Longevity logo

How do you spend your 24 hours in a day?

How do you really spend your time?

By Talara NolanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
How do you spend your 24 hours in a day?
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

When was the last time you really looked at how you spend your time? Have you ever really done it?

We all get 24 hours in a day. But have you asked yourself how someone else was able to get so much done? We have all meet or heard about those people that seem like they must have more hours in a day than the rest of the world. They just get so much done. How do they do that?

If you ever asked yourself that, then have you ever looked at your day. I mean, really looked at it. How much time do you waste? How long did you really spend scrolling on social media? Was it 20 minutes or was it an hour?

These are the questions that you need to ask yourself. If you really examine how you spend your time, you would be surprised how much extra time you can find.

If you really want to see how you spend your day, then track what you do. Track every minute and how you spend it. I know that may sound a little extreme, but it will be an eye-opening experience. You only need to track a few days, even a day or two, in order to really see it. Get a notebook and write it down, or track it on your phone. Make sure that it is a way that you can go back and look over. Going back later and actually reading it, is the part that will really make you see what you do.

Now, I am not saying that you can't relax, or do mindless activities that make you feel better. But you will be surprised how much time you can find your schedule. Time that you are just wasting. Time-wasting on things that don't even bring you joy. Yes, most of us go on social media every day. That isn't going anywhere any time soon, no matter what is going on in the world. But you could spend a little less time on it, and more time on something that brings you joy.

What do you want to accomplish this year? Do you have any goals? Have you done anything to try to accomplish them? Even if you only work towards it 5 minutes every day. Well, you can accomplish a lot in only 5 minutes. Make sure that you do something every day towards the goals that you want to accomplish. Do you want to lose weight? Well, do you even work out at all? If you aren't doing anything towards the goals you want, then they will never happen.

You also don't want to overwhelm yourself. Don't try to accomplish everything in one day. Life is all about balance, after all. Try to accomplish 3 things every day that will start to get you closer to your goals. By having 3 goals each day, that get you closer to a larger goal, it makes you really focus on what is important. Now, one of those goals might be to spend 30 minutes outside with your kids. That's okay too. These are your goals for you to focus on, and it only depends on what matters to you.

The point of this exercise really is to make sure your time is going into the things that matter the most to you. What you don't want to happen is at the end of your life, that you say I wish I had done more. You want to be able to look back on your life and know that you spent your time on what was important to you. Not anyone else, you. Maybe helping other people is not important to you. That's okay. Decide what is important and make sure that you focus on that.

For me, I knew I was spending too much time on my phone. At the end of my life, I knew that my family would say I was always on my phone. And that just wasn't okay with me. So I make sure every day to do something with my daughter without being on my phone. I make sure that I focus on her, and really be involved with her life. For me, that is what is the most important.

So how do you spend your time?

-T

social mediaself carelifestylehow tofitnessagingadvice
1

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tammy S.about a year ago

    I like that --- setting three goals, and spending a minimum of 5 days working on them. I think my three goals for now is to 1. Re-establish a routine after dealing with weeks of disruptions and anxiety, 2. Continue to make money online, and 3. Practice more self-care. Like lately, I've been getting outside more because it helps me to feel good. Also, I need to work on my time management skills.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.