Humor logo

Yo mama jokes.

Not yo mama, but everyone else’s: A trip down hilarious lane.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 12 months ago Updated 6 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - July 2023
Yo mama jokes.
Photo by Ainara Oto on Unsplash

*News Flash* Humor causes us to laugh or smile.

Whenever the right string of playful words enters your ears (or eyes) for your brain to decipher, it creates a visual and triggers an emotion that erupts with surprise. Your physical reaction becomes a laugh. Our laughs are unique and can actually be measured, studied and categorized.

The chuckle is a soft, suppressed laugh that happens when you find something funny but not over the top funny. In this case, maybe you laughed because it came across as silly or corny.

The Giggle is the result of being tickled or childish banter because your friend called you a buttface. An obvious juvenile joke, the kind that kids can't wait for the opportunity to share.

The Knee slapper is a laugh so full of energy that you have to displace some of that energy elsewhere to prevent... well, I'm not sure what it prevents. I just know that you have to take it out on something, why not your knee.

The Belly laugh is a full-on laugh. You never saw it coming and now you have to accept what's happening to you and get it all out with a quick uproar that comes from deep within the belly.

Cachinnation. Like it's cousin, the belly laugh, this one is loud and raucous. It can take your strength away and linger to the point of exhaustion, which can result in your eyes springing a leak. And you said you never cry in front of your friends.

What causes you to laugh?

The explanation is pretty complex for something as simple as a laugh. First, your personality is a factor. The way you process thoughts can enhance or hinder the likelihood of laughing. Your mood is a factor. If someone tries to make you laugh because they feel you need some uplifting, it doesn't always work. You may be too distracted with your own down-in-the-dumps thought pattern and have trouble turning that switch off.

In general, we are more likely to laugh at something in group situations because of its infectious qualities. Social laughter is the best kind as it allows the strengthening of bonds between family members and friends. We learn how to laugh even before we learn how to speak.

*

Most jokes are plain as day and either make you laugh or not. Some of us are easily amused and laugh at almost anything. Cerebral jokes can take a few seconds to process. These jokes require more effort for some of us to figure out. You may even need assistance and ask someone else who was listening. It usually ends up with you saying “ok, now I get it, 😹."

Then there is dark humor or a morbid sense of humor. These jokes cause us to laugh at things that most people wouldn’t. For example, laughing at another's mishap before finding out if they are okay and don't require medical attention. Some of these instances are televised in compilation shows which somehow makes it okay to laugh at the man who just fell off his roof or the dog who just playfully ripped off a woman’s dress. I'm sure the victims didn't find it funny, but we sure did.

Psychologists have defined dark humor as- "treating awful subjects like death, disease, deformity, handicaps or warfare with bitter amusement and presenting these tragic, distressing and morbid topics in amusing terms." Comedians are guilty of this and infuse dark humor in a way that makes us laugh regardless of how we really feel about the subject. Good for them for being so clever. And shame on them for being so clever.

Some of us cackle, some of us snort, some of us howl when we laugh. Laughs come in all types of frequencies and intensities. The moral of the story is: Laughing feels good. It also has health benefits. Supposedly, you can live longer if you laugh often. Some studies have determined that laughter can lower blood sugar levels (great news for diabetics). We know for sure that it releases dopamine and endorphins which gives us a sense of pleasure and can boost memory by changing brainwave activity. So there's that....

With all of that said, Yo mama jokes are considered a classic and sarcastic type of joke. I'm not sure how mammas became the target. I just know that someone had to be the subject for these zany, ridiculous and corny one-liners that can knock you out your chair... “Yo cousin” jokes or “Yo uncle” jokes don't have the same feel or power to them... Which means it's time for the main event. Yo mama Jokes. Some of which were toned down to be less offensive. I still apologize in advance; mothers are the reason for us being able to laugh. So, hats off to them. I love my momma, but she can be one silly cookie. Just kidding, she's as smart as a bag of rocks...Still kidding. My mother created an awesome family that enjoys each other... most of the time that is. Love you mom!!! Here goes...

Yo mama is so challenged, she stared at a glass of orange juice for 12 hours because it said "concentrate."

Yo mama so plump that when she skips a meal, the stock market drops.

Yo mama is so old, alarms went off when she stepped outside the museum.

Yo mama is so tall, she tripped in Canada and hit her head in Mexico.

Yo mama so big that when she buys a fur coat, entire species go extinct.

Yo mama is so uninformed, when the weatherman said it was chilly outside, she grabbed a bowl, a spoon and some crackers.

Yo mama is so challenged, when I said her drink was on the house, she ran outside to grab a ladder.

Yo mama is so clumsy, she even tripped over a cordless phone.

