Poets logo

I Hate When People Ask About You

A poem about familial grief

By Darby S. FisherPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
28
I Hate When People Ask About You
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

I hate when people ask about you

As if your pain is mine to share.

You’re tougher than I’ll ever be,

But the heartache is yours to bare.

.

I want to defend you

From strangers’ prying.

You lost your fireplace,

So, I feel fine for lying.

.

“Alright,” I tell them.

Truth stays in my head.

Your world doesn’t glow like it used to;

Loneliness chills your bed.

.

I have no repair

For such a broken heart.

Your life’s fallen apart,

That’s what you told me.

.

And I can see why. I simply agree.

So, I lean on your shoulder,

Feeling older, lending my warmth,

Until the sun comes out again.

.

Family
28

About the Creator

Darby S. Fisher

Young and tired writer of all sorts of things.

Adventure fantasy: Skeletons: Book One

Horror fantasy: Lonely Forest

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani8 days ago

    Amazing poem - congrats on top story!

  • Anna 8 days ago

    Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Excellent Top Story! Despite this poem referring to a grieving loved one, it also holds true for ill health. My husband has had chronic ill health for over three decades and I don’t mind people asking after him, but I often get it wrong because his health status changes so frequently that I can’t keep up with it 🥺… much safer and more accurate to ask him directly.

  • Beautiful poem and incredibly honest. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Gloria Penelope9 days ago

    Very nice and relatable. Congratulations on top story.

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Brin J.9 days ago

    This is so relatable. I always feel like this is an unfair question. It feels like I'm overstepping by disclosing someone else's well-being.

  • Gorgeous piece

  • Hannah Moore9 days ago

    This is so good, so real.

  • The Dani Writer9 days ago

    Emotion-reeking and artfully written to immediately connect to the reader. Well done!

  • G. A. Botero9 days ago

    So sad but beautiful.

  • angela hepworth9 days ago

    This was heartbreaking and devastating. You illustrate pain so well here, it’s so poignant and powerful.

  • Christy Munson10 days ago

    The narrator's sadness slips through. The loss of family is devastating, and personal, and I can relate to the discomfort the narrator feels! Congratulations on Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.