Humans logo

A Letter To America (For Heather)

For Heather's 'Write me a letter' Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 9 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
An AI Creation By The Author - A Letter Flying To America

Introduction

This is an answer to the challenge set by my good friend Heather which you can read about here.

As this is a letter to Heather who lives in the U.S.A. the Proclaimers "Letter To America" is an appropriate accompaniment.

I have bolded all the required letters to show that I used them.

A Letter to Heather

Dearest Heather

This is the first time that I have ever written to you. How we first met is now lost in the sands of time and my sieve-like mind.

What can I say to you?

I have been so privileged for the support, love, and encouragement that you have given me. You have been one of the people who have made me believe that I can do something worthwhile even though I often feel what I do is never enough, but that is just me.

I look at the words you say and as always take your opinion of me over my own.

I love sharing pictures of cats with you, I know you like them a lot. You don't get as many as my Muse but I love your reaction when I remember to share with you.

I know that you have been through challenging times but always come through them, and I know you know that I am always here for you as you are for me.

I see how much you do for others and love the ideas that you have for Vocal Creator's Challenges.

I do believe that all of us don't talk to each other enough, and I see that in non-Facebook and Vocal life as well. I know so many people who refuse to acknowledge the existence of their neighbours, while I know everyone for five houses on either side of mine and a few across the road.

I know this is just a lot of random observations, and think about you and me. One of my big surprises is that we have known each other for close to twelve months if not longer, I saw a comment of yours on one of my Vocal posts that said it was ten months ago.

I also need to thank you and Gina, with Caroline and Les for the amazing work that you do in the Vocal Social Society, I honestly don't know where we would be without you.

You are a wonderful poet and writer and well respected by your audience and Vocal as well, and that really takes true talent.

I do hope none of this embarrasses you because it is all true.

I thank you for all you share with me and love hearing about the good things in your life and if you need me I am there for any support that you need.

We have accomplished and been through so much since we met, and I am looking forward to that continuing for a long, long time.

As I write this I am listening to "Olias of Sunhillow" by Jon Anderson, which despite the over-the-top lyrics and story is one of the most beautiful albums in my possession both soundwise and visually.

You really have made me feel valued, and I know that your family must love you because your attitude is so positive and full of care, empathy, and love.

I also love that I never see anything negative from you that attacks and puts others down, and that is a huge positive tick in my opinion.

So where will we go from here (said he repeating himself)? I am just hoping for much more of the same thing as we move forward, getting better, and enjoying life with the ones we love.

Signing Off With Lots Of Love And The Letter "Q"

Mike

humanityfriendship

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is really lovely. And I had a little giggle at your signing off with the letter Q. Lol. Well done.

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Super sweet! I love it! 😊

  • Beautifully heartfelt. Well said.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This was lovely, Mike! I knew you would give such a warm and heartfelt take on the challenge! well done and all you've said is true about Heather!

  • Awww, this was such a lovely letter to Heather! You always say the most wonderful things!

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    Oh goodness!! This made me tear up. What an absolutely lovely thing to read from you this morning. You are a wonderful friend and champion to everyone you meet, and I've been so blessed to interact with you for the last year. Thank you for your sweet words :) and for giving my little challenge a go!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.