Psyche logo

Saying Goodbye to the Blues

What I do when I am having a down day.

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - April 2024
16
Saying Goodbye to the Blues
Photo by Lidya Nada on Unsplash

I woke up this morning knowing my depression had come for a visit. I should have known it was coming. I haven't been able to sleep very well the past few days, but I chalked it up to my creative mind going on overdrive recently. It took me five days to finish a 348 page book when it would have normally took me five hours. My motivation has been dwindling, yes, there were many subtle signs my depression was coming to a head.

In the past, I would have stayed in bed all day, only getting up when I absolutely needed to.

But this is the year I decided to change things up and to care about myself a little more than I have in the past. I know giving up on that goal will only drive me deeper into the dark hole, and I can't have that happen.

Let me be clear: You should never feel like a failure because you are having a dark day after a long period of really good days. Depression can be managed, but even with that fact, you will still have tough days. It's what you do on those days to keep going despite your depression that makes the difference.

So here are some things I do to help me get through my down days.

Make up my bed. It is such a small thing, but it helps me feel like I accomplished something with my day. Sometimes it is all I need to help me see my depression doesn't have a complete hold on me. Plus, I don't like ruining my bed right after I make it, so it prevents me from being in bed all day.

By Kinga Howard on Unsplash

Find joy in the small things. It makes me reminiscent for my childhood, when everything seemed to add to my joy, overflowing my cup many times. But even as an adult, especially recently, I am happy to know and tell you it is still possible. Yesterday, I took my blankets out of the dryer and was excited to find them warm. I ended up wrapping myself in them for a few minutes while they cool down and it made me feel like that little kid again.

Exercise. Everyone says this, so you're probably tired of hearing it, but it works. It can be as short as 15 minutes and you don't have to do an aggressive workout (unless you want to, you do you). Even better, go for a walk or jog outside if you are able.

By Oliver Schweizer on Unsplash

Leave your bedroom. Better yet, leave your house if you're able. Looking at the same walls and pieces of furniture was part of what made things hard for me during the worst of COVID. If you are anything like me, we need changes in our scenery to remain sane and help snap us out of a funk. Right now, I am writing this in my local library rather than at home, something I plan on doing more.

Reread or rewatch something that makes you laugh or comforts you. Does this really need much explanation? In fact, I'm planning on watching both animated Spiderverse movies tonight. I have watched them so many times, but still go back to them when I am having a hard day.

Screenshot from Spider-Man: Across the Spiderverse

Dress in nice clothes. This probably works more for people feel more confident in a nice outfit. This doesn't mean you have to be dressed up to the nines. But even if it is in the comfort of your home, change your clothes to help give you a boost. Plus, if you leave the house and someone gives you a compliment, it can be just the thing you need to start pulling you out of your funk.

Hang out with some great friends. I find I can't stay sad if I'm around a great group of people who know me and can make me laugh all the time. Make sure they are people you truly feel comfortable being yourself with even on your worst day; being around people you know are toxic can only make you more depressed. This is something I've learned the hard way.

By Duy Pham on Unsplash

Listen to some feel good or upbeat music. I have a playlist of songs that make me smile or sing along loudly; I know they will never fail to get me into a better mood. Recently, it seems anything to do with EPIC has been my go-to. (What, I'm a musical junkie, so sue me.)

Get your feelings out somehow. Write, talk, sing, scream it out so it doesn't stay trapped inside. Your feelings can become like rotten food, only making you feel worse than you already do.

By Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

The big lesson here?

The beginning of a dark day does not mean you are in for a huge storm that last for days on end. You too can say goodbye to your blues no matter when they show up.

***

If you are struggling with depression to the point it is controlling your life, be sure to seek help. There isn't any shame in asking.

So what about you? What do you do when you are having a down day? Let us know in the comments below.

supportselfcarelisthow todepressioncopingadvice
16

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Tim Boxer15 days ago

    Thanks for your insights and hope-filled words!

  • Anna 18 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Oh, I needed this. I feel the dark looming, but I will try some of these. Thank you and congratulations

  • kevin49820 days ago

    Wow! That's all good bye. https://www.dg-customerfirst.com/

  • Lamar Wiggins20 days ago

    Really great advice here. Thank you! So good to know you've developed ways of coping/countering the affects and sharing them with us. God bless! 🙏🏽

  • Sara Frederick20 days ago

    Good pointers. Congratulations on your top story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 20 days ago

    Excellent tips! Doll Therapy & Helping Others helps me to manage depression. 😍 Congrats on your TOP STORY! It is very well-deserved!

  • Great article, and glad so many people have taken something from this

  • Great article. Depression is a very important situation to learn to control or at least minimize. I have been there.

  • Great article and full of insight and useful strategies for successful management of symptoms of depression. Thanks for sharing

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece. What a great list to help get out of the blues. I love exercise, friends, and music - those seem to be the ones that work best for me!!! Once again, great job!!!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Great tips!!

  • Margaret Brennan3 months ago

    This is so awesome! And you're so right. I may not exactly fight with depression but now and then, I feel "off" and want to go and hide. Doesn't happen often but when that feeling comes around, I put on some "happy" music (usually the Celtic Thunder) and sing my heart out. It helps and your story makes it all make sense.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.