Psyche logo

Mouthing words

In my mind

By KodahPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
14

He spills the coffee on the table, towards the women's hands across from him.

He panics. "I'm so, so sorry! The handle is so hot."

"It's fine, its fine."- She quickly wipes her hand feeling annoyed.

~~~

Is it fine though? Is it really?

Mouthing words.

~~~

"What did you say?"- She studies my dry and chapped lips.

"Nothing, I-I"- He stutters.

"Uhhare you okay? I'll get some more napkins, here."

"No please, it's fine." - She bares to look up.

~~~

I'll get some more napkins..... I'll get some more napkins! ...... I'll get some more napkins?

Mouthing words.

~~~

She stops wiping her hand to look up. "You know what. Maybe, I should go. I don't think this will ever work out anymore. I don't know how to put it this way, but there's something wrong with you..." She gets up to leave.

...

"There is something wrong with me?" Is there really?

He sits back down with regret, mouthing the words that growled at him before she stormed off. I guess I was the problem after all.

"There is something wrong with me?" Is there really?

Mouthing words.

~~~

Waking up the next morning he expected to forget the hard truth.

"There is something wrong with me?" Is there really?

Mouthing words.

Those were the first words to come out of his mouth in the morning.....

"There is something wrong with me?" Is there really? -He asks his psychologist.

"In what way?"- She lifts her head up from typing.

"Well, look at me. Hear me. Why do I act like this. Why do I talk like this? Why do I do those mouthing motions after every sentence. Why do I have to be like this? Why did it have to be me out of the 5 billion people in this world. When is it my turn to be happy, to actually feel good about myself."

~~~

As I sit in my room, all I think about is how much I failed the people around me.

I'm living in my regrets, mouthing the regrets to my reflection of isolation.

Why do I have to feel this way? Why did depression have to destroy my happiness like this...

I can't live like this; I won't live like this.

But my grandmother always told me....

God works in mysterious ways.

Maybe,

I should just keep moving forward....

~~~

Keep, moving forward, keep moving forward.

"Keep moving forward!"

He looks around....

"Oh!" - He looks at his hands holding 2 hot cups of coffee.

Don't mess up, Don't mess up.

Mouthing words.

He place the coffee gently. But only by the act of biting his teeth down and mouthing the words silently...

"So, how was your day." - She asks as she sips her coffee.

"Not bad, yours."- He says looking around with the thought of DeJa'Vu.

"Oh god, this coffee is hot!"- She place the cup down, but accidentally spilling it on her fingers. "Ow!"

"Oh, are you okay!"- He questioned Softley.

"It's fine, I'm fine."

He remains silent as he grabs some more napkins. She finishes cleaning her fingers as she engages herself back into the conversation.

"Remember that time, I spilled coffee on you."

"Huh? You have before?"

"Oh, was I not meant to say that."

"oh, was I not-"

No.

I clench my cheeks; I clench my teeth.

My mouth.... My body...

What is happening....

MY MOUTH.

This is me speaking...

No mouthing, no twitching, no regret feeling.

I hear voices now, but not of anxiety, negativity or depression.

But the sounds of my own private wars echoing the battles of men before me and near me.

No wonder I do not make people comfortable.

I am a mirror~

~~~

Authors notes:

"Mouthing words" is a act of silent moving your lips as if you were speaking, but without actually producing any sound. It's connected to many mental problems such as anxiety, depression, schizophrenia and more! I also wanted to define a moral of living through past regrets. The boldness and curviness of the fonts are symbolic to the mind!

recoverytraumaschizophreniadisorderdepressionbipolaranxietyadvice
14

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~𝓢𝓽𝓸𝓻𝓲𝓮𝓼 𝓬𝓪𝓷 𝓫𝓮 𝓪 𝓵𝓲𝓽𝓽𝓵𝓮 𝓭𝓮𝓮𝓹~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • PJ Watts4 months ago

    This is really clever. The subject is painful but you have written it so well - it's moving and smart and the use of italic and Bold really supports the theme. Awesome job!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fanrastic!!! Congratulations on the leaderboard win!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Judey Kalchik 4 months ago

    Such an interesting flow of words that perfectly describe visually the goings on in his mind. Congratulations of the recognition today on the Vocal Leaderboard!

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Nicely done. I loved it! ❤

  • Holysigh4 months ago

    "No wonder I do not make people comfortable. I am a mirror~". This was great piece! Very complicated, I loved it!

  • Jade Loson4 months ago

    Oh wow. Just wow. This was outstanding.

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    This is so evocative, nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.