Feast logo

The Greatest Baker — 2023

The online competition I participate in — and why!

By Hope MartinPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
3
An anniversary cake I made for my sis and bubba! ❤

I am not one to ask for money, or raise money. I am terrible at the people thing. I write — for a reason. But there is one time a year that I will be participating in a fund-raising vote contest and endure the agony of self-promotion willingly. Approximately this time of year.

The Greatest Baker is an online contest that is hosted once a year. Cake Boss Buddy Valastro. The point of this competition? To give $10,000 to a participant, and give them a chance to meet Buddy Valastro, meet famous food critics, and get aid in starting their bakeries.

Oh, and to benefit the ANDREW MCDONOUGH B+ FOUNDATION that provides support to people across the U.S.A. fighting against pediatric cancer.

There are a lot of people in my life that I love who are fighting cancer, or fought cancer. Some of them didn’t win the battle, and some of them did but with sacrifice. Cancer is cruel, and it doesn’t discriminate who it abuses.

In 2021, Malia came into the contest as a 14-year-old girl who was fighting against cancer. She won, and she was able to follow her dreams before she died earlier this year.

Image borrowed from the greatestbaker.com

So I proudly participate in this challenge, every year.

And I will continue to participate in this challenge every year I am allowed to. Not to mention, it gives me an excuse to make all kinds of delicious goodies during the cold months. ❤

Right now, votes on sale 2–for-1 — So even $1 would make a difference.

Not only will it keep me in the top 20 so I can continue to participate and raise money this year, but also your money would go to an amazing organization, with an amazing cause. Last year I made it to the semi-finals and I am hoping to make it just as far or further this year!

To anyone who donates to the B+ organization through this contest, I am extremely grateful.

To support me in my cause, you don't have to spend any money.

You can vote for me every 24 hours once for free. A free vote every day helps me stay in the competition for as long as possible. A free vote is the difference between being eliminated and unable to participate, or staying in for one more round!

I only ever ask for people to purchase votes when they are on sale, like today. I understand times are hard, so I try not to be persistent about it.

Votes will occasionally go on sale with a 2-for-1 deal. It happens at least once a round, so if you can't donate money today and you want to contribute, don't worry! You can purchase any time, and if you wait until sale days, your money will be more effective in keeping me in the competition too.

Andes Mint and Chocolate Cheesecake I made in the 2022 contest where I made it to the Semi-Finals

In all honesty, the expectation to win is little to none. I can't compete with some of these experienced bakers who have been working on their skills for years and years.

But I know two things: I make some yummy cakes, and I am willing to lose a competition if given the chance to use it as an opportunity to help others. As a mom, the thought of my babies getting sick is unbearable. I have cried myself to sleep and woke up crying from bad dreams of them getting sick or hurt.

So if I can raise even just a few dollars to help support other parents who are struggling with the worst nightmare a parent could live through, then I will have done my best to leave this world a better place.

Last year, the Greatest Baker Challenge raised enough money to help 21,000 families across the U.S.A. for the B+ foundation.

I am so proud to be a part of this community. And I hope you all will vote for me!

restaurantssocial mediapop cultureHolidayhistoryfeaturefact or fictiondiycuisine
3

About the Creator

Hope Martin

I am a published author of a book called Memoirs of the In-Between. I am doing a rewrite of it, as it needed some polishing. I am a mom, a cook, a homesteader, and a second-generation shaman.

Find me on Medium also!

@kaseyhopemartin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I clicked the link and the name there was Kasey Martin but it had the picture of your Mint and Chocolate Cheesecake so I knew I was at the right place. I've voted for you and it said this "Your free vote for Kasey Martin was received." ❤️

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Awesome way to help! Is there a direct link I could go to?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.