Longevity logo

How I Lost My Hair to Meloxicam and Found It Again with Red Light Therapy

Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like

I have always been proud of my hair. It was thick, shiny, and long, and I loved to style it in different ways. I used to get compliments on my hair all the time, and it made me feel confident and beautiful.

But everything changed when I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis at the age of 35. Rheumatoid arthritis is a chronic inflammatory condition that affects the joints, causing pain, stiffness, and swelling. It can also affect other parts of the body, such as the skin, eyes, lungs, and heart.

My doctor prescribed me meloxicam, a medication that belongs to a class of drugs called nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs). Meloxicam is supposed to reduce inflammation and pain by blocking the production of prostaglandins, which are chemicals that cause these symptoms.

At first, meloxicam seemed to work well for me. I felt less pain and more mobility in my joints. I was able to resume some of my normal activities and enjoy life again.

But after a few months of taking meloxicam, I noticed something alarming. My hair started to fall out.

At first, I thought it was just normal shedding. Everyone loses some hair every day, right? But then I realized that it was more than usual. I would find clumps of hair on my pillow, in the shower drain, and on my brush. My hairline started to recede, and my scalp became more visible. My hair became thin, brittle, and dull.

I was horrified. I felt like I was losing a part of myself. I felt ugly and insecure. I tried to hide my hair loss with hats, scarves, and wigs, but nothing could make me feel better.

I did some research online and found out that hair loss is a rare but possible side effect of meloxicam. Apparently, meloxicam can interfere with the blood flow to the hair follicles, affect the hormonal balance in the body, or trigger an immune response that causes the body to attack its own hair follicles.

I decided to talk to my doctor about it. He confirmed that meloxicam could be the culprit behind my hair loss. He suggested that I could try a lower dose of meloxicam, switch to a different medication, or use some supplements or topical treatments to help with my hair loss.

I tried all of these options, but none of them worked for me. Either they did not stop my hair loss, or they caused other side effects such as stomach ulcers, liver damage, or allergic reactions.

I was desperate. I felt like I had no choice but to accept my fate and live with my baldness.

But then I discovered something that changed my life: red light therapy for hair growth.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level lasers or LEDs to emit red or near-infrared light on your scalp. The light penetrates into your skin and stimulates your cells to produce more energy (ATP), which can enhance blood circulation, oxygen delivery, and nutrient uptake to your hair follicles. This can help promote hair growth and prevent further hair loss.

I learned about red light therapy from a friend who had used it for her acne scars. She told me that it was also effective for hair growth, and she showed me some articles and studies that supported this claim .

I was intrigued by this idea. I decided to give it a try. I bought a device online that looked like a cap with red lights inside. It was easy to use: I just had to wear it on my head for 15 minutes a day, three times a week.

After a few weeks of using red light therapy, I noticed some improvement in my hair condition. My hair stopped falling out as much as before. My scalp felt less itchy and irritated. My hair looked healthier and shinier.

After a few months of using red light therapy, I noticed some amazing results. My hair started to grow back! I could see new hairs sprouting from my scalp, filling in the bald spots. My hair became thicker and fuller again. My hairline restored its original shape.

I was overjoyed. I felt like I had regained my identity and self-esteem. I felt attractive and confident again. I started to wear my hair down without any cover-ups. I received compliments on my hair again from my friends and family.

Red light therapy saved my hair and my life.

If you are suffering from hair loss due to meloxicam or any other reason, don’t lose hope. There is a solution for you: best red light therapy for hair growth. It is safe, effective, convenient, affordable, and compatible with other treatments. It can help you restore your hair health and happiness.

Have you ever tried red light therapy for hair growth? What was your experience like? Share your story in the comments below!

how tohealthfitnessbodyagingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.