Poets logo

Trapped With A Neurodivergent Mind

A Poem

By Angel AdagioPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
31

I did not ask to be this way,

to live with the reminder that I am always going to be different.

It's like a prison and I'm doing my life sentence.

I committed no crime, but the crimes were done to me and now I pay with my life,

a life I cannot fully live because of the unending fears I have of the lines in the concrete,

or the eyes I see all around me,

or even if my legs will get me where I need to be.

Diagnosis after diagnosis,

it's just a list of all the things I will have forever.

I can't escape the constant battle that lives in my head,

but I need to do my time.

Mental Health
31

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about 15 hours ago

    This reflects not only your vulnerabilities but the sentiments of so many other people struggling with similar circumstances. I would not change a thing about my loved ones who are ND, except the depression they often deal with in trying to reinvent themselves rather than self acceptance. A very emotional piece. Thank you for sharing such meaningful words. My best to you, ROCK

  • Anna 5 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!

  • The Dani Writer8 days ago

    Hauntingly expressed just the way that it needed to be. Your sharing is so valued and appreciated! This is an important and necessary one to be featured as Top Story. I send vibrations of support to all those who are deemed "different" and not supported well in this society. Whether it knows it or not, the world needs you.

  • Andrea Corwin 8 days ago

    Congrats on TS. You have to do your time - that cracked my heart. Great job, and I'm sorry for your not being able to live fully. ❣️

  • Angel, congrats on Top Story! I am just learning about neurodivergent minds because a friend's little son has been diagnosed. I find him a joyful, life-embracing, and charming boy, and maybe those diagnosed know something more about life than the rest of us.

  • angela hepworth8 days ago

    Congrats on top story! Super honest and raw poem I loved it.

  • Such a truthful and raw poem. Thank you for sharing it and congratulations on the top story

  • Congratulations on your top story

  • Sid Mark9 days ago

    Great

  • Kodah9 days ago

    Very poignant and enjoyable read! Incredibly done! 💌 Well-deserved top story!! 💝🎉💝🥳

  • Sandra Matos9 days ago

    Your poem touches me. I find it very relatable. I'm glad you got the top story so that I saw it!

  • Carol Townend9 days ago

    And you, being you, is all the world needs. I think you write brilliantly, and remember different can be good.

  • Devastating price for the lack of compassion in others who think uniquely

  • D. D. Lee10 days ago

    So many struggle with mental health, like those, I want to wish/pray for you all the best. Thank you for sharing this and congrats on T.S. Hopefully others reads and offer you uplifting words.

  • Alexander McEvoy10 days ago

    I know this feeling way too well Can’t be diagnosed because none of it is severe enough to qualify. But that doesn’t mean it doesn’t fuck with my life. The social contract is an enigma to me and don’t even get me started on flirting (it’s a total maze that is so confusing I don’t even try to date or attract anyone) not to mention my friends and family (not my parents, they understand) being convinced I’m just lazy and not willing to try.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.