Humans logo

A Little Vocal Reciprocal Challenge

Let's Make Some Friends

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Some Creators We're Loving

Introduction

This is just an idea I had for maybe bringing Vocal Creators closer together. I did produce this piece to add favourite creators to your profile a while back and while it got good feedback I've only seen a handful of people implement it, though I personally found it good for discovering new creators. If my friends like a creator, then the chances are I will also like their work.

One of those Creators We're Loving is the reason that I am still writing on Vocal and have managed to produce over seventeen hundred pieces, and if you know me you know who that is. There is a story I wrote about it that I will tag in the conclusion of this piece.

So How Do We Do This?

I saw the creator Donny Foley on Vocal's "Creators We Love" but did not know his work and was not subscribed to him so I dipped into his profile and found this story.

I read it and enjoyed it and left this comment on it. Comments are always good on Vocal and Facebook posts because they show that your reader is engaging with you, usually in a positive way.

I also subscribed so hopefully Donny will see that, though it may be wiped by other notifications, but if he reads this he will know.

Hopefully. Donny will read something of mine and join the Vocal Social Society, but obviously. if you take part you will want to promote your own preferred group, whether it be on Facebook or elsewhere.

Nice work. I am including you as the first piece in a little Vocal challenge I am publishing because you appeared on Vocal's "Creators We're Loving". Also, if you are on Facebook please join us in Vocal Social Society and share your work there as well

You can choose one or more creators and make them feel that they are being read and appreciated as you invite them into your Vocal fold. Obviously, some people will want to stay alone and plough their own furrow, but many will be delighted at the thought that they are being noticed by other creators.

Creators We're Loving In Art

Creators We're Loving is randomly generated and sometimes there are a few oddities in there, and in this one from Art. I chose this from Roderick Makim.

I left a comment like I did with Donny and hope that Roderick enjoys that.

In both the examples I have chosen I was the first person to comment but that is not essential, but if you comment you will be showing a fellow creator that they are being noticed.

What Next?

Although I have shared these stories here, I will now share them on Facebook as well as in the Vocal Social Society on the thread that I start with this story.

Feel free to add the stories and creators that you find in the comments on this Challenge story and on Facebook.

We are all here to help each other succeed and maybe this will help us all succeed a little more.

The rewards from this challenge may be finding new friends and building your and their audience.

So check out those Vocal Creators We Love and engage and share their stories with us.

Conclusion

I hope that people will read and engage with this and bring others into each other's Vocal families. I know it is not a normal challenge because it does not involve you writing anything, but just engaging with new Vocal Creators.

I think "Join Together" by The Who is an appropriate soundtrack for this piece.

This is the story that I referred to in the initial paragraph, that I promised to share with you.

pop culturelisthumanityhow tofriendshipfeaturefamilyartadvice

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock8 months ago

    Two creators I thoroughly enjoy but don't get frequently noticed are Meredith Harmon (a whale of a lot of fun, uplifting, humorous, Twain-esque writing among other things) & Tom Baker (for those who like to walk on the darker side of life). I've lifted them up before, but it never hurts to do so again. Thanks for suggesting this, Mike.

  • I very rarely scroll all the way down to see the Creators We're Loving but I should start doing that!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    I do this at least once a week

  • Natasja Rose8 months ago

    I'm distracted by novel deadlines and a full-time job, so I'm not as active on Vocal as I used to be. I appreciate your efforts to keep everyone connected.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    Interesting. I am going to consider this one...and I actually have a piece on the Who in my drafts... Nice work! 👌

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    You are such a good person, Mike, in helping people feel appreciated here.

  • Test8 months ago

    An interesting article, I quite often read 'Creators We Love' randomly- that's what I am here for to read inside and outside of my usual styles. I get the addign creators to your profile concept but for me it had the opposite affect of your intention (which are interesting to read about). This isn't meant negatively towards anyone, just an observation and my pesonal feeling towards it, When I first started a few months ago, I saw the names on people's profile and it made me think that Vocal was just a clique where people just read and liked each others stuff. I nearly quit but then concluded that it didn't really matter, it just mattered that I was taking the step to thowing my scrawlings out there, whatever the reaction. So, for this reason I won't add my favourites on my profile -but I understand now the sentiment behind it. 🤍

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.