Poets logo

Open Hands

A poem on tolerance

By Michelle LiewPublished 4 days ago ā€¢ Updated 4 days ago ā€¢ 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Open Hands
Photo by Jeremy Yap on Unsplash

Today started as being one of those days when everything that can go wrong just goes wrong, with my dog's harness breaking and a lack of response to kindness.

I don't know about you, but I find tolerance quite a tall order. Whether it's a person's habits, or a queue at the supermarket that's too long, forbearance can be difficult to muster.

I find forbearance of difficulties the hardest to build. They lower one's stress level, take us out of our comfort zones, and cause us to face negative experiences.

Perhaps with a little self-cuddle, flexibility and realization that it is all right to let go of what we have no control over, we can open our hands.

Enjoy this sonnet.

Open hands with a little hug

Makes storms easy to bear

Open hands with kind self-snug

Give grouses time to air

The hands open when they bend

Fingers give a twist

With a flex at fingers end

And a flick of wrist

Open hands and let fly

Bird that needs be free

Let it soar into the sky

Or simply let it be

Hug Life's tree with open hands

Water roots that sprout in sand.

inspirationalSonnet

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Joe Pattersonabout 22 hours ago

    Congratulations on top story.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! šŸŽ‰šŸ’–šŸŽŠšŸŽ‰šŸ’–šŸŽŠ

  • CHRISTIAN Pa day ago

    All to the top. Nice work šŸ‘ Michelle

  • My impatience would never let me have tolerance, lol. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 days ago

    Lovely! I will remember to open my hands when I am tense or annoyed and perhaps it will ease the tension. Fists increase tension and annoyance, yes?

Michelle LiewWritten by Michelle Liew

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.