Poets logo

A Thousand Words Of Love

When You Love Someone They Are Always On Your Mind. For The Vocal Short And Sweet Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago β€’ Updated 7 months ago β€’ 6 min read
Top Story - July 2023
57
An AI Nightcafe Image By The Author

Introduction

Although the Vocal Challenge is called "Short And Sweet" the only shortness that is referred to is the fact that words should not be more than four letters long and I said your poem could be an epic. Now I cannot rewrite the Iliad or the Odyssey but I can write a thousand words about someone who is special to me.

The format of this is none standard but will have a consistent form and will rhyme where it should. It is basically a series of quatrains followed by a short emphatic phrase.

This is a veritable sea of words, every vers could stand alone. There are swirls and eddies and whirlpools that will steal you away, but throughout the all is a thread of love. According to the Vocal editor, there are just over a thousand words in the poem but that may be different in other editors. I think I have kept to words of four characters or less but let me know if I have strayed.

The song is "Fields Of Gold" by Gordon Sumner (Sting) he's a Geordie by birth and I was sort of adopted and have been here for thirty years. This is a beautiful song loved by me and the one that this poem is for.

Thank You to Scott Wade, Babs Iverson and Cathy Holmes for spotting a plethora of five-letter words in my original poem, now corrected.

The Prompt

Write a love poem using only words with four letters or less.

Read More Here

A Thousand Words Of Love

πŸŒœπŸ‘©β€β€οΈβ€πŸ‘¨ πŸ’• πŸ’˜ πŸ’œ πŸ’˜ πŸ’• πŸ‘©β€β€οΈβ€πŸ‘¨πŸŒ›

This Is Just For Me To Tell You

How I Feel When You Are With Me

You Make Me Love You More It's True

Ever More With You I Will be

Yes I Love You

πŸ’œ

We Are On A Road, You And Me

Hand In Hand, So Much We Can Do

Now Do You See What I Can See?

I Love To See Your Eyes Of Blue

I Do Love You

πŸ’œ

Let Us Sail On A Deep Blue Sea

You And I Will Find A New Land

Like The Love That You Had In Myth

As Our Boat Came Up On The Sand

Yes I Love You

πŸ’œ

And No Grey Sky Will Come To Us

Yes Our Sky Will Ever Be Blue

You Are The One, You Are My Plus

And Yes This I Say Is So True

So I Love You

πŸ’œ

Let's Walk, See The Moon In The Sky

To Take One More Word For My Poem

And Your Know We Will Not Ask Why

That We Are Now Here In The Sun

Thus I Love You

πŸ’œ

We Know The Ways To Show Our Love

Here We Are And Will Be Ever

The Sand, The Sea, The Sky And So

We Are Here, And You Are So Fair

And I Love You

πŸ’œ

Look At The Sky, Ever So Blue

I Hold Your Hand, We Take A Walk

I Know You Love Me, I Love You

Then We Rest, And Sit Down And Talk

And I Love You

πŸ’œ

See The Bird In The Sky Of Blue

Yes I Know That You Love His Song

Make Us So Calm That Is So True

We Love Him To Sing, In The Sun

And I Love You

πŸ’œ

I Love It When You Come With Me

In Our Boat And We Sail Away

On And Over The Deep Blue Sea

With You For A Year And A Day

And I Love You

πŸ’œ

In The Land Of Fae We May Be

I Will Be King, You My Lara

My Lady Of The Deep Blue Sea

We Will Save Our Pure Love Aura

I Will Love You

πŸ’œ

Let Us Take A Walk In The Park

Walk In The Sun And The Blue Sky

Talk Of How We Have Come This Far

Know I Love You, I Won't Ask Why

Yes I Love You

πŸ’œ

My Time With You Goes Far Too Fast

Each Hour I Wish Can Last A Year

But Yes I Know Our Love Will Last

I Am For You, You Know My Dear

I Do Love You

πŸ’œ

To Feel Love Is To Feel So Good

To Know You Have Love In Your Life

You Can Do Each One For Your Mood

You Know You Will Do It, So Try

Yes I Love You

πŸ’œ

We Will Sail On Our Sea Of Love

Sea So Calm, Sky Of Blue, With You

I Love All This Time That We Have

It Is So Good It Is So True

Thus I Love You

πŸ’œ

I Love It When You Hold My Hand

And When You Look Into My Eyes

To Walk With You Is So Nice And

Then To Wait And Give You A Kiss

So I Love You

πŸ’œ

We Make Each Hour Seem Like A Day

So Much True Love For Me And You

We Look And See The Tree Does Sway

The Wind Does Blow But We Are True

I Do Love You

πŸ’œ

This Is The Way That I Tell You

Just The Way That I Ever Feel

You Make Me Act Like I Am New

When You Are Here It's Love I See

I Do Love You

πŸ’œ

To Walk A Long Path Hand In Hand

To Talk And Tell A Tale And More

In Rain And Sun, We Walk And Run

Find A Tree As The Rain Does Pour

So I Love You

πŸ’œ

I Know You Say I Talk Too Much

But You Just Make It So Easy

Just Want to Say It's You I Love

But You Know That, I Know You See

And I Love You

πŸ’œ

We Can Make Our Very Own Myth

A Tale That Will Last For Eons

Of Gods And Fae, Star Luna Mist

How Far Can We Go, Let Us See

I Will Love You

πŸ’œ

When We Did Meet So Long Ago

I Did Not See Us Being Here

But I'm So Glad That You I Know

And That You Are Now Here With Me

I Do Love You

πŸ’œ

You Gave Me Hope When I Had None

And For That, I Give You My Love

All That Bad Time For Me Is Gone

You Gave Me My "Get Up And Go"

