Humans logo

The worker and dirty water

it is a short story about sad truth on humankind attitude

By night time storiesPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
a sad true story

That morning, I had a very important meeting in the conference hall of our company. I put on my best suit and left the house. I was walking to the street to go to the taxi stand. It was a mild spring weather, the sidewalk was crowded and people were moving. A van was parked on the side of the street and a worker was emptying the cargo in the loading area. The water fountain on the side of the street was full and filled with water almost to the edges of the fountain. The water collected in the reservoir was not clean at all. The worker would empty the furniture in the yard of a house in front of his parking place and return again to take another item with him. When he was turning to go to the truck, I was passing by him. It was obvious that he was very tired and he was not wearing proper clothes.

A few steps away from him, we heard a sound. I turned my head, I don't know how, I just saw that the poor worker fell into that dirty water. I don't know what happened, I ran towards him at full speed out of instinct. I put my knee on the edge of the table by the street and extended my hand towards him so that he would take my hand and come out.

The worker told me: No, you will get dirty. He put his hands on both sides of the water fountain and pulled himself up. I was looking at it. As soon as he came out, he sat down and looked at me. He gave me one of the most beautiful smiles I have ever seen.

He thanked me very sincerely, it was from the bottom of his heart. I said that I did not do anything. He told me: I often have accidents while working. But no one ever even looks at me lest I ask them for help. I don't know, they are afraid to touch me and get dirty. Or maybe they are afraid that I will steal something from their pockets. But this time, when I was really dirty, you immediately reached out to help me with your elegant clothes. You did not consider me lower than you and you extended your hand to me. Thank you for making my day today. Although I should be very angry now that my whole body is dirty. But I am happy because of you.

I am happy that there are still people who do not consider themselves superior to others because of their physical differences. At the same time, the owner of the cargo came out from the yard with a water hose and turned to the worker and said, come and wash yourself. Don't worry, I will bring you a clean dress. It happened, don't worry.

I had not done anything, I had only paid attention to one person and I had not passed by him indifferently. I did not have any expenses. My time was not taken, my clothes were not dirty, and no money was lost. But the man got better. I felt better when I saw that I was able to make someone happy very simply. It was clear from the eyes of the passers-by and those watching around us. They were also happy to see this scene and the words of the hardworking man.

It costs nothing to do good. When we can make others and ourselves happy. why not?

I always remember this lesson after the incident of the old man in the wheelchair.

by Mehdi Saeidi

humanitypop culturelovehow tofriendshipadvice

About the Creator

night time stories

I spent most of my life through writing. But mainly I wrote for others. For companies. Many of my stories were published on the Internet without my name.

I am published most of my work on https://www.patreon.com/Nighttimestories

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    night time storiesWritten by night time stories

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.