Psyche logo

I Don't Feel Real

Derealization

By KodahPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
13
Artist: Leonardo Santamaria Surrealism portrait oil painting, dissociation, derealization art, unique art.

My brother and I are trying this challenge?

What is this?

"2 3 , , 1, GO!"

We put it in our mouth.

Uhh, what is this?

It tastes weird...

Why is my brother freaking out about it?

I don't feel anything...?

Why is my broth-

....

What is that.

That.

That...

I don't know.

Feeling?

Vision?

What is that?

Am I not real right now?

Why is my mum looking at me laughing?

Why are my family staring at me...

Why is my brother acting like that?

What is going on.

What is happening to me.

...

We were just eating spicy candy....

~

This is not my reality anymore.

I feel like nothing around me is real...

I feel empty.

I feel lost...

I often don't tell or talk about this to people. Usually when I do it will come off as...

"What do you mean you don't feel real?"

"I don't know... I just. I see. I don't know."

I can't explain it.

I hope one day I'll visit the right reality I feel most real in and meet other people who understand what I'm not capable of understanding myself.

Derealization is a really cruel feeling, it's like being trapped in nightmare where you can't wake up from. It's as if you've become a ghost drifting through a foggy purgatory, disconnected from everyone and everything. No matter how hard you try to grasp onto reality, it slips through your fingers like smoke, leaving you lost in a terrifying void.

No matter how smart how I attempt to escape this matrix of reality I see, it will forever follow with me in my shadows. It will forever lurk in the back of my mind where my loss of hope sits...

I brush my hair,

More and more...

Until I feel something,

Nothing.

I feel nothing,

I brush harder,

and harder.

Still nothing~

Can't a pathetic girl like me just live her life?

...

Please connect.

Get back to my body!

Ugh!

Get back!

Not again...

I can't lose my mind again,

I can't detach myself again...

Please connect me to the real world again.

Stay attached... stay attached...

Now in public? Great.

Just keep walking, keep moving forward.

Don't look around.

Blurry faces, rapid movements,

All around me,

Surrounding me,

My mind that feels trapped and lost.

I can't, I can't do this...

I'm just going to stand here...

Waiting for reality to find me,

Not me finding reality~

~

It's happening...

Again.

Oh god,

Not again.

That one feeling comes, washing over me like a gentle wave.

Softening the edges of reality...

My mind, feels swaddled in cotton,

Muffling the sharpness of the world.

Here I go disconnected from the world now...

I'm wondering right now if I'm even real or just dreaming...

"You are real."

Who was that.

"Your mind."

My mind?

"Your mind."

Am I real?

"Yes, certainly are."

But then... why do I feel like this?

"There's something on your eyes... covering the truth from you. Take them off. Take them off."

Uh.

"You're not in the right reality. Listen to me..."

Wait.

But, why should I listen to you?

If nothing is real...

That voice isn't real.

So that means...

Nothing is real~

~

Authors Notes:

Thank you so much for reading! 💕

Derealization is an alternation in the perception of the external world causing those with the condition to perceive it as unreal, distorted or falsified.

traumaschizophreniadisorderdepressionbipolaranxietyadvice
13

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~𝓢𝓽𝓸𝓻𝓲𝓮𝓼 𝓬𝓪𝓷 𝓫𝓮 𝓪 𝓵𝓲𝓽𝓽𝓵𝓮 𝓭𝓮𝓮𝓹~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Priya P.4 months ago

    Your creativity through this story is simply beautiful❤️ Thanks for sharing this for awareness, I tend to detach myself more.

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    I think I have only read about this on Vocal once and you have covered those feelings and frustrations really eloquently and creatively. This should be discussed way more! I have struggled with this in the past for way too long but it did get better. I also had a bout of it for a week or so just last week..everything feels off and I feel like I’m gliding… I’m sorry you have been feeling this way… I don’t know what to suggest as different things work for different people. For me I believe it is born out of chronic and anxiety and a type of disassociation which Dharsheena comments on below. There is a good app called DARE that has a short audio/meditation for this called Help I’m feeling unreal. (I think that is what it is called.) I play that sometimes.. Aside from that tell yourself this is something that I’m working though right now and distract yourself with as many good things you can think of! ☺️ Good luck!

  • Lunaverse4 months ago

    “It was just spicy candy” …. 🫤🙁

  • Jade Loson4 months ago

    I have had minor incidents with it, it’s a very scary feeling. Explained it quite well, great piece! ❤️

  • I've never heard of derealization before and I've never experienced it either. I've always detached myself and dissociated too, always living in my head. But I've never felt like I was not real or like anything wasn't real. I'm so sorry that you've experienced this 🥺

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.