Humor logo

Balut and Avocado

Not For Me

By Mariann CarrollPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
35
Balut Challenge On YouTube (@ghiesapron)

Balut make me gag just thinking about it. What is Balut you asked ?????It’s a Filipino street food , you might call it a delicacy, lol. Who here eat fish eggs, Caviar? I don’t eat Caviar, either.

Let me describe what a Balut is: It’s an egg, when you crack open it’s full body of a baby chick, sometimes they have a little fur on it, yuk, gross!!!. Even if you closed your eyes to eat it, the crunchy of the bone being crush by your teeth is enough for me . Watching someone eat is no fun show for me, get me out of there.

This is a true horror show for me. The funny thing about Balut, people sell it by foot long time ago from 6pm to the middle of the night cause that’s when men stay out and drink with their neighbors in the Philippines. Drank men spend money more when they are drunk.

They place these eggs in a sturdy basket covered in a blanket to keep the eggs warm to eat. The person walk from street to street with this basket on top of their heads. They shout out “Balut!!!!” as they walk.

The people who were drinking would stop the street walking Balut vendor, and buy about few of them. Believe it or not Balut can make you strong. Filipino men my be small but very strong . It’s not healthy to eat to much of it either. To much consumption of Balut can also be a health hazard.

I got Challenge to eat it once, I told them, I will only eat the yolk part of it, which is very hard already cause it’s cooked by boiling the egg.

Fun fact: Balut egg is incubated for 17 days before it can be boiled for consumption.

Advocado , I cannot eat it, cause I don’t like the taste and it look like poop to me, lol.I tried advocado smoothie, I still did not like it. It give me a headache. I don’t like, salad dressing with advocado oil, even if you tell me it’s healthy. I tried but it’s just not for me. My taste bud is very delicate, you can say that .

No Advocado for me just like the story book, No green eggs and green ham. You can hide the Advocado in the food and I will know it has it in it. The taste of Advocado just puts me off. No guacamole for me dip. Lol 😝 I see people used it on sandwiches like mayonnaise. No no no no.

They say Advocado is go for lowering Cholesterol. If it’s necessary for my health, I just taste a little. This is my Yucky food Challenge story inspired by Paul and Donna , Thank you !!!!😝

Paul Stewart, I agree with you on your Yucky food Challenge story , Almond Milk- The Taste of Death.

Thank you, Donna Renee for starting this Yucky 🤢 Challenge .It is very contagious . Congratulations on making Top Story 🥂😱😎🎈🍾😂🎉🎉🎉💕

My dear friend Tiffany Gordon, made Top Story for this Yucky food Challenge. Thank you 🎈🎉🎊Congratulations and Happy Birthday, Girl.I don’t think your Barbie babies like spicy food either .

I will say there are a lot of people who got Top Story for getting on the band wagon Yucky food Challenge , Congratulations Kristen Balyeat🎉🎉🎉🎉. Paul Stewart had a rebuttal for this Cottage Cheese Yucky story 🤢.

I have to add some honorable mentions as well to this Yucky Food Challenge and if you are not on this list and you made a Yucky food Challenge let me know and I will definitely add your name to the growing list 🥰😍🎉🎊🥂Cheers

Thank you, Chloe Gilholy for putting the Yucky Menu together with reasonable price :

Misty Rae , Mike Singleton Mikey-dred, J.S. Wade, Cathy holmes, Novel Allen , Chloe Gilholy, Lamar Wiggins and Thavien Yliaster.

Roast
35

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Gal Mux10 months ago

    Just by the picture only I knew I cannot stand this Balut thing damn! Where does it stop.... But Avocado 🥑 is yummy haha. I just had one yesterday 😆

  • Teresa Renton10 months ago

    Congratulations on top story! I love avocados but, especially as a vegan, I find the idea of balut 🤢

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    I missed this one! That egg thing is disgusting Mariann. I watched the video above! I was watching Million Dollar Island (Australian version) this week and the contestants had to eat these eggs. 🥚 Now I know what they are! Yuck! I too do not like Avocado (I don’t hate it) but I avoid it and I don’t like the texture at all! 🥑 Congrats on your top story and leaderboard recognition! I’m really excited for you! 😁☺️👏

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Congrats on honorable mention!!!! 😀😌

  • Alex H Mittelman 10 months ago

    Congrats on honorable mention!!!! 😀😌

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh man, I know this is considered a delicious by those who enjoy it, but I simply would not be able to 😅 I've actually heard of this before - it's always been hard for me to understand. Of course, I'm sure there are people from other cultures who view certain things I like, like pickles, disgusting 😅 I enjoyed reading this - great job, Mariann!

