Confessions logo

To Gigi

Ms. Bourque (1973 - 2023)

By Kendall Defoe Published 5 months ago 3 min read
13
I have lost a friend...

I have several other items in my head right now that need attention: bills; exams to give, create and mark; trips home to plan (tickets are an easy click away); family dramas (better for another piece); other concerns… I wish I could focus on something else right now. I wish that life made some sort of sense so that this would not hurt the way it does. But that is the problem with hope and that eternal spring… Life often provides you with nothing but cold reality in the form of news that takes the wind out of your sails and crushes your heart.

I had just had dinner, written up some notes for a class that went rather well today, and entered another journal entry. My plan was to take a hot shower, finish up a piece on another musical moment from my past, and then prepare for tomorrow’s class with a fairly new contract. And then, I made the mistake of going onto a social media feed and discovering that I have lost an old friend…

Gigi…

Yeah, that was her name. Some friends may laugh at it – they did back in the day – but she was one of the finest people I ever knew. We had not been in each other’s orbit since high school, but I did stay in touch with her online. She had a family, friends, and a deep love for my hometown team (the Hamilton Tiger-Cats – redundant name, yes, but home is home). And now she is gone. The story I read is that she was hit by a driver as she was driving home with a friend. There is no word on whether the other driver was drunk or simply distracted on his phone (have seen enough of the latter here to be unimpressed by the excuses these people make). And I want this night to be over.

I did not feel this way when my godparents passed, at least not for my godmother (her illness was long and painful and we knew that she did not have much time left). That pain was real, but it was a pain that we could see heading our way. I could not have seen what the world had in store for a young lady from my past. Gigi Bourque was a girl I felt lifted my spirits when I was in her presence. She was well ahead of me on questions of musical taste (she introduced me to the Smiths when we traded records: “Strangeways, Here We Come” for something I had that I can no longer recollect). She was much kinder to me than she had any right to be (I was awkward and alone as what we now call a “visible minority”). She chose to stay near my hometown. I chose to move on. And I now realize that I have never really left things behind. I now feel like that awkward kid back in the day, this time with his own place, Leonard Cohen singing about a famous blue raincoat in the background (she would have approved), and a glass of rum next to me as I type this out (the drink is not nearly strong enough to hold back the tears).

I will provide links here for those of you interested in what she was like, and if you want to donate to support her family, but for the first time in a long time, I really do not care about what the audience for my work feels about one of my pieces. I just needed to type this more than anything else I had planned to work on tonight. I have lost an old friend, a key tie to my past, and a spirit that I never thought would leave us like this.

Goodbye, Gigi. We are still trying to understand a life without you.

Goodbye...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Teenage yearsSchoolHumanityFriendship
13

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    So sorry 4 your loss... Rest well Ms. Gigi

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Beautiful love letter to your Gigi...she sprinkled her magic on to you.

  • NJ5 months ago

    Thank you for sharing, engaging!

  • I'm so sorry for your loss 🥺 I can only imagine how devastated you're feeling. I hope writing this helped a little. Rest in peace, Gigi

  • Prayers & blessings during this difficult time.

  • Test5 months ago

    I'm truly sorry for your loss. Gigi sounds like an incredible person, and it's clear she had a profound impact on your life. Losing someone who held such a significant place in your memories and heart can be immensely challenging.

  • I am so sorry to hear of your loss Kendall. You have written a beautiful tribute to her. She would have loved this. Blessings to you my friend!!! 💝

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    So sorry for your loss, Kendall. My heart goes out to you and her family. Prayers for all.

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    I’m very sorry for your loss. May peace be with you.

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Kendall, I am sorry - this is a kind of "stop the clocks" moment and its ok to take that, its ok to be winded, and its ok to keep breathing. Its ok to write it, its ok to step into that shower and have a good weep, its ok to just....not. TO just sit and accept that pain. Its valid. Its all valid. She sounds like a wonderful friend, full of kindness, and a connection, to you, to a history you may not share with many others. Its ok to feel the loss of that too.

  • I am so sorry to hear about your loss. She sounds like such a special person. Thank you for taking a moment to share your feelings. I just watched a movie on "Max" with Anthony Hopkins, (Hearts in Atlanta) came to mind as I read your tribute. You might like it...hugs

  • Kristen Ulrich5 months ago

    I’m so sorry for your loss. May she rest in peace. I have a friend named Giuseppa who we sometimes call Gigi.

  • I am so sorry for your loss, Kendall.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.