Humor logo

I hate turkey meat

Ugh! (For Donna Renee/Paul Stuart food hate challenge)

By Novel AllenPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
17
I hate turkey meat
Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

This cooked turkey may look mouthwatering and delicious, bet you can't wait to dig in.

Randy Fath - Unsplash

But let's be real. How pretty is the real live thing. The lovely feathers are very eye catching. Really, really, let's be real.

What is that thing hanging from the neck. This is one ugly mother-hush-your-mouth bird. No wonder they cut off its head before cooking it, no one can bear to look at it. Turkey.....Ptui.

So that is where the 'turkey neck' allusion to us humans comes from, thanks a lot turkey.

Couple of Christmas' ago, the Jamaican family wanted to try turkey meat. It was all the rage, and it looked so good on TV. It's just like chicken and it tastes like chicken too. They said. Dirty liars!

I remember how lovely the table on TV looked, decorated all around the turkey and cranberry sauce. I still don't know what to do with the cranberry sauce. I like the juice though, the one sweetened with natural fruit juice, cranberry is wicked sour.

I bought my turkey and all the fussings and dressings. I prepared it, stuffed it, coddled and fussed over it. Skewered and basted the ugly looking dead yellowish skinned thing and made it beautiful to look at. I read all the steps on the internet, preheated the oven and shoved my beautifully decorated turkey in.

I had eaten turkey sandwiches, and sliced turkey that other people had cooked. Again, they said it was just like chicken. To me it tasted bland, had to add a lot of ranch dressing and pepper.

I set the table, someone made ham, salad and we had some kind of macaroni by the in-laws, (you know what I mean, blah) among other dishes.

Five hours later, the bird came out of the oven all brown and attractive on the outside. I breathed a sigh of relief.

Everyone gathered at the table, gave thanks and prepared to eat.

In went the carving knife. The smell was horrible. The tough old good for nothing turkey had sat in the oven forever and came out as raw and smelly as a dead uncooked donkey.

"Why didn't she make the stuffing separate". One malicious relative whispered.

"She never made it before, why wouldn't she let us help"?

"She was just too proud to ask for advice". Another replied, pleasing spite-filled venom dripping from every word.

That ugly, tough, proud looking, malevolent, vindictive, strutting, ugly, dried out stinking turkey made a fool out of me. Apparently I had shoved way too much stuffing inside the stupid bird, so there was no way the heat would have circulated enough to cook the inside of the thing, Or some story like that.

They still proceeded to carve away and hope for the best. Maybe it wasn't as bad as it seemed. It was worse.

What is the story of stuffing anyway. What is that all about.

History of stuffing

It is not known when stuffings were first used. The earliest documentary evidence is the Roman cookbook, Apicius De Re Coquinaria, which contains recipes for stuffed chicken, dormouse, hare, and pig. Most of the stuffings described consist of vegetables, herbs and spices, nuts, and spelt (a cereal), and frequently contain chopped liver, brains, and other organ meat.

Does anyone see a turkey mentioned here? Ok, so maybe the Romans didn't have turkey back in the day.

Not a single soul touched the ugly mean old turkey. I think it deliberately decided not to become cooked just so that it could spite me. Since deep down it knew that I hated its guts...pun intended.

I dreamed that night that the turkey seasoned, stuffed and baked me. The whole turkey family had a wonderful feast.

All the turkey had a real good laugh, saying as how I just can't cook as good as them.

If I ever get my hands on their goobery ugly little necks.

But wait. I am dead. Damn it to Hell!

The turkey won. I hate that blasted ugly turkey meat.

IronyFunnyFamily
17

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Letlhogile Mokgatlhe10 months ago

    Great job on writing such an engaging and humorous story! I thoroughly enjoyed reading "I hate turkey meat." Your storytelling skills are excellent, and you definitely have a knack for adding humor to your writing. Keep up the fantastic work, and I can't wait to read more of your stories in the future!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I have to agree, there has only been a few times in my life when I have tasted anything remotely flavoursome turkey-ish. Chicken, duck and all other birds and fowl are much better IMHO. This was great, loved how you went off on it and loved the story-style to it all. Also...your dream about the turkey family cooking and eating you made me crack up! Thank you for taking part in the fun, Novel!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Oh, I feel you on this! I think turkeys are pretty. We have quite a few wild turkeys that roam Minneapolis. But they have NO flavor. Give me chicken, duck, Cornish hen. Fuck turkey! I’m sorry, but people who think they make the best, most tender turkey are delusional. No matter how perfectly you roast and baste it, it’s gonna be like chewing juicy cardboard. How dare that putrid poultry haunt your dreams. I don’t like stuffing either. Waste of cornbread. I don’t like any Thanksgiving food, actually. Except homemade cranberry sauce, which is on another level than that gelatinous canned stuff.

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Ms. N ~ You are always the Hostess-with-the Mostest for we Villagers ~ And, although I'm a strict Veg-e-TarianI I always seem to Gobble-U-Up - J-Bud

  • Hahahahahahahaha! You sure know how to make me laugh! So hilarious! I've never had turkey before though.

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Such an entertaining piece! Sorry 2 hear of your turkey debacle!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I always love you , FYI history insert in your story. The great thing about eating Turkey , it’s like a natural sleeping pill💓

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    👏Yes the turkey definitely did it out of spite Novlet! I mean obviously! 😂 I hardly ever eat turkey but I don’t mind it at all. ☺️

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Love this!!! Absolutely hilarious and loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    😂 LOL as I write this!!! Novel, this is hysterical. I laughed from the beginning to the end. I saw my beloved "Ptui" again, and the Roman cookbook was a clever inclusion. I hope you are gathering your stories, antidotes, essays, etc. for that book 📖!!! 😊 Thanks for the laughs before bed!!! 💜👏💜

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Hilarious!!! 🤣🤣. Oh my gosh what a story and what a disaster, that damn turkey! So glad you wrote this!! 👏👏 I’ll add the link to it on mine!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    I really hate turkey meat. It is the most insipid of fowl...something funny and off about it. Thanksgiving dinners traumatized my childhood. Great piece!

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Haha. Not to mention they will put you to sleep faster than a Vulcan pinch from Spock.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.