Poets logo

I'll Eat Almost Anything That's Food

But I Won't Eat THAT! (For Paul & Donna's Food Challenge)

By Misty RaePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
17
I'll Eat Almost Anything That's Food
Photo by HOTCHICKSING on Unsplash

I love to eat, almost anything goes,

Mushrooms and beets,

Peppers and sweets,

I'll even eat almost all kinds of meats,

But the one food that makes me turn up my nose,

Are horribly, horribly, icky mangoes!

***

Stringy and strange, impossible to peel,

I can't even tell you how sick I now feel,

If I wanted to have a taste of perfume,

I could go drink a bottle,

The thought makes me fume.

********

Give me an orange, an apple, or some peas,

Carrots, turnips, even some greens

Bacon or eggs, how 'bout some beans?

Heck, I'll even eat a can of sardines!

But please, if you want to set me at ease,

For the love of god, no mangoes, please!

This was a fun little poem in a sort of Dr. Seuss style for Paul and Donna's Icky Food Challenge.

humor
17

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Fahad Raza4 months ago

    Um Yong Beak Singapore is a Korean restaurant located in Telok Ayer, Singapore. This restaurant is famous for its pork soup and roast pork. https://umyongbaek.org/

  • Aleena Gichie10 months ago

    Than you Misty, great poem 👋 I'm new here, can you give any helpful information?

  • Hahahahahhaaha it's hilarious to see all the things that people would do rather than eat what they hate 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Wonderful poem, Misty, although I can't agree! I'm so glad you joined in!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I do not agree with you, but love your poem. So witty and clever! Thank you for taking part and blessing us all with this hilarious piece!

  • I do not like green eggs & ham. I will not eat them, Sam I Am. Delightful. I like the juice. I've never dealt with them as raw fruit.

  • Holly Pheni10 months ago

    So cute and funny!

  • Funny!!! Funny!!! Funny!!! But I love mangoes. They are so good. Great job I really enjoyed it.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Loving this!!! Cause I am allergic to mangos, love your last line.♥️♥️💕

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Ms. Misty ~ You had me at the Mangos ~ - As I Squelch my Munchies you surely have my Vote - Jay

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I love that yours is such a fun poem. Mangos are hit or miss for me. If they are the perfect amount of ripe, they are juicy and flavorful. Not ripe enough, they’re like trying to eat a watermelon rind. Too ripe, yeah they do have a weird perfume taste, like you said. But always they leave a dryness in my mouth.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Loved it! The rhythm and the flow work really well.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Talking about food is so much fun , Reading a poem about food people don’t like is a total trip to read , lol 😂😂😂

  • Mohammed Darasi10 months ago

    You know, I didn't think I would find anyone else who didn't like mangos besides my sister. Mangos are one of my favourite fruit! But I can't get why someone might not like them (maybe not the taste, but the texture).. those strings can get annoying when they between the teeth 😂

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    No not mangos!!!!!! Oh well more for me!!!!🥰 I loved your poem!

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Mangoes are like almost rotten fruit! Bury it in a smoothie it’s tolerable, but otherwise it reminds me of the fallen apples rotting in the ground in my grandmothers back yard. Flys love it. 🤣. That’s why I call it Fly Food.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    🤣🤣🤣. I LOVE mango in smoothies or juices but I can definitely see how it could be hated!! Every time I buy one I feel enraged at what a pain they are to dissect!! This was hilarious and I loved the rhymes! Adding the link to the pillar post! 😁

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Haha. That was great, and def resembled a Dr. Seuss piece. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.