Humans logo

Numbers and Men In Skirts

A Seven Days In Selection From 2017

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
5
An AI Nightcafe Creation By The Author Using The Title Of This Piece

Introduction

This has been getting a lot of visits on Seven Days In (though visits are through the roof at the moment and if you want you can visit it here and wonder as much as me why it is getting so much attention.

It also caught my attention because of what I had written about the times tables, which seemed a bind at the time, but for me have become, still,very useful.

This post was from 2017, six years ago, so I am feeling fine today but was obviously a little under the weather at the time

Numbers and Men In Skirts

As a kid, I used to wonder why we had to learn our "times tables". Learning things parrot fashion, is not useful, especially when you are talking mathematics. Fast forward to "sometime later" and I find I don't have to look up, work out, or use a calculator to work out these simple multiplications, I just know them. And applying those concepts I'm pretty quick on working out the product of any pair of two-digit numbers, but up to twelve I just know them, so actually learning the "times tables" benefitted me.

I am learning quite a lot about mathematics and number from my latest book feast, "How Not to Be Wrong: The Hidden Maths of Everyday Life" by Jordan Ellenberg which is just going through the differences between large and small sampling operations which has thrown a lot of interesting concepts.

Tomorrow is the last day of the month so this week has been a rest from walking though I have still hit more than 7K each day so I am not being average, and from Tuesday I will attempt to do 340K steps in August and repeat that each month.

The last two days I have felt incredibly drained, and really not up to actually walking, and today I had the added extras of changing the bedding, mowing the lawn, and refilling the bird feeders. Added to that I think my phone is going through one of its phases of not recording steps (a couple of normally 1K walks clocked at 200 steps), but I still hit 9K today and am 70K over the million for the last quarter.

Yesterday I was totally drained but I got myself over to The Doll at The Black Bull to catch Women In Revolt (they are the ones in skirts) and you can see the video evidence above from a great night, but I was done by ten o'clock. I came home went to post the video online and managed to screw my computer by plugging in a USB cable. It then took an hour to do a restore, but all is good now and all seems to be working well.

I've just had a look at the demographics of my audience for youtube and only 20% are female, I am not sure why that should be, but you could say "C'est La Vie" as Chuck Berry once said, and we got the Pulp Fiction Twist scene featuring John Travolta and Uma Thurman for you to enjoy.

So the weekend is over and Monday is upon us, I hope to feel a lot more energised tomorrow, so I am going to get some sleep.

Conclusion

Thank you for reading. This is just a glimpse into my pre-Vocal writing when I was hoping to make a few pennies from writing. That never happened but things have changed under Vocal and now I get coffee money from them on a monthly basis, which is nice.

reviewpop culturehumanity
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Oh I'm so glad you were able to restore your computer. Please make sure to have enough rest if you feel drained

  • And "Pulp Fiction" is always good!

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.