Poets logo

Onions are Bullies and Mushroom are Covert Assassins

Blame Paul and Donna for this, okay?

By Cathy holmesPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
36
photo by Anna Maiwald on Unsplash

Why would I eat a veggie, that at first meet makes me cry?

An herbaceous bulb whose rancid odor smells like something died.

Why do you hurt me, nasty creature? Tears run down my face.

Are you just here to make me weak and put me in my place?

Your texture a strange combo of crunchy cuddling slime,

Who parented you, horrendous beast? I shall sue them for their crime.

I can’t walk in the kitchen. The pungent acid burns my eyes.

Just go away, you stinky beast, so I don’t have to hide.

*

I see you’ve brought your buddy, the infamous mushroom.

I feel his cringy eyes upon me from far across the room.

“Come over for a visit. Your heart, I’m sure I’ll win,”

Says the shit-grown vermin calling me with his evil little grin.

“Maybe I will get you high, perhaps I just might kill ya,

But what the heck! Just slice me up and toss me on your pizza.

If you survive your gruesome meal and still, you walk among us.

Don’t be so smug in your victory dance, for you just ate a fungus.”

*

I grab a slice of onion, and pop it in my mouth.

Followed by the fungus shroom, that sneaky little lout.

Oh no, what have I eaten? This can’t be right. I scream.

And suddenly am jolted from that nightmare of a dream.

As hubby lays beside me, his breath a deathly green,

I know that he’s the cause of my quite horrifying dream.

I shout his name and shake him, till he jumps to his feet.

“Get up, it’s time to go to work, and for Christ’s sake, brush your teeth!”

*****************

This little slice of madness stems from a prompt from Paul Steward and Donna Renee to write a piece about least favourite foods. I have included a link to the latest entry by Dana Crandell. His poem contains links to both Donna's and Paul's.

humor
36

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Onion also make you fart, lol . Another humorous poem, well done 😘☺️

  • Clever and funny

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Cathy, you are hilarious! An excellent poem that I'll read many times.

  • Hahaha omg this line: Says the shit-grown vermin calling me with his evil little grin.

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    LOL! As an onion lover, I feel a little attacked 🤣 But I get it! I hate chopping them soooo much, they are little bitches! 🤣 And I do eat mushroom but yeah they are kind funky 😅 This was fun, my friend!

  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    Haha!!! So good! Laughed all the way through! 😂

  • Test10 months ago

    Hahahahaha, oh my god, Cathy! You never cease to make me laugh. You not only go the extra mile, you run three victory laps! Bravo, you hilarious woman! Even though I love both mushrooms and onion, I love a good roasting more, and this one is second to none.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    😂 If I had to pick between the two to stay in my life it would definitely be onions even if they make me cry. Good one Cathy! Loved the dream twist.

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Mushroom what is it anyway. Onion is a demon sent to cause us pain, but delicious when used right.

  • Woman, at this point, I think you hate every vegetable 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Brussel sprouts and now onions and mushrooms. Lol! Loved your poem!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Oh, the things we eat. Or don't. Good work, hilarious, and very strikingly worded.

  • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

    This was great. My mum hates mushrooms too.

  • LOL This is brilliant! Well done, Cathy!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    LMAO. You crack me up! I won’t tell you my opinion of mushrooms. I don’t want to be judged. 🤐

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Lol. Loved the end.

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    funny made me chuckle

  • Clyde E. Dawkins10 months ago

    LOL what a very humorous poem! Four stars as always!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Fun & Phenomenal! 😁

  • Ha, 😂Lmao I said to myself “Why do I always Race to Read the Ratchet Humor, That You Write “📝 ❤️😉💯Thanks for keeping everyone laughing 🤣 Its always something interesting❗

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Laughing Out Loud!!! Loving your humorous poem!!!♥️♥️💕

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Eat dirt ! 😂

  • Wonderfully funny. Did he add garlic to the mix?

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Oh, this is cracking me up! I love both of these ingredients but you’ve got a point! 🤣

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    The shit-grown vermin 🤣🤣🤣🤣. I loved the way this ended and the explanation for the dream hahaha!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    omg! This is brilliant. I mean, I disagree entirely, as they are two of my favourite ingredients, but the way you let loose on onions and mushrooms was brilliant! One of my favourite writers blasting two of my favourite ingredients - today is a great day!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.