Feast logo

Fruit Based Smoothies And Kiwi Fruit

Some Things I Do For Fruit Preparation At Home

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 13 days ago Updated 12 days ago 3 min read
9
Cutting Up Fruit

Introduction

Many years ago, because I am diabetic, a nurse told me I should not eat any fruit because it contains fructose and my diet should essentially consist of celery, carrots and turnips. When I mentioned this to the consultant they laughed and said we need some pleasure in life and that should include food, just eat them in moderation.

I thought I would share what I generally do with the fruit that I get.

What Do I Do With It?

I do eat fruit, quite a lot of it, but I balance this with exercise and moderation. I do enjoy fruit that I can pick up and eat without having to peel it, or peeling is quite simple.

So I find apples (from the fridge), pears and bananas all fruity fast food, and enjoy them. They are a great alternative to chocolate which I also love.

Kiwi fruit are a little more awkward but they are so worth it. I cut the top off with a knife and then scoop out and eat the pulp with a teaspoon. The skin is like sandpaper but is very thin, so you can't peel it but you can eat it, but they are a favourite fruit of mine. They are from China but taken up by New Zealand.

Kiwi is a rich source of several antioxidants. It has a high concentration of Vitamin C. It is a rich source of several carotenoids, including lutein and zeaxanthin. It also includes flavonoids, such as quercetin and catechin, acclaimed for their robust antioxidant properties. Kiwi has phenolic compounds such as ferulic acid, which significantly contribute to the antioxidant activity of kiwi.

After watching the video they said that you can eat the skin as well, so I tried it. It doesn't look that appetising, but it tastes fine and is a lot more convenient and less wasteful than the teaspoon method.

Two of the fruits I do take apart are pineapple and honeydew melon. The skins of these are discarded, but the centre of the pineapple is too hard to be edible so I drop it into a liquidiser as the start of a shake/smoothie.

I then add some semi-skimmed milk and seed for extra fibre. Now when I cut the honeydew melon I used to discard the seeds because they are quite disgusting as I state in this video.

Then I thought, it's all organic, so why not add it to the shake I was making, so you might be able to see it in this one I prepared this morning.

Today I added some pears, but I often add bananas, apples, mango, kiwi fruit, berries (of any type) or any other random fruit that I have lying about.

I then flick the switch and end up with a reasonably nutritious and, in my opinion, very tasty drink. This one has done for breakfast for me, along with that complete kiwi fruit.

Conclusion

I am no cook or food expert but I know what I like, and sometimes (as with the kiwi fruit) I don't know what I like. I am sure everyone else does similar things with liquidisers and blenders far more effectively than I do, but hopefully, if you have got this far you have discovered something new and got some ideas.

The song I included is "The Pineapple Song" by Good Size, it is a fun song and the video is very entertaining too, but something to listen to as you read this, but if you got here then you have already read the article. Sorry.

Thank you for reading and have a wonderful day.

vegetarianrecipehow tohealthydiycuisine
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Start most days with a smoothie and loved you story!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Rasma Raisters13 days ago

    Thanks for sharing, My top favorites are kiwis.

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    Interesting, though I can't imagine biting into the skin of a kiwi.

  • Ameer Bibi13 days ago

    Amazing 🤩🤩 welldone

  • Mariann Carroll13 days ago

    Loved the share videos. You can be a fruit model 🤗

  • Kodah13 days ago

    I loooveee my fruit smoothies!! I could live off fruit and not complain! Thanks for sharing this!! 💌

  • I think I'm the only vegetarian that doesn't like fruits hahahaha. The only fruits that I don't mind eating are bananas, watermelon and mangoes. Speaking of seeds, I'm so lazy that I actually chew and eat watermelon seeds while eating the fruit. Too lazy too spit it out 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Your smoothie sounds yummy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.