Poets logo

Psychomachia

Heather Hubler's Unscrambled Challenge Poppy's Prompts #4 Poppy's Prompts #5

By Dharrsheena Raja SegarranPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
82
Photo by Anna Shvets on Pexels https://www.pexels.com/photo/person-in-red-long-sleeve-top-holding-black-plastic-bag-with-water-inside-3683218/

"Fragile. Handle With Care."

You dropped my heart

Cognizant it was made of glass

I watched it descend in slow motion

A careless mishap? A sabotage, mayhap?

You put the blame on the wind

And thrived in that chasmic cosy chaos

~~~~~

I wish I knew then, what I know now

I failed to notice that a neon sign

Above my head blinked "disposable"

It overshadowed my warning label

~~~~~

If I weren't so myopic

If I was just a tad psychic

If I had followed the maps of my gut

If I knew where your trail of paint would lead to

I'd have stopped you long before

~~~~~

You were aphasic in dialect

Nothing more than an empty envelope

Or a cassette with its tape pulled out

You felt so macho, like a champ

But you're a psycho and a chimp

~~~~~

I'm feeling so conflicted

Should I beg you not to leave?

Or leave it to the cosmic energies?

You don't believe in karma but you will

When it shoves strawberries up your ass

Watching you erode would be my bliss

Screenshot from www.dictionary.com
https://www.dictionary.com/browse/psychomachia

Author's Notes:

This poem was inspired by and written for:

1. Heather Hubler's Unscrambled Challenge

The word I chose was "Psychomachia" and the words that were unscrambled from it are in Bold.

2. Poppy's Prompts #4

The words to be used were Sabotage, Strawberry, Disposable, Cassette and Glass.

3. Poppy's Prompts #5

The words to be used were Paint, Erode, Envelope, Descend and Wind.


__________________________________________
Thank you so much for reading this! 🥰 If you liked my writing, please leave a comment, click the heart and subscribe for free!

You might enjoy this as well:

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetryMental Healthlove poemslistinspirationalhumorheartbreakFriendshipFree VerseFor Funfact or fictionexcerpts
82

About the Creator

Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

My mental health decline brought about a lot of darkness and I embraced it. It now flows out mostly as Dark Stories and Poetry.

❤️ Erythrophile ❤️
✨️Glitteringly Savage✨️
🖤 Elegantly Disturbed Mind 🖤

Instagram 🤍 Facebook 🤍 Threads

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (70)

Sign in to comment
  • Ovijit paula day ago

    Congrats on Top Story..

  • Isabella Rosea day ago

    Congrats on the top story, My Morbid Friend. "I failed to notice that a neon sign Above my head blinked "disposable" I am just highlighting the above line because that feeling hurts like nothing else can.

  • Outstanding 😭

  • Grz Colm3 days ago

    Who you calling psycho and a chimp!? 😅 Ouch! This was creative and fun but also you’ve provided insight into someone’s inner workings. Congrats D! ☺️🥳

  • Absolutely 🤗 Brilliance at it's Best!!! You go Girlfriend!! Can't wait to read some more!!😘

  • Poppy 4 days ago

    You’re so talented. I love that you combined three challenges. “Nothing more than an empty envelope Or a cassette with its tape pulled out” I LOVE those lines especially. And that last line was awesome too. You have such an iconic writer’s voice and style and I admire it a lot!

  • Top Story for your top effort… incorporating 3 challenges!!🤗👏 I looked up the definition of Psychomachia… only to find that you’d provided it at the end! So efficient and talented! The whole package✅

  • No surprise that this wonderful piece was Top Story and also 1st place for Most Discussed. Your talent never disappoints. The level of creativity and masterfully weaving in multiple prompts is very inspiring!

  • Donna Renee5 days ago

    Damnnnnnn. You crushed this one (well, multiple ones haha!)!!!🤯❤️🥰

  • Rubesh6 days ago

    This poem resonates deeply with me. The imagery of a fragile heart dropping, the hindsight of missed signs, and the conflict of whether to beg or let cosmic energies intervene—it's all so raw and real. And that final line! Watching you erode would be my bliss—a powerful mix of resignation and vindication. Truly captivating.❤️💫

  • angela hepworth6 days ago

    You absolutely killed these prompts Dharrsheena! Congrats on an amazing TS!

  • "A careless mishap? A sabotage, mayhap?" This line made me smile in such a heavy poem! I love everything you've ever written, Dharr and this is no different! And that line in the last verse, "Should I beg you not to leave" really hit me hard. Oh crap... it was... deep hit me where I live and all that :) too many times I've asked myself that question, and devastatingly been the subject of it. Oof and ouch lol, wasn't expecting this so early in the week! Congrats on a superbly delivered story Dharr! So happy to see it on the front page where it belongs

  • Congrats on your TS and impressive work on getting all of those Challenge details mixed in there!

  • Anna 7 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • ROCK 7 days ago

    Excellent! Congrats on Top Story!

  • … and congrats on the TS

  • Masterful execution Dharrsheena and not a word wasted. A true delight to read.

  • Shirley Belk7 days ago

    I loved this from the beginning down to the best part...the last. I will hand you the strawberries...don't stop at one! Genius using all those different prompts, too!

  • Gina C.8 days ago

    "Psychomachia"...what a word! I will definitely be adding that to my collection! This poem was so powerful - you put these words together so masterfully in a way that brought such meaning. "Watching you erode would be my bliss" is a line I'll be thinking about for a long time. 🥹

  • Lamar Wiggins9 days ago

    Wow! A lot of thought went into this in order to cover so many bases. And thanks for introducing me to a new word. Congrats, Dharr!

  • John Cox9 days ago

    This is wonderful, Dharrsheena! It’s a great reminder of human complexity. Sometimes we are our own worst enemies. But it’s still reprehensible when others take advantage of our fragility even after we have warned them. Congratulations on top story! Richly deserved! 🥰🥰🥰🥰

  • Chipo Kate9 days ago

    I loved it you are a great poet

  • Belle10 days ago

    And congrats on top story!!!

  • Belle10 days ago

    Beautiful! I fell in love with this while reading it, but grew even more in love with it when I realized how you interlaced so many challenges/prompts to make it! Truly stunning, Dharr 🥰 (if that's the correct nickname, please correct me otherwise!)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.