Psyche logo

On Niccolo Machiavelli’s Philosophy!

On the sweet shores of Nigeria. (Short!)

By Achie gives good advicePublished 8 months ago 4 min read
Like
https://pin.it/uz8ouxU

My mum’s was, raised in upper middle class-ish family with her principled-strict dad as opposed to a traditionally strict dad in the 1980s I believe.

My father, born and raised in the Amazonian forest and as I gather from stories seemed to be strict in the traditional way, unlike it being a matter of pure godly principle that class, level of education which is also usually influenced by class and such other benefits can be afforded to you.

Both my parents work to do things, to make plans, and being Nigerian, a major thing my parents really like to talk about is houses. Like they know so much about houses that I’ve often wondered if that would also be my fate as a matter of just again. I still don’t like news yet, so we’ll see. I like it a little bit though, so yeah, somethings you can’t escape .

My mum tends to handles her plans well. She tends to work hand in hand with the people she has transactional business relationships with. I say this because my mum for all her intelligence was limited by her ‘good girl’ nature and wasn’t socialized to win this game. So she ended up with a Machiavellian spirit, she was crippled by the parts of her that were taught to over submit.

My mum has also always been a handy-man, she’s been that way since birth, and her background had also afforded her abilities to cultivate and access the neurons responsible to act more creatively with others than my fathers own circumstances.

My father, on the other hand, has a sort of machiavelli spirit about him. He’s not good with plans because he has inched that far away from reality. Having grown up so tumultuously it’s not hard to see how he may have ended up that way.

My mother tends to get things done with quality. It’s usually more expensive (so really can’t blame my dad for not opting) but it’s also in the way she relates to the people she works with . She often listens to them. she brings a sort of decorum into transactions inspire of the increasing paranoia she seems to have developed from living with my dad all these years. That’s her trauma response and she isn’t dealing with it well (imo) and it will only get worse with time if she doesn’t wake up.

She now has an defeating fear that people are always trying to scam her, held at bay only by her ingrained understandings of many important concepts that her class and many other things probably related to class could afford her. As a leader in this external world she does the dance relatively well.Unfortunately it won’t last.

Ever heard of the story of the genius that never left his bed? Class also affords you great levels of much needed self awareness. Unfortunately, that can erode with continued exposure to traumatic events and such.

Summary, she’s not too nice, as let’s say a woman would be to a man, so she’s not easily manipulated. She understands the give and take, their worth and hers. She’s balanced on this front and makes a good ‘leader.’

My father gets things done, but he’s a haggler. He uses force, I think he actually has adhd with how impulsive he is, it’s likely considering how he was raised. He doesn’t know how to work with people that demand decorum but in some ways he still gets things really done.

A hypothetical Person I know, is very kind and respectful and even works on the basis of decorum which she benefits by class alone, because her other traits would have done her surely no good if she was forced to work with the sort of low budget (and I’m not insulting my dad these are just facts) people he worked with. She’s too nice, as my father is too mean and doesn’t get anything done and is walked all over.

Moral of the story: if you’re mean, you will get things done, but as reality is ruled by love and with the laws of causality, there will always be something missing. It will never be perfect. Therefore, there will not only be something that will trump it, in reality that happens often.

Not without living a trail of disaster in its wake unfortunately. Think slaves. The damage, immeasurable to human life, yet we don’t want to acknowledge how bad it was, which is why we may struggle to move foward intelligently and with compassion.

But if you’re too soft, a people pleaser, well, then Machavelli’s description of right and wrong and how to be a leader makes sense.

A leader is not only kind and listens to others but also knows not to trust people, while learning and believing in her own capabilities to take the risk to be kind either way. Please, please, please. Kindness ≠ stupidity.

A truly kind person is hyper aware about the intricacies of human interaction. That’s why we need the humanities, a great deal, in every school even for the little ones because we’re all now collectively really dumb thinkers. Let’s nip it in the bud.

In anycase, that has been me for today, I hope you you enjoyed this piece. I’m going to be a bad teacher here and assign homework. Are we really collectively dumb thinkers? If you wanted to you may comment your answers and why, and we’ll see if we find anything interesting in those. I could actually do with some friends.

arttraumahumanityhow tofamilycopingcelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Achie gives good advice

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.