Psyche logo

Bitting fingernails

Anxiety

By KodahPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
9

"What are these!?"

"What are what?"

"These long white things coming out of my fingers!"

"Oh, those are your finger nails."

"What are fingernails? What are they made for?

"Well, purely nothing. Your fingernails is the most least important part of your body!"

The young girl looks at her fingernails.

"Hmm. I wonder what happens if I just bite them."- The young girl questions.

She takes one more glance at her nails, then bites them~

That thick crunch opens up tons of realities....

Realities where problems that make people feel abnormal don't exist.

The great spark of determination flows through each finger.

That was the first time she felt relieved, relived from what was burdening the young little girl's hope.

Bitting fingernails.

~~~

She is 15 now. And she still has the habit of biting her nails.

Maybe biting her fingernails is mistaken for the word "habit" and actually seems to help distract her from the vicious world torturing her.

If she feels anxious~

Bitting fingernails

If she feels nervous~

Bitting fingernails

If she wants to take her stress away~

Bitting fingernails

Whatever happens to her and her feelings!

Bitting fingernails.

Her habit of biting nails was not just a mere nervous tic; rather it was a pointer to her intricate reality. With each bite, she discovers a world beyond the mundane, where dreams intermingled with reality, and love transcended the boundaries of time and space. Such complexity often left her on the precipice of bewilderment forever seeking answers in the intricacies of her own existence.

~~~

"You, okay?"- The boy turns his focus on her.

"Huh? Yeah, why wouldn't I be?"- She looks at him uncomfortably.

"Eh, I don't know. You just seemed stressed."

"Why would I be stressed right now?"

"Oh, I was just asking if you were fine. But I just saw you biting your nails a lot."

...

Did he just say, biting nails...

"Uh, yeah it's nothing."

"Well, it can't be nothing if you just stated that it's a visible thing you do."

Bitting fingernails.

"See, you're doing it right now."- He points out.

"Why do you care so much."- She start to get annoyed.

"Because mine look like yours too."

Mine look like yours too?

He shows his fingers. Pointing out the vicious biting and ripping sculpture of anxiety.

"I bite my fingernails when I'm stressed."

...

~~~

She stares at her nails,

The frightening look of horror and evil,

The expression of defeat,

I hurt these nails, but they love me enough to comfort me and occupy my anxious emotions.

Is this what happens in this harsh world?

You have to be hurt by someone in order to be loved?

Oh, how I love you but hurt you.

Is that what love really has to offer?

Loving each other but one hurting the other...

~~~

The mirror standing in front of her shows her growing and maturing.

Whatever "mistake" she thinks she's made,

She does not forgive herself by biting her nails anymore~

Past mistakes made her better,

And nothing that she could've done can be so bad.

No mistake cannot not be forgiven and fixed.

Now,

She is forgiving herself,

She has stopped punishing herself.

Her soul craves for completeness does not pain from becoming incomplete.

She has accepted herself as who she is.

However, she still wishes to return to her habit,

The habit that labels a strong connection of support and relief~

Bitting fingernails.

~~~

Authors notes:

People who have anxiety mostly experience the act of biting their fingernails as a comfort distraction. Although biting your fingernails is a common habit too.

supporthumanitydisorderdepressionanxietyadvice
9

About the Creator

Kodah

- Storyteller, Love/Romance, Poetry, Dark, Mental health, Psychological, Surreal, Nature, Mythical

~𝓢𝓽𝓸𝓻𝓲𝓮𝓼 𝓬𝓪𝓷 𝓫𝓮 𝓪 𝓵𝓲𝓽𝓽𝓵𝓮 𝓭𝓮𝓮𝓹~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Billy lewis4 months ago

    Finger Bitting is a real habit. It's not very fun to cope with. Thanks for writing this.

  • You have to be hurt by someone in order to be loved? Oh, how I love you but hurt you. Is that what love really has to offer? Loving each other but one hurting the other... These lines hit me so hard because of the depth of the truth in it. I used to bite my fingernails when I was maybe 8 or 9 but I did that because I wanted to be cool. Lol, lame, I know. I just wanted to fit in with my friends who bit their nails. But it didn't last long because I loved my nails too much so it was easy for me to kick this habit. I have severe anxiety but thankfully I don't bite my nails to cope with that.

  • Jade Loson4 months ago

    Loved this. I too nail bite!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.