, my supplements, my stress levels. I consulted with doctors, dermatologists, trichologists, hair experts. I tried medications, injections, topical treatments, laser combs. Nothing worked.

I was devastated. I felt like I was losing a part of myself, a part of my identity. I became depressed and insecure. I hated looking at myself in the mirror. I hated going out in public. I hated seeing other people with beautiful hair. I hated myself.

I was ready to give up and accept my fate as a balding woman. But then, I discovered two things that changed my life: protective hairstyles and red light therapy.

Protective hairstyles are styles that protect your hair from damage caused by environmental factors, mechanical manipulation, and chemical treatments. They also help your hair retain moisture, prevent breakage, and promote growth.

Protective hairstyles can be anything from braids, twists, buns, knots, cornrows, locs, wigs, and weaves. The main idea is to tuck away the ends of your hair, which are the oldest and most fragile parts, and reduce the friction and tension on your strands. Protective hairstyles also give your hair a break from daily styling, washing, and combing, which can weaken your hair over time.

I decided to give protective hairstyles a try after reading some articles and watching some videos online. I learned how to do some simple styles that suited my hair type, length, and texture. I also learned how to moisturize my hair before and during the style, cleanse my scalp regularly, don’t keep the style for too long, be gentle when taking down the style, and treat my hair after the style.

I was amazed by the results. My hair felt softer, stronger, and healthier. It also looked more voluminous and vibrant. I noticed less shedding and more growth. I also enjoyed the versatility and creativity of protective hairstyles. I could switch up my look whenever I wanted without damaging my hair.

But protective hairstyles were not enough to solve my hair loss problem completely. I still needed something to stimulate my scalp and hair follicles more effectively. That’s when I found out about red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and healing in the body. It has been shown to have various benefits for skin, muscle, joint, dental, and brain health . But what about hair?

Several studies have found that red light therapy can help with hair loss and thinning by increasing blood circulation, oxygen delivery, and nutrient supply to the scalp. It can also stimulate the production of ATP (the energy molecule of the cells), which can activate dormant hair follicles and prolong the growth phase of the hair cycle. Red light therapy can also reduce inflammation, which can contribute to hair loss.

Red light therapy is safe, painless, and easy to use at home. You can find various devices that emit red light therapy for hair, such as caps, helmets, combs, or wands. You simply wear or apply the device on your scalp for a few minutes a day according to the instructions.

I decided to invest in a red light therapy cap after doing some research on the different devices available. I chose one that had good reviews, a reasonable price, and a money-back guarantee. I started using it every other day for 20 minutes along with my protective hairstyles.

The results were incredible. My hair started growing back faster, thicker, and fuller. My scalp felt healthier and less itchy. My hair looked shinier and smoother. I felt more confident and happier.

Protective hairstyles and red light therapy for hair loss at home are two ways to protect your hair and boost its growth. They helped me save my hair from balding and restore its beauty. They can help you too.

If you are struggling with hair loss or thinning, don’t lose hope. There are solutions out there that work. You just have to find them and try them. You deserve to have beautiful hair.

Do you have any questions or comments about protective hairstyles or red light therapy for hair loss at home? Have you tried them before? What was your experience? Let me know in the comments below. I would love to hear from you.

wellnessself caresciencehealthfitnessagingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Wellness Wonder

Be simple, and keep being curious about the real essence of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.