Humans logo

One Sided Love

This is for her ...

By OSKPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

My heart is aching, longing for your touch,

But you don't even notice me, it's too much.

I dream of you, day and night,

But you don't feel the same, try as I might.

I know that you are out of my league,

But my heart doesn't understand this fatigue.

I long for your touch, your embrace,

But you don't feel the same, I must embrace this fate.

My heart beats fast when I see your face,

But you don't even know I exist in this place.

I watch you from afar, admiring every move you make,

But my love for you, I dare not take.

I see you with your friends, laughing and carefree,

But I am too shy to even say "hi", can't you see?

I wish that you could see me, the way I see you,

But it's one-sided, a love that cannot break through.

I write you letters, but they remain unsent,

For fear of rejection, my heart is spent.

I pour my heart out on paper, hoping you'll read,

But it's all in vain, my love, you do not need.

I try to move on, to forget about you,

But every time I try, I feel so blue.

My heart refuses to let go, it's too attached,

To this one-sided love that can never be matched.

I know that I'm just a dreamer, a fool in love,

But I cannot help but yearn for you from above.

My heart longs for your love, your tender touch,

But it's all in vain, I can't ask for too much.

I see you with someone else, my heart aches,

But I pretend it's okay, I smile and fake.

I know that you're happy, and that's all that matters,

Even if my heart is shattered into pieces that scatter.

The pain of unrequited love, it's unbearable,

A wound that refuses to heal, it's incorrigible.

I see you in my mind, every single day,

But in your heart, I know I can't stay.

I'll keep on loving you, from a distance,

Even if it's one-sided, it's my persistence.

For loving you brings me joy, even if it hurts,

And in my heart, you'll always have a berth.

So here I am, alone and in love,

With no chance of reciprocation from above.

But I'll hold on to hope, as long as I can,

For one day, you might see me as your man.

But until that day comes, I'll keep on dreaming,

Of a love that's true and everlasting.

And even if it's just a one-sided love,

It's a love that's pure and worth dreaming of.

Sometimes I wonder, if you ever think of me,

If you ever wonder, what we could be.

But then reality sets in, and I know the truth,

That I'm just a stranger, lost in your youth.

I've seen you with other guys, and it hurts to see,

That I'll never be the one, you'll love me for me.

But even so, I can't help but hope and pray,

That one day, you'll notice me in a different way.

Maybe it's just wishful thinking, maybe I'm naive,

But my heart can't help but dream, and still believe.

That someday, somehow, our paths will align,

And you'll see me, not just as a friend, but as a valentine.

I know that I may never have the courage to tell you,

How much I care, how much I adore you.

But even if I keep my feelings inside,

I'll still love you, even if it's just one sided.

Maybe it's foolish, maybe it's insane,

To love someone who can't feel the same.

But I can't

humanitysinglemarriageloveliteraturefamilydatingbreakupsart
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.