Poets logo

I Would Eat Anything For Sure But I Won't Eat That

Some Awful Lancashire Foods For Paul And Donna

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago β€’ Updated 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
12
Tripe

Mike Harding mentions Tripe, Cow Heel Pie and Peas in "Rochdale Cowboy"

In Lancashire where I come from there are some awful foods such as:

πŸŒ­πŸŒ―πŸ—πŸ¨πŸ½οΈπŸ₯˜πŸ₯™πŸ¦πŸ₯πŸ§€

As A Child I Told The Market Man

That My Mother Had Just Served Me Worms

It Was Tinned Spaghetti From A Can

That Awful Food Made My Stomach Turn

🍽️

But There Are Some Foods So Horrible

That I Could Not Ever Countenance

In Lancashire They're Palatable

But Tripe Is Just One That Disgusts Me

🍽️

Could I Try Pig's Trotter? No Way Man

Or Maybe A Sheep's Head? Disgusting

Black Pudding Congealed Blood, Not A Fan

Then Just As Bad, We Have White Pudding

🍽️

These Are Some Things I Will Never Eat

Even If You Gave Them Me For Free

πŸŒ­πŸŒ―πŸ—πŸ¨πŸ½οΈπŸ₯˜πŸ₯™πŸ¦πŸ₯πŸ§€

This was written in response to a writing prompt by Paul Stewart and Donna Renee: Write a poem, letter, story, etc. about a food or beverage you strongly dislike.

My mum loved black pudding, but it turns my stomach.

However, this particular delicacy is gorgeous.

I also love honeydew melons but the seeds are disgusting.

performance poetry
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Ugh! Even the name tripe doesn’t sit well with me. Good to see you join in, Mike. And they can keep the blood sausage too. I’m sure Dracula wouldn’t mind it though, lol.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Yeah, I can so relate to this poem! In France, we eat lamb and veal brains. My mother often used to buy those when I was a kid. Even though it is said to be healthful food, it's absolutely disgusting.

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    Woah. I can smell those photos. I will put those in the "no thank you" column as well. Thank you for sharing these interesting dishes and fun poem to go with it!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    YOU WIN! I will eat damn near anything, but not these. Yuck. I liked your poem too. I didn’t know canned spaghetti existed, but that sounds horrid! Butter pie… Hmm… I’m intrigued. Off to read that story.

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Totally agree with you on that πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • Lol, what if someone paid you to eat it? Would you?

  • Deasun T. Smyth10 months ago

    Tripe... maybe, pig trotter NO! And I'll have to be pretty hungry before eat smalahove, and black pudding. That being said, I do come from a culture were my people eat 'Jellied Moose Nose', which is a delicacy (because we don't want to waste all of the moose).

  • I tend to think most are with you on these (though I guess I'd eat least try them).

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Ooooh my goodness there are some really great-to-hate ones in here!!! So glad you joined in! I’ll add your link to the pillar post 😁😁

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Tripe is one of the most foul things I have tried, and I'm pretty adventurous. I love liver though. Very amusing!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is great, Mike. My pop used to love blood pudding. Yuck. I didn't mind the white one was I was younger. Not sure I could eat it now, though.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh yay! I couldn't agree with you more! Used to hate when we stayed in Leeds at the market when we passed the Tripe stall. I've never tried Pig's Trotter's, and tried black pudding as a child...even before I knew what it was, I was a bit put off by it. Well done on a great entry for our ridiculous challenge and for highlighting some truly awful Brit food haha! Loved this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.