Longevity logo

7 Ways to Holistically Reduce Period Pain

If you’re looking for natural period pain relief, these tactics are for you.

By Jessica NoelPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2

Since I was a teenager, I’ve had the dubious honor of being known among my friends and family as “the one with the really bad period cramps.”

Yep - how’s that for a superpower?

As a young adult, my cramps sometimes made me miss school or leave work early. There’s no underlying medical diagnosis - I don’t have endometriosis, or anything else my doctor has ever tested me for - it’s just that sometimes my period sucks more than usual.

While I’m not opposed to popping a Midol when things get really bad, over the years I’ve honed several other holistic techniques for dealing with my period pain. If you’re looking for natural period pain relief, these tactics are for you.

#1 - Take a Hot Shower

Hot showers can work wonders on a sore body and are an excellent way of dealing naturally with period-related aches and pains. You don’t want to burn yourself, but don’t be afraid to turn the water as hot as you’re comfortable with. I like to point the shower head so the water falls directly on my stomach.

Instant relief.

If you prefer baths, your period is a great time to experiment with different types of Epsom salts. Epsom salts are known to relax muscles and relieve pain, which makes them perfect for helping with period cramps. Check Etsy for some great herbal blends.

Baths and hot showers are great for holistically reducing period pain.

#2 - Combine Gentle Massage with Essential Oils

I’ve been using this Eden's Garden PMS Ease Essential Oil Blend for YEARS and I'm absolutely obsessed with it.

Despite the fact that it came recommended by a friend who’s a nurse practitioner, I’ll be the first to admit I was super skeptical when I bought it. I had very little knowledge of essential oils at the time, and was 99% sure that despite the hundreds of positive reviews on Amazon, I was probably being scammed.

To my surprise and delight, when combined with some gentle massage, this PMS blend really helps. It has an earthy, slightly sweet scent that instantly relaxes me. I put a few drops in some almond oil (it needs a carrier oil - you shouldn’t apply it to your skin directly) and gently massage it over my lower abdomen in slow, clockwise motions after showering.

Some magical combination of the oils and the massage really does help ease my period cramps. I use it every night.

#3 - Focus on Breathing and Acknowledging the Pain

This is something I learned while preparing to give birth to my daughter, and I’ve found that it can really be instrumental in turning any type of pain from “bad” to “tolerable.”

Throughout our lives, many of us subtly refuse to acknowledge the pain our bodies go through on a daily basis. We push through the agony and discomfort, telling ourselves that it’s not that bad, or that we’ll deal with it - whatever it is - later.

But ignoring our pain isn’t good for us mentally or physically, and in fact, it can make things worse.

No matter where you are right now, take a few seconds to close your eyes and focus on your breathing. Allow yourself to acknowledge that, yes, your cramps really do hurt right now. The pain is real.

Sometimes just acknowledging that we’re suffering can give us a new perspective on how to deal with things.

#4 - Exercise (Gently)

I know - the last thing you want to think about while on your period is exercise. Ugh. But exercising gives you all those lovely endorphins, which in turn help you feel better overall.

This is NOT the time to try CrossFit or start prepping for a marathon. Instead, maybe take your dog for a long, slow walk, or do some restorative yoga poses.

The key is being gentle with your body - it’s already doing so much!

Try taking the dog for a nice long walk to help ease your period pain.

#5 - Warm Up a Heating Pad

There’s almost nothing better for holistically reducing your period pain than using a heating pad. I have one filled with lavender seeds - when you heat it up, it adds an element of aromatherapy that helps you relax - but really any old heating pad will do, as long as you can stretch it across your abdomen.

Other good areas for heating pads include your shoulders and your lower back, if you’re comfortable lying on your stomach.

#6 - Drink Herbal Tea

A good cup of herbal tea can work wonders when you’re on your period, and there are many different herbal blends that have been used for centuries to help people who are menstruating.

Raspberry Leaf Tea is one of the most commonly used, and is known to reduce cramping and be excellent for overall uterine health. I like to drink it before I go to bed, but I know people who sip it all day long when they're on their periods.

If you’re interested in learning more about herbs that can help with menstruation, I recommend the book "The Woman's Herbal Apothecary" by JJ Pursell.

Raspberry Leaf Tea has been used for centuries to support overall reproductive health.

#7 - Change Your Diet

A healthy diet is instrumental to having a healthy period. If your period cramps are consistently awful month after month (and you’ve talked to your doctor to eliminate any other medical issues), it might be time to take a closer look at what you’re eating.

Speaking anecdotally, I've found that switching to a whole-foods, plant-based diet has made a big impact on my overall mood and health. As an added bonus, it's also made my periods much more manageable.

If you have certain foods you know don’t sit well with you, such as dairy or gluten, it might be time to talk to your doctor and/or nutritionist and try cutting them out of your diet for a few months to see if you notice any beneficial impacts on your health, menstrual or otherwise.

If you have any other tips for naturally reducing period pain, drop a comment below!

advicebodyhealthlifestylelistself carewellnessorganic
2

About the Creator

Jessica Noel

Jessica writes from her homestead in the backwoods of New England. When she’s not writing, she’s probably chasing chickens, studying herbalism, or encouraging her daughter to stomp in mud puddles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sunshine on Brown Skinabout a year ago

    I didn't know raspberry leaf tea was a thing. This is a new one to add to my arsenal. THANKS!

  • Annieabout a year ago

    Very well written and insightful. I use heating pads and epsom baths all the time!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.