Longevity logo

Can Depression Cause Hair Loss? My Own Experience

Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
1

I have always been proud of my hair. It was thick, shiny, and long, and I loved to style it in different ways. I used to get compliments on my hair all the time, and it made me feel confident and beautiful.

But everything changed when I was diagnosed with depression. Depression is a mental illness that affects your mood, thoughts, feelings, and behavior. It can make you feel sad, hopeless, worthless, and lose interest in things you used to enjoy.

Depression also affected my physical health. I had trouble sleeping, eating, and concentrating. I felt tired, weak, and achy all the time. And worst of all, I started to lose my hair.

At first, I thought it was normal to shed some hair every day. But then I noticed that my hair was getting thinner and thinner. I could see more of my scalp through my hair, and I had clumps of hair in my brush, shower drain, and pillow.

I was terrified. I didn’t know what was happening to me. I felt like I was losing a part of myself. I became even more depressed and anxious. I hated to look at myself in the mirror. I tried to hide my hair loss with hats, scarves, and wigs. But nothing made me feel better.

I went to see my doctor, who told me that depression can cause hair loss in several ways. He explained that depression can:

Increase your stress levels, which can trigger a type of hair loss called telogen effluvium. This is when your hair follicles go into a resting phase and stop growing new hair.

Affect your hormones, which can affect your hair growth cycle and make your hair thinner and weaker.

Cause you to take medications that can have side effects that include hair loss.

Affect your nutrition, which can deprive your hair of essential nutrients that keep it healthy and strong.

He prescribed me some antidepressants and suggested some lifestyle changes to help me cope with my depression. He also recommended some products and treatments for my hair loss, such as minoxidil, finasteride, biotin supplements, and hair transplants.

I tried some of these options, but they didn’t work for me. Some of them were too expensive, too invasive, or too risky. Some of them had no effect at all, or made my hair loss worse. Some of them gave me unpleasant side effects, such as irritation, itching, burning, or swelling.

I was ready to give up hope. I thought that nothing could help me regrow my hair and feel good about myself again.

But then I discovered something that changed my life: red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a natural, painless, and safe way to stimulate your scalp and hair follicles with low-level red and near-infrared light. It works by:

Increasing the blood flow and oxygen delivery to your scalp, which nourishes your hair follicles and promotes healing.

Activating the mitochondria in your cells, which are the energy factories that produce ATP (adenosine triphosphate). ATP is the fuel that powers the growth and repair of your hair.

Reducing inflammation and oxidative stress in your scalp, which can damage your hair follicles and cause hair loss.

Red light therapy has been proven by multiple studies to increase hair density, thickness, and coverage in both men and women with various types of hair loss . It can also improve the quality and texture of your hair, making it shinier and smoother.

The best part is that you can use red light therapy at home with a device called a red light therapy cap. A red light therapy cap is a wearable device that fits over your head and emits red light to cover your entire scalp. You simply wear it for a few minutes a day, according to the instructions provided by the manufacturer.

A red light therapy cap is easy to use, comfortable to wear, and has no side effects or downtime. It can also save you time and money compared to other treatments that require frequent visits to a clinic or salon.

I decided to give red light therapy a try after reading some positive reviews online. I ordered a red light therapy cap from a reputable brand that had good ratings and testimonials. I was skeptical at first, but I figured I had nothing to lose.

I started using the red light therapy cap every day for 15 minutes. At first, I didn’t notice any difference in my hair. But after a few weeks, I saw some amazing results.

My hair started to grow back faster than ever before. My bald spots filled in with new hairs. My existing hairs became thicker and stronger. My scalp felt healthier and less irritated.

I was amazed by the transformation of my hair. I felt like a new person. I regained my confidence and self-esteem. I started to smile more often and enjoy life again.

Red light therapy cap helped me not only with my hair loss, but also with my depression. It made me feel more relaxed and calm. It boosted my mood and energy levels. It improved my sleep quality and appetite. It reduced my stress and anxiety.

Red light therapy cap was the best thing that ever happened to me. It gave me back my hair, my happiness, and my hope.

If you are suffering from depression and hair loss, I urge you to try red light therapy cap. It may be the solution you are looking for. It may be the answer to your prayers.

You don’t have to live with depression and hair loss. You don’t have to lose your hair and your joy. You can restore your hair growth and your confidence with red light therapy cap.

You deserve to feel good about yourself. You deserve to love your hair and your life.

Don’t wait any longer. Order your red light therapy cap today and see the difference for yourself.

You won’t regret it. I promise.

Do you have a story to share about your hair loss journey and how you found hope with red light therapy? Please leave a comment below and let me know. I would love to hear from you and support you in any way I can.

wellnesssciencepsychologyproduct reviewmental healthhealth
1

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jacob Damian9 months ago

    Thanks for sharing your experience, honestly is very important Reducing inflammation and oxidative stress

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.