Humor logo

People Who Count Starting With Their Thumbs Are LYING!

When I count using my fingers, I start with my index finger. Because I am an Honest Counter.

By Stephen Kramer AvitabilePublished about a year ago 5 min read
People Who Count Starting With Their Thumbs Are LYING!
Photo by Alex Sheldon on Unsplash

When I count using my fingers, I start with my index finger. Because I am an Honest Counter. I’m not one of these flashy, starts-with-the-thumb-grabbing-your-attention type counters. I’m no liar!

Let’s start things off by saying, if you are not an Honest Counter, that’s alright. Just admit it. Don’t pretend that “Starting with my thumb is just easier.” No it’s not! It looks cooler! I’ll give you that. But it’s not easier. And what is counting essentially? It’s math! The most basic form of math, but nonetheless, math. And do people dedicate their lives to math… get jobs in the field of math… to be cool?

No!

Quite the opposite. People are into math because of an extreme aversion to “being cool” and have decided “being smart” is more important to them. Or more attainable. So, the true way to count, the honest way to count, is not the way that looks coolest. It’s the way in which you start with your index finger.

Index finger, middle finger, ring finger, pinky finger, thumb… thumb is five. Not one.

What’s the difference, Steve?! What do you have against Thumb Counters?

Oh, you mean Dishonest Counters? I don’t have anything against them. But what I will tell you is why they are wrong.

Whenever you see a Dishonest Counter count using their fingers, they usually only go to three. Or… if they go to five… they blow through four real fast. When listing the advantages of a job, or the reasons why they’re going to move to Seattle (a real cool location for those cool, hip Dishonest Counters, it’s full of them), or any list they are creating, they will never stop on four. And it’s because of that blasted ring finger. I don’t know if it has anything to do with the fight against commitment that is coded deep inside the DNA of human beings… but that finger that you place a ring on… it has a real tough time actually extending out in certain scenarios, doesn’t it?

I think it has something to do with the webbing in between your fingers (I’m not going to look it up, this isn’t an anatomy research piece, we are just throwing out guesses here) or the fact that the ring finger is desperately trying to avoid getting that metal collar wrapped around its neck.

Make a fist. Now, try to extend only your ring finger. It looks like you were in a horrible accident, doesn’t it? That ring finger doesn’t extend except for in pristine circumstances. It’s like your friend who won’t go on a hike with you unless it is under 82 degrees Fahrenheit and above 68 degrees. What a tight range of comfort you live in, Chad! Get hot. Get cold. Deal with it. Bring a jacket. Wear layers that you may discard. Welcome a bead of sweat to your skin!

Sheesh.

Anyway, now that we have established why your ring finger is your particular friend Chad, you can understand why that little fella ain’t comin’ out unless everything is perfect.

Go ahead, try to count to 5 on your hand, staring with your thumb. By the way, as you do it, you’re going to feel very cool and you will be tempted to go and call the captain of the football team from high school all those years ago and challenge him to arm wrestle. Don’t do it! You don’t have cool points, you just feel like you do. As you count, starting on your thumb, it will be impossible to not shake your hand as you do it… as if the flinging about of your fist incurs the fingers to come out of their locked position and stand at attention representing a number on your oh-so-important list.

Thumb, one. Index, two. Middle, three.

Go ahead, try to get to point number four. Aw, look at the cute little guy. He doesn’t like the temperature out here? It’s too cold for him? He wants to stay inside all day with the space heater on underneath his quilt watching Frasier reruns?

That is why Dishonest Counters only give you three points, or if they have to give you four, they have to give you five… and they skip four really quick. Because Chad the Ring Finger doesn’t want to come out to play. Once the pinky finger comes out, the ring finger will join him. He is also that friend that won’t come hang out with you and your group unless the one other guy is there.

“Who's all going to be hanging out?”

“Dammit Chad, do you need Josh to be there? Are the rest of us just not good enough for you?”

Now count starting on your index finger. Yeah, the ring finger just stands at full attention on three, doesn’t he? Now, you don’t feel obliged to do some cool fist shaking as you count your numbers. Admittedly, it’s bland as milquetoast. It’s more bland than milquetoast because at least milquetoast is spelled with a Q and a barrage of silent letters afterwards, looking like the name of some ancient castle in France.

“He died protecting the Camambert from the hungry and ill-mannered foreign army here at Castle Milquetoast. Now, grab your glasses of Chateau Laffitte (loads of silent letters) and follow me into the next room where you will see where the first beret was paired with a white and black horizontally striped shirt.”

Okay… that metaphor got away from me. Where was I?

Oh yeah, bland, milquetoastier than milquetoast counting. Starting with the index. But that’s the way it’s supposed to be done! It’s counting! It’s math! It’s not supposed to be cool!

So, next time someone counts starting with their thumb, and they tell you “it’s easier” or “it makes more sense” you tell them they are a Dishonest Counter. Honest Counting starts on the index finger! It lacks flair but it gets the job done! And we Honest Counters can count out a list to four and make it there with ease!

How about you Dishonest Counters? Can you do that? No!

So, there is only one way! Starting with the index finger.

Then again, I suppose you could start with the pinky…

But who the hell does that?

Needing-To-Be-Different Counters. That’s who. Oh, don’t even get me started on them!

**************

If you enjoyed this story and want to read more of my work, then please come check out my website where I post all my latest work, plus you can even subscribe for updates!

HilariousGeneralFunnyComedyWriting

About the Creator

Stephen Kramer Avitabile

I'm a creative writer in the way that I write. I hold the pen in this unique and creative way you've never seen. The content which I write... well, it's still to be determined if that's any good.

https://www.stephenavitabilewriting.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Jazzy 12 months ago

    Now to shake things up, I will start with my pinky finger. You're right about Seattle having a bunch of dishonest counters, the whole lot of them, starting with their thumb.

  • Did you. Just call me. A. Dishonest Counter? 🤣🤣🤣🤣 Dude, I never even knew we could start with our index finger. I mean I didn't know that was a thing. I thought starting with the thumb was universal! And it's not cool! I feel starting with index finger is cooler! I mean why would something cliché be cool? Anyway, I enjoyed this, lol!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I start with my thumb 🤣

  • Never been hot, never been cool, I've always been a nerd. (And yes, math was my favorite subject.) According to my cello teacher from forty years past, the lack of independence between pinky & ring finger is because the muscles to these two fingers cross. For me, index then with middle finger joining were always one & two. But for three I always liked to switch to the middle through pinky, as it's easier to pin the index down with the thumb than reaching all the way across to the pinky. (Yeah, I was never any good at the finger independence exercises my teacher assigned to me.) Thumb, though, doesn't come out until five. Marvelous, stupendous, fantastic rant!

  • S.R.Babout a year ago

    Ha! This had me laughing and questioning how I count, but If I'm being honest I'm someone who starts with their thumb. The question this left me with is if you're counting over five which finger do you start with on your other hand?

  • ARCabout a year ago

    😂 Stephen, this cracked me up. 😂 Your voice is so audible through your words and structure. This is really well-written, and a profound insight! I never thought of it this way but you're right that stopping on 4 as a DC would be quite uncomfortable. Also, your bit about the hand-shaking-as-you-DC was SPOT ON. You're so right! It's impossible not to shake your hand! Fascinating. Thanks for this fun deep dive into the minutest minutia of human weirdness this morning. Can't think of a better way to start the day.

  • Real Poeticabout a year ago

    Yes! The thumb is definitely five!!!

Stephen Kramer AvitabileWritten by Stephen Kramer Avitabile

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.