Psyche logo

Happy Valentine's Day

Love is all around you...

By Sai Marie JohnsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Happy Valentine's Day
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Three years ago, Valentine's Day was a disaster for me.

I got up in the day early to go do laundry and my boyfriend at the time was supposed to be going to pick up his friend to take him to work and then was going to meet me at the laundromat but what ended up happening.

Thirteen hours later, after his not appearing at the laundromat, or his friend answering any of my calls or texts, I found him walking down the road after he had wrecked the Camaro, he and I got together…

And he had just cheated on me with a young woman that worked for a security company we were both employed at the time. This was after he had promised me that we were going to meet for a Valentine's Day date that afternoon after I got done doing our laundry. When I came across him on the road because I was looking for him obviously, he was really rude to me. He called me the C word and he basically told me that everything that had happened that night was because of him being unable to handle all the stress of life and he tried to blame all of his decisions on me.

I now know after the fact, that he had planned to meet with this woman from the moment that he left the house and had told me we were going to be meeting up at the laundry mat and then later going to have a romantic date that evening. I was very upset by the way that he was treating me obviously, so I decided that it was best not to stay there and stay in the situation that I was in with my children, so I went to go visit my aunt and while I was at my aunt’s house he proceeded to change the locks, throw out all of mine and my children's things, and this was just three or four days before the global pandemic for COVID-19.

So, I was immediately displaced with my kids after having been cheated on lovers' day, and here I am three years later having been solid single, and celibate for 3 years, and when this first happened, I really was devastated. I was shattered beyond belief, but he tried to tell me that we had a diamond of a relationship, and I cut him off mid-sentence and told him, no, I was the diamond and he had tried to break me, but that was never going to happen and that I was going to rise up even higher than I had been at that point in life and he would rue the day that he had done such a terrible thing to me and my children.

Here I am three years later, and I've just finished my first full-length screenplay for a feature film. I have had a very interesting year so far for it being Valentine's Day, but I've found that has fueled me to a level in life that I can't even begin to put into words. I'm so whole in who I am that whenever I finally do find the proper partner to match what I'm looking for I'm confident it will be a person that will stand beside me to lead the beautiful life and empire I've built so diligently. Here I am today happy to say just a few years ago I was left wrecked on Valentine's Day, but now I can stand here and say that Love Is All around me. It's found in everyday things and if you just take the time to look for it you can find it anywhere. Even if you are single today.

So be love. Show love and feel love.

Because ultimately that's the only thing that matters anyway.

therapyselfcarerecoveryhumanityfamilycoping
2

About the Creator

Sai Marie Johnson

A multi-genre author, poet, creative&creator. Resident of Oregon; where the flora, fauna, action & adventure that bred the Pioneer Spirit inspire, "Tantalizing, titillating and temptingly twisted" tales.

Pronouns: she/her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.