Poets logo

I’d Rather Eat Dirt Than Beets

Paul and Donna Yucky Food Challenge

By J. S. WadePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
22

Red, bloody beets have ruined all my plate

I’d rather eat dirt from Washington State

Where did they come from? Why are they here?

Did alíen’s leave them for torture and fear?

Did Zombies take dumps, sometime last year?

👽💩

A perfect food ? Right! Some fib and act cool.

I’m not swallowing this, I’m not a fool.

You stab them they bleed, That means they’re alive,

I want to know who, this conspiracy contrived.

🩸🩸

My white rice turned red, my biscuit is stained. They stink to high heaven, I’m going insane.

You want them? Have at them. But before you ask why.

Eat all you want, cause I’d rather die.

🪦

I know who you are, it’s dyed on your mouth.

It’s the fastest food to find it’s way south.

If eat them you must, know I’m a hater.

You zombie egg eaters and alien invaders.

🧟‍♀️🥚🧟‍♂️ 👽🥚👽

Robby and Bobby.com

This is for the Paul and Donna yucky food challenge.

humor
22

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat10 months ago

    I read this and totally forgot to comment! I died laughing, and strongly share your sentiments! 😂 my grandma used to make us eat canned beets. 🤢 Such a good one, Scott!

  • Lol, easy there! 🤣 I won't say like a like beets but I don't hate them either. But I prefer it cooked than raw hahaha. Loved your poem!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh my! Scott - this is fabulous and while I love pickled beetroot...you make a stunning case for hating on beets! Also...beets kinda remind me of Dwight Shrute too! Great job and thank you for taking part in the madness that Donna and I created!

  • I do not like beets, I would not eat them on a plate, I would not eat them in a salad, no I would not eat beets!

  • But they're sugar--& good for you! They're like healthy candy. And I once drove a classmate from the lunch table just by having them on my plate. (I ate the spinach first, relishing every bite.)

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Zombie dump! Lol, that’s hilarious 😂

  • Antoinette L Brey10 months ago

    That was funny, exactly how I feel I hate beets, both the taste and the preparation of them. I used to have a job were I had to peel of the skin. My skin was dyed .yuk

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Ha ha!!! Aliens will always be associated with beets!!! Loved it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Misty Rae10 months ago

    This was great. i love beets....lots of iron in that dirt.

  • But dirt Scott... it's so gritty and grimy!!! I do like beets in a salad!!!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    I have to agree!! 🤣 I've never gotten into beets! And they make a mess! 😅 Fun read!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    LOL I feel personally attacked. 🤣 *covers red stained mouth*

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Great poetry, I love the added comic strip 😂

  • Well done, Scott! I am all in with you on this one. My hatred runs deep. When I was 5 or 6, my grandmother carefully dished up some Thanksgiving dinner for me, then she slapped some nasty pickled beets on my plate. Purple mashed potatoes. Purple stuffing. Purple turkey. Purple dinner roll. Yuck! 🤮 I feigned an upset tummy to avoid eating my beet-spoiled dinner, but I was so hungry!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Man, everyone's tearin' down the good stuff. And now the zombies are angry. 🤣 This was really well done, Scott!

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Lol this was fabulous. Loving the rhyme scheme, and I agree. Beats are yucky

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    😂… now that’s some extreme hate going on over there. It’s okay, I would never say the”B” word in front of you. The carton at the end was perfect. 😂

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is great. I actually like beets. I must be an alien. Lol

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    Oh nooooo!! It finally happened! One of my fav foods is being destroyed 🤣🤣. I’m still laughing though over the zombie dump comparison hahahah that was an epic takedown of my beloved beets! - adding this to the list! 🤣

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    I get you hate beets That you hate them, i trust For me: it's cilantro That I'd grind into the dust.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.