  • It’s not a crime to find food Yucky and this is a Prompt Challenge for Yucky food . 💕 I have taste them and No one can force me to like food that make me gag. There are people who think it has to do with culture it does not cause Balut is part of my mother side culture as well. I don’t eat things with fur on them . 🤢It will just make me puck. No no no.

  • Gin Cosco10 months ago

    Marrian.. It’s my first time to scan articles/ stories on this platform and your title really gave me a bit of an excitement and curiosity; wondering how you would present your point on this topic. Obviously, I am a Filipino! Not really good in writing but was brought up with good manners and right conduct. Sorry, but I felt offended!!.. not because you don’t love the taste of BALUT, who cares about your taste buds anyway? I felt really bad when I saw the letters “LOL” on a your sentence, where you presented BALUT as one of OUR street food. I don’t get your point and I haven’t found the etiology yet on how the neuronal pathways of your brain functions; which part of the idea really made you LAUGH OUT LOUD? If I write an article about Caviar as my favorite food, “will it also make you LOL?” Haha funny line right? Is it basic to read our article before publishing? I guess Legit Writers would agree? Because in WRITING, there are certain things to consider: Dear Marrian, your VALUES in terms of ETHICS/ MORAL PRINCIPLES and most importantly your CREDIBILITY! The manner of writing is based not only upon the avoidance of fraudulence and plagiarism, but also avoiding the weaknesses of bias and exclusive language (sexist, racist, homophobic, etc.) Do you know that BALUT has 10 health benefits? One of which is its High protein content: Balut is an excellent source of protein that helps build and repair muscles.It is also Rich in vitamins: Balut contains essential vitamins such as vitamins A, B12, an E that help boost the immune system. (May only elevate Blood Pressure but is not BAD for the health) Citation: May 28, 2023 by Maria Risa Masa AGRARYO.com What’s more Horrifying than this reaction? Not even “Ginamos” (our fermented fish) have you tried it? Pardon me if I may have overreacted.. I am your new subscriber anyway. Best of Luck..

  • whatzzupp world10 months ago

    As a Pilipino I love balut its so delicious

  • Karina Thyra10 months ago

    The people on the comments section who have never tried Balut are SO missing out. It's simple food, but an extraordinary gastronomical experience. When I was little, I never remembered my parents making me try Balut, but I do remember loving it. Every inch of it, I would eat. And I eat a lot. I couldn't do that now since I live in abroad, but I would LOVE to taste it again. I'd agree with you if it was a texture issue, but I'm going to have to respectfully disagree with the Balut slander. Did you eat it with vinegar, perhaps? It is better by itself or with some salt. Slurp the soup. Eat the yolk with the chick, do the white last or chuck it in the bin.

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    I have never heard of this food. I don't think I would ever eat it after reading this story. Congrats on the TS

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I have to admit to having never heard of Balut before reading your article. I consider myself quite knowledgeable about disgusting food too, so thank you for the education. While I agree with you about Balut, I can't about Avocado and I love guacamole and bacon with avocado sandwiches. Congrats though on a funny and disgusting Top Story! Thank you for taking part in the fun and wackiness of our silly little challenge!

  • I'm a foodie, but I've never heard of Balut before. And I will definitely pass on that. I'm looking for preserved duck eggs that don't use a lye solution. I love avocado. Best in salads and sushi for me. And I was truly impressed by avocado mousse/pudding the first time I tried it in Colorado (chocolate pudding made with avocado). Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    I love avocado, but I agree with you on the balut! Congrats on top story!

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Congrats on top story, Mariann!! 💞

  • Great take on the challenge and congratulations on your Top story, another food to avoid 😁

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Congrats on your top story. And remind me to never try balut…Ever!!! Love avocado though!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Ugh, Mariann, why did I watch the video? And right before videos went down too. That’s disgusting haha. Congrats on a Top Story we can all agree with! 🥂

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    While I have never seen or had any personal experiences with balut, your descriptive words were enough!!! It would make me gag like raw fish. Fuzzy eggs, yuk!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Thavien Yliaster10 months ago

    Huh, lowkey I feel like this should've been an article put in the feast community tab instead of humor. Reason being that it's much too informative for my taste. Still, I do remember watching an episode where Gordan Ramsay tried Balut. Lowkey, now I wonder what balut would taste like on avocado toast. A boiled duck chick Makes Mariann sick She hates the egg soup Just like she hates green goop No luck No duck Or avocado toast Disgusted by these foods Her article's in roast

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    I love avocado! But I would never eat balut ewww Great story! Congratulations on top story ❤️

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Balut?! I had never heard of it. Now, if anyone ever offers me Balut, I know to escape fast before I lose what I just ate. 😥 Congratulations on Top Story, Mariann! 👏

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    OK, this one I agree with, except I love avocados. I'll eat a lot of things, but I draw the line at balut. Congratulations on your Top Story, Mariann!

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Yayyyy!!! Top Story ❤️😁❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.