Psyche logo

Surviving PTSD

It's been rough.

By Nat Published 5 months ago 3 min read
2
Surviving PTSD
Photo by Vitolda Klein on Unsplash

I don't remember a lot of my childhood. At first, I just thought I had bad anger issues. All of my friends thought I was a very happy human being, because that is how I acted. Pretending that I was happy all of the time was just making me exhausted. The more tired I got the more I just did not care anymore. Being the always-happy, always-smiling girl was killing me now I'm just really angry. It makes sense that I am angry. In another universe my window is open and I'm lying on the floor. I am three years old and nothing bad has happened to me yet.

It took me a really long time to realize that I havent lost who I am, I'm just different now and thats okay. I still greive the person who I used to be and I think a part of me always will. I guess I am just better at living with it now. I still feel the same, it is just a little bit less intense now. I can eat and sometimes I can sleep. It's the not sleeping that gets to you the most. If I sleep for too long the nightmares come. I lost faith in the world a really long time ago.

I take care of myself. I don't talk about my diganosis. A part of me knows that if others find out, based on my age and gender you can tell what happened to me. It's obvious I wasn't in a war. I know that they are other ways of getting PTSD, I just really don't want others to know why I have it. It feels to personal. When I was first diagnosed I felt relief. Why I was thinking the way I am and how I react to certain things. For a while I thought that only veterans could get ptsd. It's a confusing diganosis. Whenever I tell someone or even think about it I get nervous that they are going to ask me why I have it or what trauma happened to me.

When I was a small child I would wake up screaming I wanna go home. I don't remember any of this. It was extremely concerning to my family because I was home but I never really felt like I was at home. I have a lot of anger when it comes to going home. Do you have any idea how many times someone should have helped me. I know that I shouldn't think like that. People tell me that I should just get over it but how can someone get over something like that. I was a child when it all started. My cousin just tells me that I am going to have to learn how to deal with it.

I deal with it by not allowed myself to slow down. When I am not asleep, I am constantly doing something. Sometimes I just want to give up and lay in bed. I know that I can not do that. When I am all alone I feel like I will start to feel everything again. I don't allow myself to cry because if I do I don't think I will me able to stop my tears. I feel alone, like i'm fighting this war all by myself. I do not think I can keep living the way I am. I need to rest, I deserve that. I need to sleep. I need a break. I do not think I have taken a break since I was 18. I think it's time I take one.

supportptsdpanic attacksdepressioncopinganxiety
2

About the Creator

Nat

She/her/hers

writing about adoption, mental health, and chronic Illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.