Psyche logo

Whispers of Strength Release!!!

A Schizophrenics Daily Journey Through the First Year of Motherhood

By The Schizophrenic MomPublished 10 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
Adora holding her author copy

I am so excited to share this news with you all and am so in awe at how my God works!

Almost a year ago, my first pick at a Christian publishing company informed me that they were "not confident the book would produce enough sales in our market to warrant the development costs." I felt like God might be telling me that I shouldn't publish Whispers of Strength after all. It is a big step in my faith, a big risk for me, and very personal.

I kept working on it, thanks to my awesome Mom insisting that I at least needed to finish it for myself. ❤

About 4 months ago, I reached out to a number of Christian publishers and only got limited interest with a great number of things to take out of my story. I was so bummed because I want to be wholly myself in this book. I don't want my mental health censored, I don't want my faith censored, nor do I want to "spicen up" my story - it is spiced plenty, thank you!

I also got asked "why?" by a lot of people. Why share about your schizophrenia? I mean, people don't disclose that they have asthma when introducing themselves or diabetes. And I get it, it is strange. However, the reason why is because I am tired of hearing excuses about "the voices made me do it" in court, I am tired of seeing it played poorly on TV shows, and I am tired of losing friends when I tell them that I see things that aren't there. I am tired of being yelled at with my service animal. I am tired of being told that "people like you need to be kept out of the public." I am tired of the negative narrative. Who do I expect to stand tall and take the heat breaking the stigma? Most schizophrenics I know are terrified of anyone finding out because of the above mentioned reasons.

I cannot ask anyone to do what I would be to scared to do myself. I have been through a lot in my 27 years on this planet. People still scare me because, let's face it, people can be bad... however, I am more scared of having my kids ask me why I am ashamed of who I am. Especially as teenagers while we try to say, "don't worry about what anyone else thinks! Just be you!"

"But, Mom, you aren't you..." I am now. :)

I am proud to help shift the narrative - or at least try to - but, even if I fail at that, if I can help just 1 person with schizophrenia not feel totally alone, then I am a blazing success!

In the last month, I have had 6 different interviews, about a dozen different offers, and have been asked (repeatedly) by several different Christian publishing companies what it would take for me to sign on with their team. I am going with the route that feels right for me and my family, but my oh my, what a stark contrast to my first rejection letter. :)

I am so proud to announce that my book is able to be preordered (now purchased!) on Amazon here, and I will shortly update this article include a link to my paperback book on Amazon as well! The official release date is July 1st!

I pray that the support I have been shown is God's way of reassuring me that this is the right decision and path He has chosen for my life. Thank you to everyone who continues to support me in my journey! :)

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I also earn royalties on any potential book sales.

supportstigmaselfcareschizophreniarecoveryfamilyanxiety
Like

About the Creator

The Schizophrenic Mom

I am a mother of 2 precious angels who drive me slightly more crazy

than I already am with a diagnosis of schizophrenia.

When asked "are you crazy?!" my favorite come back is:

"yes! And I have the papers to prove it! How about you?" LOL

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.