Humans logo

Lost

Friendship, depression and broken

By Silva MarkPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Lost
Photo by Christopher Ott on Unsplash

It's a typical Wednesday morning when I wake up to the sound of my alarm buzzing. I groggily open my eyes and reach for my phone to turn off the alarm. As I scroll through my notifications, I see a message from my best friend, Ashia. It reads: "Hey, I have something important to tell you. Can we talk later?"

Immediately I felt a twinge of anxiety in my stomach, what could Ashia possibly want to talk to me about I asked myself! Though our relationship has been a bit distant lately

I try to shake off the feeling as I get ready for college, but my mind kept going back and forth to the message from Ashia, I can't seem to focus on anything else, and I had to spend the whole day at school in a state of nervous anticipation.

Finally, school was over, and I rushed over to her house to talk to her because I couldn't get over my anxiety, as soon as she opened the door I blurt out, "What's going on? You said you had something important to tell me” She took a deep breath before responding, "I don't know how to say this, but I think we should stop being friends." I felt like I have been punched in the gut, I can't believe what am hearing, "What? Why?" I manage to say,

"I just feel like we've grown apart," Emily says. "We're in different places in our lives, and I don't think our friendship is healthy for either of us anymore."

My mind started racing, I can't imagine my life without Ashia, we have been friends since we were little kids, and we have been through everything together, how could my own best friend just throw it all away like this without considering how this will affect me?

I walked home feeling a sense of emptiness that I have never felt before, I tried to distract myself by watching Netflix on my phone, but I can't focus on anything, I keep replaying the conversation with Aisha over and over in my head, trying to make sense of it, days turn into weeks, and I find myself slipping into a deep depression I can't seem to shake off the feeling of loss and betrayal, I isolated myself from everyone, even my other friends, I just want to be left alone.

One day, as I was scrolling through social media, I see a post from an old acquaintance, Modeste, Modeste is someone I haven't spoken to in years, but we were friends in high school. He's posted about a charity event he's organizing for a cause he cares deeply about.

At first, I was hesitant to reach out to Modeste I haven't talked to him in so long, and am not sure if he even wants to talk to me but something in me kept telling me to take a chance so I decided to send him a message, expressing my interest in the event and asking if there's anything I can do to help, to my surprise, Modeste responds almost immediately he tells me that he would love me to help and that he misses me ever since we finished from high school.

Over the next few weeks, I threw myself into organizing the event with Modeste we work tirelessly together, and I found out that am starting to feel like myself again, and am making a difference in the world and it feels good.

As the event approaches, I start to feel nervous, I haven't been around this many people in months, and I am not sure if am ready for it, but when I arrived at the event and see all the people there, I felt a sense of purpose that I haven't felt in a long time, I felt alive.

book reviewslovehumanityfriendshipbreakups
1

About the Creator

Silva Mark

I write about feelings, moods, and reality.

So be expecting more ❤️

Please subscribe 🙂

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.