Thus I Love You

πŸ’œ

We May Be Gods, Odin And SΓ½r

To Make Our Myth And Tell Our Tale

Over The Grey Sea Fast And Free

Let The Wind Blow And Fill Our Sail

I Will Love You

πŸ’œ

Each Word I Say Is Just For You

You Are The One Who Made Me See

That I May Do This, That Is True

Then You Made My Word Flow So Free

And I Love You

πŸ’œ

This Is What You Have Done For Me

Many A Word Came From My Pen

To Show To All So They Can See

My Work From The Love That You Send

I Do Love You

πŸ’œ

So Much Time That You Gave To Me

To Help Me Make A Poem Like This

And When I Stop You Make Me See

That I Can Sure Make My Word Hit

And I Love You

πŸ’œ

Love To Hear You, Love To See You

Love To Hold You, Be In Your Arms

I Love To Know Our Love Is True

And With You My Life Is So Calm

I Do Love You

πŸ’œ

So Here I'll Stay, The Word Will Pour

You Ever Do Put Me At Ease

And You Know I Just Say More

But For Now I Will Say To Thee

Yes I Love You

πŸ’œ

πŸŒœπŸ‘©β€β€οΈβ€πŸ‘¨ πŸ’• πŸ’˜ πŸ’œ πŸ’˜ πŸ’• πŸ‘©β€β€οΈβ€πŸ‘¨πŸŒ›

love poems
57

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (38)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    But you're a Boomer, Mike, aren't you? Wouldn't this be more appropriate for a millennial? I suppose you could shout it out at the top of your voice. (Sorry, couldn't resist, had to go there. Part of my OCD, I suppose.) This may well be my favorite of those I've read so far from your pillar post. Editorial Notes: In the fourth line of the stanza beginning, "We Are On A Road, You And Me" did you intend "Se" or "See"? In the fourth line of the stanza beginning, "In The Land Of Fae We May Be" you have "share" which is five letters. (Possible solutions: "meet" or "bear", either would fit, though "share" carries both the possibilities of sharing with one another [closer in my mind to "meet"] &/or the two of you sharing it together with others [closer in my mind to "bear"].)

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer9 months ago

    Lovely piece Mike well done

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    Congrats on top story!❀️

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    This is so beautiful

  • Kat Thorne9 months ago

    Aww Mike, that was beautiful!

  • Elaine Sihera10 months ago

    A lovely post which is most endearing. Congrats on getting top spot too! :)

  • Call Me Les10 months ago

    It's perfect πŸ’› Girl with the Sun and the Moon will always be my favourite for obvious reasons but this is truly spectacular. I hope it wins!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Congratulations on top story Mike, it deserves it! Had to come to check it out again. Beautiful poem!

  • Cozy10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/earth/sustainable-living-df400ybl

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    This is EPIC! Wowzers. Your soul has openly spilled here Mike. Love it!

  • CDTreasure10 months ago

    Beautiful and well done.

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    These are some lovely thoughts, Mike! Congratulations on the top story. Well deserved! πŸ˜πŸ‘πŸ˜Š

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    This is epic, Mike!

  • Healthy Lifestyle10 months ago

    Beautiful and Impressive poem Mike. πŸ₯°

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    So lovely Mike ❀️ ❀️❀️ One of my favorite Sting songs too. Congratulations on your top story too.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Mike, after a long tiring day, I returned to enjoy your lovely poem and listen to Sting again. This is beautiful. πŸ’œ

  • Now that was Beautifully writtenβ€οΈπŸ˜‰πŸ’―πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰CONGRATULATIONSπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Jason Ray Morton 10 months ago

    Beautifully done Mike. ❀️❀️❀️

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Very well done Mike. A thousand words 4 letters or less, Wow!! Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Well done, Mike. A beautiful poem crafted brilliantly under the constraints. Nice to see you break out of the form box, too, although I'm never disappointed in the way you employ any of the ones you choose. "Fields of Gold" is one of my favorites, and easy to play, which is a bonus! Great job on this and congratulations!

  • The Dani Writer10 months ago

    A long, short ode to love and lovers. I have a feeling you enjoyed writing this 😁 Congratulations on another Top Story Mike!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story, Mike! πŸ₯‚ I’m so glad to see one of your poems here. A beautiful poem at that. It’s so tricky to make sure they’re all words of 4 letters or less and still convey feelings.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    I loved your verse like, song prose!! Beauty and grace in your lovely poem my brotherπŸŒŸπŸ’• congrats on your amazing top story

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Congratulations Mike in this great poem! πŸ₯‡πŸ₯‡πŸ₯‡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.