Humans logo

I Won't Watch Black and White Films, Films With Subtitles or Read Books

A Dip Into Seven Days In For How I Feel Am Still Regarded

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published about a year ago 3 min read
NightCafe Image Generated By Author

Introduction.

Another Seven Days In article that is getting a lot of reads, which is just an observation on how in life if you do not go with the flow you are pushed out of groups, just for doing things differently or liking things that are out of the mainstream.

This is a four-year-old article but the situation has always existed and always will do. I don't know if there is an answer to this, because if people just don't want to give something a try, you are only going to antagonize them if you push them into it.

It doesn't stop me from trying to persuade people but If I can't tempt them then I will just let it go.

So these were my thoughts four years back and nothing has really changed for me. I still go outside the mainstream looking for new things, I still often stray from the defined path to do the things that I do, but I am still here so I am either doing things right, or I just haven't been caught yet.

The Original Article

Obviously not me, but over the years I continually hear this from people, and variations on the same. Anything out of the blinkered area that they see means you (that's me) are a total weirdo.

  • You don't like "Top Gear"? You're weird.
  • You like classical music? You must be retarded.
  • You don't watch X-Factor or Britain's Got Talent? You have no taste in music.
  • You watch Asian language films? You're strange.
  • You listen to German and French bands who sing in German and French? You are mad.

I've had all these reactions from people, and maybe it's why people seldom speak with me, but that's their loss. The fact they are cutting out of their life the films:

....and more

and then the music of:

..... and more

And the fact that people refuse to read for the flimsiest of reasons, missing out on the joy of hooking up your own imagination as someone's words take you on a journey that no film could ever do, I list the music I listen to and the books I read on here. I have finished "There Is No Map In Hell" which I bought just for the title and I discovered what it is like to run 214 Wainwright Peaks in seven days. which you can read about on Steve Birkinshaw's blog here, You might not be able to judge a book by the cover but it was the title that hooked me and though I have zero interest in Fell Running it did hook me.

So I should include a song that is not sung in English, so I'll go with Los Lobos take on Richie Valens' "La Bamba" from the soundtrack of the eponymous film

Conclusion

I always take delight in discovering and enjoying new things, new friends and new experiences. There is always something that you haven't seen or experienced over your horizons and it is always good to chase those things down.

I have shared a lot of films I love and music that I like. These are not always easy listens or watches but they are all, in my opinion, well worth the effort.

I have managed to include some of the music that I love, and I know that will shape some people's opinions of me, but this is only a tiny pinprick on the surface of me and my close friends know that there is alot more to me than just this.

Some you may like, and some you may not but it is good to try them

vintagepop culturehumanityhow tofriendshipfeaturefact or fictionartadvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Lol, should have known that was clickbait! I'm totally with you on this one. I love exploring new stuff especially movies! I don't mind the subtitles at all.

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    I enjoyed reading this very much. It brought back some precious memories of watching La Bamba with my pre-teen sons sometime in the early 1990s. I enjoyed the Los Lobos version of La Bamba that you chose to share. The story of Valens and Buddy Holly is so tragic and heartbreaking, but it is one that needed to be told and preserved for future generations. Thanks for sharing!

  • Phil Flanneryabout a year ago

    If you're weird, then I am too. We have a TV channel called World Movies, which as the name suggests, shows world movies, all countries, all languages, lots of subtitles. We watch it a lot.

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    "Young Frankenstein" is hilarious! My German friend sends me German metal songs..some I appreciate, some I don't. "There Is No Map in Hell" sounds good. (I'll suggest "Swimming to Anarctica." from a while back,) We're all just weirdos!!!

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Haha, I read the title and thought you seriously won’t do those things. I thought, “Wow Mike, your life sucks.”🤣 You’ve shared a lot here I will have to explore.

  • I am weird, retarded, have zero taste in music, and I am clearly strange and mad! lol There are many great films, in color, in black and white, silents and talkies, foreign and in English, and it would be a shame to miss out on entire segments of those. Thanks for sharing this, Mike! I love your lists.

  • It is a good thing & I have always appreciated your sampling of music with which I am often unfamiliar & movies I have not yet added to my collection.

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Mike, a good little list of films! Haven’t heard of most of the music this time though.. although I did love the movie (and song) La Bamba as a kid. Variety is the spice of life so I would not be able to live without my foreign films and the classics. I also love movie soundtracks (often just the instrumental ones). I don’t know anyone who talks about film scores and these are conversations I’d love to have. The point is you are definitely not weird. 😀 I’m currently coming towards the end of war and peace (took me almost six months) but I’m reading it slowly. Listening to the audio book of King’s “Different Seasons” - love it, and a few other books on the side. 😁 I know people are busy alright, but u need to make time to read to expand your brain. 🧠 🤣

  • Randi O'Malley Smithabout a year ago

    So true! I haven’t watched a black and white movie in a while, but I read every day.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Interesting read. I have not watch black and white film lately, growing up I did. Wonderful Life is definitely a Christmas Classic

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.