Confessions logo

W.

Another loss...?

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago 4 min read
12
W.
Photo by Jens Aber on Unsplash

It is Friday, the last full day of my vacation back with the family in a sleepy little town - okay, Hamilton - with all of my packing almost done. The day was spent on clothes-choosing, book-sorting, food-prepping activities, along with a short run in the old neighbourhood, a little light reading, and observations of the World Juniors (Canada needs to step up its game). I have another Top Story for a longer piece that needs two more chapters (I promise you all they are coming). And I am now happy to report that I have received some extra classes and will be able to relax a little bit around tax time.

But I am not totally content.

Last night, on Messenger, an old roommate from the shared place we lived in while teaching in Japan contacted me with the following:

"Did you hear what happened to W.?"

Now, that did not sound like good news, so I should have expected the following:

"She went to the hospital, and her heart stopped."

Now, maybe it was receiving a message from a roommate after almost twenty years, coupled with the news about the death of another roommate, that put me into a particular mood; a very unpleasant mood; a very confessional mood...

And I am going to share some of that "mood" with you tonight.

W. was the bane of my existence in the shared house we lived in while teaching and working in Tokyo. From the moment I appeared, she made it clear that I was a target both of scorn...and unwanted interest. My nicknames became "The Brown Hornet", "Brown-Eyed Boy", and a few others that I will be merciful enough not to include.

Now, I was new to the house, so I expected a little hazing and teasing to be part of the deal. I made friends with most of the men and women in there, and it was pleasant overall. But...there was W.

Did I say she was interested in me? It was more like a private siege with one army constantly in retreat. Her constant and very public groping was something I had to contend with whenever I sat down at the table and attempted to eat a meal, talk to anyone else, or even just rest and wonder why I had not looked for another place (oh, that I can answer now: no money and my lack of interest in the Japanese real estate market).

People sometimes found this funny. Several of them thought I could have had her arrested. It was a tempting thought, and I am sure that I could have formed a strong case in my defense if I could have found a breach of personal space law. But I put up with it, all the way to the point where she finally moved out of the house and we celebrated with a party that indicated I was not alone in my torments.

It had also been a long time since I had spoken to her when I heard the news. On Facebook, she once interrupted a conversation I was having with someone about an issue with my sleepy hometown (I blocked her). I was then told that she was having problems with her marriage (surprise, surprise) and did not like her work (she never did). It was only the friend who reached out to me who shared what I had missed and did not want to hear.

I really didn't want to lose her twice. I have written about other people in my life and felt as though 2023 was cursed (W. died on December 3oth). This is not like writing about my godmother with a poem or a close high school friend with a small biography of our time together. This is closer to detailed analysis of old feelings and thoughts no longer existed.

I blame her, along with others, for my lack of trust with people (W. once announced my late virginity quite loudly in the kitchen of our shared space - even the ones who barely knew me told her off). I blame her for being someone I had to look out for when I taught at her school (some of the notes she left in her files were completely inappropriate on many levels). And I blame her for those small moments when I could talk to her, try to explain how I felt, think I had made progress, and then fell (or was it "pushed") right back into the muck of our particular routine.

So, goodbye W. You were one of a long chain of life lessons that I never want to face again...

By DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Bad habitsWorkplaceTabooSecretsSchoolHumanityFriendshipEmbarrassment
12

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    WOW sooooooo inappropriate! I'm sorry that you went through that...

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    Situations usually present themselves unexpectedly. It appears you dealt with yours the best you could. Interesting tale.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Blimey. That was an awful thing to have to endure. I hope it was cathartic writing this. She's gone. That's done. But still. Tough stuff.

  • Kodah4 months ago

    I'm so sorry you went through that Kendall😟. Thanks for sharing this ❣️ Sending lots of love❤️

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    Loss is so complex, isn't it. Loss of people we've found damaging is almost more confusing emotionally.

  • I think W stands for wacko or wackjob! I have another W word in my mind but I'll leave it at these two. What she did to you was sexual harassment! I'm so sorry you had to go through that! 🥺

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    I’m sorry you had to deal with someone like that. I always hope that with age and experience, people grow and become better. I certainly hope W. had regrets about how she treated people.

  • I think we all have those people who are tough to mourn when they're gone. Still, it's a part of your past that you have lost &, though you may comfort/thrill yourself with "Good riddance!" she's still gone. Blessings to you as you approach the next school term.

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    She sounded like a terrible bully. And quite dense, also. Here in the South, we would say, "Bless her heart..." And we'd shake our heads.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    Woah, that's awful that you and your other housemates were forced to put up with so much! I wonder the same as Leslie. I sure hope she did.

  • Leslie Writes4 months ago

    I’m sorry you were treated like that. I wonder if she ever saw the error of her ways.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.