Yo mama so big she stepped onto the scale, and it said, "to be continued."

Yo mama so scary, she went into a haunted house and came out with an application.

Yo mama so silly she thought a quarterback was a refund.

Yo mama is so old, they didn’t teach history when she was in school.

Yo mama so big, I went to swerve from hitting her with my car and ran out of gas.

Yo mama so old, she has Jesus' beeper number.

Yo mama is so dumb, she sold her car to get gasoline money.

The list goes on and on...

Yo mama jokes, Courtesy of Humorpedia.com

*

And for my contribution I came up with one: Yo momma so challenged, she tried to buy tickets to X-Box live, lol...Corny, I know, but whatever. I gave it my all. 😅😬

*

*

If you have one you’d like to share, please drop it in the comments below. Thank you for stopping by and engaging with some silliness.

Proud mommas! Dall-E

FunnyLaughterJokesFamilyComicRelief

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (29)

  • Stephanie Downard12 months ago

    Haha 😂Good stuff! I loved all the jokes and your descriptions of the different laughs! Great job!

  • Valentina Kwarteng12 months ago

    Super fun jokes!Thanks for the laughs. Made a lot of difference in my day :)

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    I've never heard laughter analyzed this way and I love it! Also the jokes were super fun. I remember slinging those back and forth in school. Well done and congrats on the top story!

  • This was great thanks for the laughs and smiles and yo mama so old she had dinosaurs 🦕 for pets

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    This was absolutely delightful, Lamar! 🤗❤️ I learned a lot about laughs - my favorite new concept, I think, is "Cachinnation" 😅 excellent job and congrats on a well deserved Top Story!! 🤗❤️

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉🎈 I read it twice cause , it was in the magic box on Vocal +Assist Facebook group .

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    hahaha, I thought I had already commented on this! First off, I love your descriptions of different laughs and secondly, love the collection of Yo mama jokes. So glad this got Top Story, Lamar! Congrats! It was a hoot!

  • Seriously, this subject is no laughing matter. (Yep, I'm too old to die young, but it shouldn't be long now.) My favorite & of my own design (usually with me as the butt of the joke): Yo mama so moronic, when everyone else fell off the roof, she didn't. ("more-on-ic"--yep, stupid & cerebral at the same time!)

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    I love it! My favorite is the Jesus beep number one! LOL! 😂 great work Lamar!

  • Kamil12 months ago

    Congratulations

  • 😁😁Lmao, Yeah This Definitely qualifies as Top Story😉🎉🎉🎉💖Congratulations❗❗❗❗

  • Naveedkk 12 months ago

    Great work Congratulations on Top Story 🎉

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    This was awesome, Lamar. My siblings and I used to throw Yo Mama jokes around all day long. It usually ended with something like, "Yeah, well, she's Yo mama, too!" Thanks for the fun with those and thanks for the really informative lead in. Definitely a deserving Top Story!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Congratulations on the T.S. ‘Yo mama is so old, alarms went off when she stepped outside the museum,’ got a Cachinnation out of me. I learned something today with that term and laughed, thanks! I am clumsy myself. We have a saying if you fall in public and people laugh you’re not old. However, If people rush towards you concerned….I tripped on the curb at Home Depot last week. Did a pavement roll. Some people saw and just smiled at me. 🤣

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    🤣🤣 congrats, Lamar!! I really loved the laugh descriptions/info!

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Congrats on top story, Lamar!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Wonderful. Congrats on the TS

  • Fun and informative!!! I liked the Yo Mama joke about the stock market and the one about the drink is on the house.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, Lamar! I will be looking for Papa jokes next. 🙂

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    Congratulations Lamar!

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    Oh man! I'm still laughing at this. Great way to start my day. Well done and congrats on Top Story.

  • Test12 months ago

    Omg this made me laugh my ass off. “Yo mama so big that when she buys a fur coat, entire species go extinct.” Thought I heard em all haha. This was rad and fun to read 😁

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    LOL, I love this. I used to tell yo momma jokes back and forth with my brother. We have the same mom, different dads. We’d make up our own. I remember saying, “Yo momma so dumb she married your father” and my mom hearing it… and cracking up. My all time favorite: Yo momma so fat, she fell in love… and broke it.

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    'Yo' - L-Bud ~ You make Mama and me 'Belly' Laugh ~ - Lovely Compilation - J-Bud

  • Yo mama is so old, they didn’t teach history when she was in school. Hahahahahahahhaha I burst out laughing at this one! Not chuckle but more of a belly laugh! I loveeeeee dark humour. I mean, if a person falls in front of me or gets hurt in any way, I'd panic and run to help them. But if it's a meme, hahahahahahaha, I'd be cachinating. If that's a word hahaha.

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.